Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 120 reviews
VINE VOICEon December 24, 2011
I have been reading the various editions of this book since the first one was published more than 20 years ago. Tobias is a terrific writer. So much so that this book would make entertaining reading even if you completely ignored the advice it offered. Ignoring the advice, though, would be a bad idea because Tobias gives an overview of just about everything the average person needs to know about managing his or her money. He covers budgeting, insurance, and, of course, investing. Tobias's theme is that the route to financial success lies in spending less than you earn and investing the difference safely. In some ways, this amounts to advice that we already know. But Tobias separates himself from competing authors by the forceful and witty way he spells out these points, and the equally forceful and witty way he explains how the various get rich quick schemes propounded in so many competing books are likely to make the authors of those books rich, but not their readers.

So, if you are looking for a comprehensive introductory guide to managing your money, look no further.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
I bought this book ten years ago. I applied what I've learned and it paid off. The old book that I bought was never returned to me after I loan it to a friend. Thus, I made this recent purchase.

This book is simple to read and you can achieve what you want to achieve by following Tobia's advice. This dude knows what he is talking about!

This book will help you start your road to financial independent. Good luck!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2012
If you haven't read this book, you should. If you have read it, you should be doing better financially than before you read it. If you have read it and you are not doing better, you didn't learn anything, or didn't have the sense or the discipline to apply what you read. I don't know whether or not it is really the only investment guide you'll ever need. That may depend on how much money you need to worry about managing. But it seems like a pretty sound one for the average person who wants to use money more sensibly and plan for the future without doing extensive research or daily monitoring. A modicum of common sense and a fair amount of discipline are the primary prerequisites for following Tobias's advice. If you have those, and you are interested in putting your money to work for you, you will find that Tobias has advice that is both sound and reasonably simple. His basic advice: regular investment in a no-load mutual fund is the best way to go for most people who want to do something more with their money than leave it in the bank and wonder. But there is a lot more in the book than that (it doesn't take 300 pages to deliver that message, even though he does deliver it more than once), from an opening chapter designed to save you $1,000 a year on everyday expenses, to details about brokerages, investment instruments, and much more. Adding to the appeal of the book is Tobias's writing style, combining clarity, knowledge, and humor. It really is enjoyable to read, which a person like me would not be predisposed to say about an investment book. I should have read it 30 years ago (the first edition appeared in 1978 and there have been several revisions since then; this 2010 edition says it is completely revised and updated), but perhaps it is not too late for me to get a little bit smarter.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
This book was a great read. Tobias makes a potentially dry subject very enjoyable to read about. He makes the point that if you don't have your finances in order (which he describes in detail what he means) that there's little point in investing. In doing so though, he devotes many many pages to ways to be "thrifty" (some might choose to say "cheapskate" instead). The tips about filling expensive vodka bottles with cheap vodka, or splitting viagra pills because you don't necessarily need the entire pill, seemed to be a drop out of place in a book that covers personal finance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
As I read this book I found myself nodding yes a lot. Personally, I already incorporate many of these concepts into my financial decision making but I know that a vast majority of people struggle when it comes to understanding and managing their money. I think it's a shame that the title probably doesn't appeal as much to the people who could really benefit the most. The author has done an excellent job, literally starting at square one, of presenting complete and foundational knowledge that is essential to making sound financial decisions before exploring more advanced topics. This is not a get-rich-quick book. This book will simply teach you how to think about money and make educated choices when spending or investing it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
I continue to give this book to friends who are bewildered and intimidated by financial markets. Tobias makes everything clear and understandable without pandering or talking down to his audience. It's an unmatched primer for those people who are confused by the language of investing, and it's a great tool for understanding the usual nonsensical responses offered by investment managers who do not always have your best interests at hand. Whether you're a first time investor or building for your retirement through investment plans, this is an essential book.
And if and when you finish it, the next step is "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" by Burton Gordon Malkiel. This constantly updated classic puts the meat on the skeletal bones that Tobias lays out in his book. Read these two books (in order), and you'll probably know more than your broker does.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
This book starts out with common sense ways to save money. Saving money is an important first step to coming up with money to invest. The author helps debunk so much of those "experts" out there who want to charge various fees to "manage" portfolios which amounts to asset allocation rebalancing 4 times a year. Is it really worth 1% or more of your assets to have some expert try to "beat the market" on your behalf? Ask yourself this. If he is so good, how come he is still working for a brokerage seeking to manage accounts the size of yours? This book stands to save me a pile of money going forward. Good job, Andrew Tobias!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
Simply the best book on investments for the small, individual investor. It gives good reasons for keeping your investment strategy simple and explains why in clear easy to understand language. This book provides you with all you need to know to save for retirement. Save yourself the time of wading through all the investment schemes and get-rich-quick nonsense and follow the simple and solid advise given in this book. I have recommended this book many times to family and friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
If you're a newbie to investing or, like me just wanting to understand what goes on behind the curtain, i.e., is your broker as smart, or as dumb, as you suspect he might be, then this is your book. First written over 30 years ago Mr. Tobias has faithfully continued to update and refresh it's contents. I'm happy to have found this book, as I've certainly struggled though a few that were just to esoteric for my present level. That said, this is not an overly simplistic book by any means. What it is, is a clearly written, humorous and thoughtful layman's guidebook on investing and building financial security.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2012
I purchased this book wanting to learn more about personal finance and investing. It not only had my attention from cover to cover, it has started a desire to learn more about all of the different pieces he discussed in this book.

The title is misleading, and explained by the author, but this book is a great starting place and reference for learning about personal finance. This book covered A LOT of bases, and doesn't get too deep on any single part, but provides advice on every topic. The writing is very easy to get into, and I can't say that I really felt lost or aloof while reading any part of the book.

I would highly recommend this book to any one who is looking for an introduction into the world of personal finance and investing, it may get you very interested in how your money works, and at the VERY least, you will come out with more awareness and understanding of how to live more efficiently with your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse