BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Dirty Heads PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
43
Onmyoji
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 15, 2015
I'm a history lover as well and watching this film was a treat! They did a beautiful job of recreating life in the Heinan era and the storyline was fascinating. Mansai Nomura is great as the great aloof onmyoji, Abe no Seimei, and Hiroyuki Sanada is a the perfect villian as Dosan!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2017
This is a funny entertainment film. It is a kind of "Anime" movie.
Doson looks handsome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2014
A fantastic Japanese sword and sorcery story. The characters are engaging and it was a fascinating glimpse into the folklore and magic of Japan.

Minamoto no Hiromasa seeks the help of - and is befriended by - the onmyoji Abe no Seimei to protect the emperor from the onmyoji Doson.

Great acting from the whole cast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2003
I first stumbled across information about this movie while researching the religious background behind the art of Onmyo (Onmyodo). Having previously read several of Abe no Seimei's stories, I was excited to see that this movie came out in the U.S. Taking place in the Heian era, this movie follows the story of the onmyoji Abe no Seimei and court noble Minamoto no Hiromasa. It is a tale of court intrigue and relationships between characters. The reason it interested me is that there was a large focus on Onmyodo as well, going into the background of this tradition; the spells, curses, divination, talismans and chanting. I was also pleasantly surprised to see some of the traditional tales of Abe no Seimei adapted into the movie.
The only complaint that I have with the DVD release is that the sound quality could have been better. I noticed that toward the end of the later DVD chapters, the sound sync started getting a little behind the video.
Like with many Japanese movies, the emphasis is not on action. This is opposite of a good portion of American films. Some might find that it is a slow-paced movie and that the acting and special effects are "not up to par" with American movies. However, this movie is very much colored with rich culture, as well as deep character relationships and emotions. I think that anyone with an interest in Japanese court culture or magico-religious beliefs would enjoy this movie immensely. It is also a great movie for most anyone in general, unless you get queasy at the site of blood. There isn't a large amount of blood, but there is a scene or two that probably aren't for the weak-stomached.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2016
this film forces you to think some films just let you run with the punches this film however causes you to look past the mist the shadow and that which is hidden that is what makes you do some rolling over things you have both heard and seen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
These movies, Onmyoji and Onmyoji II are spectacular. The plot is fascinating...I learned so much about Japanese mythology by following the threads in this movie. The costumes are just fabulous, the acting is wonderful, the music is wonderful...the choreography of the dance for Amaterasu was so beautiful, I had tears in my eyes. I would say that these movies are indisputable masterpieces. I watch them over and over.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2016
I was really looking forward to this, because when it comes to anime I prefer the historic dramas with yokai and mystical priests but honestly I found this all a bit hokey. The special effects were not that good either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2004
Even upon multiple viewings, this movie never fails to delight. Anyone who enjoys Japanese film, especially of an historical, magical bent, cannot help but like these characters---a court magician who feels no need to compete and is almost cranky when enjoined to take a stand against a fellow omiyogi who is power-hungry and villianous to boot. The enjoiner is a rather minor court noble, who is pure of heart, yet not particularly brave until he is called upon to be a guardian of the city. Add to this various court ladies who are either magical, cursed, or immortal (and even a pair of doomed, star-crossed lovers) and we have quite a pleasing mixture.

It is beautifully photographed, scored (especially the flute and celestial music), and costumed; therefore, taking all of the above into account, I was forgiving of some less than spectacular special effects.

I particularly like the dance sequence which brings one character to life, at the willing sacrifice of another. Since the dancer, Seimei is a renowned Noh dancer---no wonder he was so impressive.

I look forward to the lift in spirits that this movie has always given me and I will watch it often.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
Amazing movie. I had seen it years ago, and was just happy to be able to find it again on DVD. FAST SHIPPING. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2016
Recommend this to watch one of traditional Japanese dances
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here