Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

One True Vine
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 8, 2014
I bought this CD after seeing Staples on the Colbert Report. This is a great CD, and a great gift. I've shared it with several folks, all of whom love it too. It probably falls in the "easy listening" category - not Musaak, but definitely not particularly edgy. The songs generally are melodic and harmonious in a way that makes them fairly easy to sing along with, and Mavis &co have very pleasant voices themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
This CD was inspiring to me in a way that not too many people would understand. My younger brother who was a worship leader until his death in 2002 was a BIG fan of the Staple singers in the 70's - He used to say (from the time he was in high school until his death) that he was a 'Black woman trapped in a white boy's body'. He and I were 2 of 6 kids and shared similar abuse - I was soooooooooooooo blessed to be on stage at the Napa, Ca Bottlerock concert this year when Mavis performed and I wish that I had brought our 45 record of the Staple singers to have Mavis sign for me and David's (my brother) wife and kids - Her performance was by far for me the BEST performance at the concert - Thank you, Mavis and God Bless You!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
I love Mavis Staples!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 30, 2013
It's hard to contemplate that Mavis Staples is approaching 75 and still performing. This album, produced by Jeff Tweedy is unbelievably good, one of those laid back CDs that has to be listened as a whole and which works as a whole. Mavis can wrap her voice anything - from the Staples Singers on VeeJay and Stax through being a solo artist for the last 35 years. This one's a keeper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2014
Yes, good stuff,but maybe too similar to last album."Got a formula-stick with it" headspace could get boring.Gotta keep pushing and reinventing. Maybe Jeff Tweedy is too safe for Mavis and she should move on? T-Bone Burnet or similar springs to mind. Nice album for a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2016
Album is great, but this pressing does not include the CD as advertised by Amazon. (It does include a download card.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2015
Some truly magnificent songs on this CD. I could play "Down in Mississippi" over and over and not get tired of it. The woman sings from the depth of her heart and soul, and you can REALLY feel it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
Saw her perform two songs on Colbert and ordered the cd immediately. She is amazing, and the cd is one of the best I've bought in years. "Can You Get to That" rocks, and the vocals/harmonies stir the soul. She was amazing at the Rally to Restore Sanity, she was amazing in the Staples Singers, and she's amazing here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2013
Mavis Staples is a testament to graceful aging and the thought that you are never too old to make new memories. If you like soulful music that has a rock tinge, this album will make you smile. You'll definitely play it several times, wait a few days and listen again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
Great music. LP was kind of warped, so deduct one star for that. Lots of depth in the music, listen and see for yourself. Still, would be nice to get a flat LP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse