Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Only the Best of Box set

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, December 30, 2008
"Please retry"
$21.98 $91.97

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Trolley Song
  2. Some Enchanted Evening
  3. My Darling, My Darling
  4. Scarlet Ribbons (For Her Hair)
  5. Serenade of the Bells
  6. "A"-You're Adorable (The Alphabet Song)
  7. The Things We Did Last Summer
  8. Candy
  9. That's for Me
  10. Feudin' and Fightin'

Disc: 2

  1. I Love You Truly
  2. Teardrops from My Eyes
  3. April and You
  4. When I Grow Too Old to Dream
  5. Good Nite
  6. Indiscretion
  7. With These Hands
  8. My Heart Cries for You
  9. Silence Is Golden
  10. Till We Meet Again

Disc: 3

  1. The One I Love (Belongs to Somebody Else)
  2. I'll Never Smile Again
  3. Oh! Look at Me Now!
  4. Who Can I Turn To?
  5. There Are Such Things
  6. I'll Take Tallulah
  7. Let's Get Away from It All
  8. It Started All Over Again
  9. Whatcha Know Joe
  10. The Night We Called It a Day
  11. Yes, Indeed

Product Details

  • Audio CD (December 30, 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Box set
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Collectables
  • ASIN: B001KK6RHY
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,117,287 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Jo Stafford Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Donald Rogers on January 22, 2011
Format: Audio CD
The track listing included here is correct and complete. The three-CD set has a total of 31 songs -- much less than the "148 Tracks" that the pictured box (rather implausibly) promises.

Note that this "box set" actually consists of three separate CDs, available individually on this same budget "Collectables" lsbel: "Getting Sentimental Over Tommy Dorsey", "Jo Stafford & Friends" and "Best of Jo Stafford". This repackaging strikes me as both illogical (how can you take an album titled "Best of", wrap it with two other albums, and call the result "ONLY the Best of...") and cheesy (the 31 songs here could easily fit on 2 CDs rather than 3 -- they'd almost fit on one!)

Caveat emptor, I suppose. Five stars for Jo Stafford herself, but there are other sets that probably represent her better, and for sure are better values. For instance, the 4-CD set "Yes, Indeed" has 99 songs (vs. 31 here) -- and actually costs less.

=== Disc 1: Getting Sentimental Over Tommy Dorsey ===
1. The Trolley Song 2:59
2. Some Enchanted Evening 3:14
3. My Darling, My Darling / Gordon MacRae 2:33
4. Scarlet Ribbons (For Her Hair) 2:29
5. Serenade of the Bells 2:57
6. "A"-You're Adorable (The Alphabet Song) / Gordon MacRae 2:25
7. The Things We Did Last Summer 3:03
8. Candy / Johnny Mercer 3:11
9. That's for Me 2:45
10. Feudin' and Fightin' / Paul Weston & His Orchestra 2:40

=== Disc 2: Jo Stafford & Friends ===
1. I Love You Truly / Nelson Eddy 2:54
2. Teardrops from My Eyes 3:08
3. April and You 3:13
4. When I Grow Too Old to Dream / Nelson Eddy 2:36
5. Good Nite / Vic Damone 2:41
6. Indiscretion 3:17
7. With These Hands / Nelson Eddy 2:51
8. My Heart Cries for You 2:53
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse