Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

Open Secrets: Stories
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 16, 2013
I am not a particular fan of the short story but was pleasantly surprised how much I liked "Open Secrets" by Alice Monroe. Her writing is exceptional and kept me turning the page hour after hour.

There is an understanding of her characters and a sense of deep peace--not conventional happy endings but knowledge of human nature which all great writers possess.

Her stories are set for the most part in rural Ontario. People court, have babies, wed, divorce, run away, and generally live thier lives in a deceptively ordinary manner.

There is nothing ordinary, however, about Alice Munro's writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 17, 2017
wonderfully written stories
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2014
Alice Munro is one of a kind writer, awesome short story writer. This book lived up to my expectations for her
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2018
I would like to return this Kindle e-book and get a refund . Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 26, 2014
You can't miss with Alice Munro. She drops you into a story so quickly…they are all like novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2015
The stories aren't as profound as some of her others. I am often at the lost when she ended the story she ended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 31, 2015
Wonderful book! I was sorry when I finished it. Beautifully written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 22, 2014
Readable--nothing very memorable
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2010
Many of these books are published in other collections. One could wish Munro had written more so we'd have fewer collections and more originals. However, every piece of writing is worth reading and rereading, so go ahead, buy.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2015
My favorite Alice Munro collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse