Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 891 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,412 reviews
on September 19, 2016
With constant references to Nurse Ratched, I decided to revisit this classic. Ken Kesey wrote this movie as a young man. Yet the insight into the personality types are very good. I was certainly older than in my twenties before I ran into a sinister and thoroughly evil Rached personality. The sad thing is that there are way too many people just like this character, and there are way too many people who are completely cowed by such evil and who spend their lives in Ratched's contrived Hell. This movie is definitely worth watching even if you saw it before.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
I had heard about this movie for many years and decided to give it a watch. The story revolves around Jack Nicholson's character who manages to get himself placed in a mental ward to get out of the work details of regular prison. There in the mental ward he runs into a manipulative nurse who is making the ward patients life hell. He rallies the patients and brings them out of their shell and meanwhile plays a contest of wits with the head nurse. Very interesting movie that was instrumental in launching Jack Nicholson's career.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (1975) is the third film I saw by the legendary Czech New Wave director Milos Forman. However, this is the first one I saw he made it in the states, specifically the state of Oregon. The film is today considered by critics and the public in general as a classic and an American cinematic achievement.

Jack Nicholson starts as R.P. McMurphy-- a Veteran/vagabond card gambler with a criminal record of rape and battery charges. He is described as a slacker who is faking mental illness in order to escape imprisonment. The year is 1962, McMurphy gets admitted to a Salem Mental Institute for an observation. Soon after, he gains the trust of the patients and changes their lives...as a result of his shenanigans, he gets on the bad side of the strict and tyrannical senior nurse on the staff by the name of Ratched.

The film contains many hidden messages about life, sanity, institutionalization, and perhaps the meaning behind society.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
Nothing really to add to my fellow reviewers' assessments of the movie's merits-- which are abundant and worthy of repeated praise-- but for those interested in the correct contents of this excellent box set (Amazon lists as extra features 'none'), they are as follows:

- Commentary by director Milos Forman and producers Michael Douglas and Saul Zaentz, and a theatrical trailer, both of which appear on the 2002 two-disc DVD and all current Blu-ray releases.

- Deleted scenes, which appear on Blu-ray.

- New 87-min. documentary, 'Completely Cuckoo,' which can be found here and on the Collector's Edition Blu-ray. This is essentially an expanded version of the 47-min. documentary put out with the two-disc DVD, recut with input from novelist Ken Kesey (who was notably absent from the earlier piece).

- New interview with Michael Douglas, again common only to the Collector's DVD and Blu-ray.

- Transfer looks to be the same as that taken from the 2001 restoration and is, contrary to Amazon's claim of a 1.33:1 aspect ratio, anamorphic widescreen.

- Also included are a hardbound book filled with extensive production notes, stills and behind-the-scenes photographs; a reproduction of the original pressbook; lobby cards featuring poster artwork; character photo cards; and a deck of cast-inspired playing cards.

While certain of the components here are superfluous (playing cards, I'm looking at you), it is a very attractive package for completists, and for those who agree that 'Cuckoo,' as a unique and valued contribution to American cinema, deserves the royal treatment. 5 stars for the film, 4 1/2 for presentation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2017
Classic Jack Nicholson. I've seen it about 50 times and I bought it to watch it at least 100 more times before I die!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
I love this movie! Jack Nicholson is such a wonderful actor, so are the others. It's amazing to think what went on in psychiatric facilities back then and still today. It is a sad yet good movie. It's sad that there are so many mentally ill patients who never receive treatment and ones that have a hard time dealing in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
Iconic film, and probably my favorite with Jack Nicholson. Scammer ends up on the losing end of his own scam. In the meantime, the highjinks and interpersonal connections are fascinating, considering the 1960's mental hospital background. As an RN, I wanted to slap Nurse Ratchett upside the head about every 5 minutes- cold, gnarly vermin that she was, and played perfectly by Louise Fletcher. It's also fun to see other "big names" before they really became household names.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
As usual Jack Nicholson is PERFECT in his part in this. GREAT acting, GREAT! Had to have this. Jack Nicholson, when he was young was extremely handsome, in my opinion anyway. Had to have this, classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 22, 2016
I love this movie..I had not seen it in many years and did something I seldom ever do... I deliberately rented a movie I had seen before and settled in to enjoy it. I enjoyed as much this time around as the first time.

A very good watch with our old friend Jack Nicholson.. a bit younger.. but still Jack.!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
"It's the truth even if it did'nt happen"
I remember our high school English teacher had us read some pretty dynamic books back in the 70's and this was one of them. I don't know if it's as widely assigned by teachers in this day and age.
Later I saw the movie and read the book again, appreciating what a good novel it is, and perhaps understanding where it was coming from and its influences a little better than I did in High School. Of course the book is better than the movie, but the movie is very good in its own right. Now we have the movie on bluray disc.
I don't imagine anybody needs a description of the films plot and most people buying this would be well familiar with it. But in case you had'nt: a brief no spoiler summary would be that the movie is about a mental ward and a rebellious patient/leader who appears on the ward, nurse Ratched who runs the ward is perturbed by him, he rails against authority and stirs things up (in some ways the Mcmurphy character in this film is similar to the character of Luke in "Cool hand Luke"). Nicholson and Fletcher are great in the lead roles and most of the supporting cast went on to wider notoriety. The movie is both funny and tragic, it has qualities that are rarely seen in mainstream cinema today.
Warner Brothers has done a fantastic job on this Bluray release. The image quality is excellent, and the packaging with booklet essay, photos, and supplements make it a real collector's item. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse