Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on August 31, 2017
This is a seminal book in the history of the novel as discussed by Professor Weinstein on the Great Course, "Classic Novels" progrm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 21, 2013
I heard about this book on a blog, and figured I'd check it out. It's the rambling tale of a man determined to give you every last detail of everything that might be important to the narrative of his life. Unfortunately, he goes on tangets so often that he doesn't even get to his birth for several chapters, let alone the story of the rest of his life. Along the way, you're introduced to lots of random characters who are (at best) loosely related to the protagonist, but as often as not these tangents are fairly amusing.

The writing is pretty dense, and this along with the tangents had me putting the book down fairly often. It's probably ideal for a commuting book, but I never wanted to just sit down and blitz through big chunks of it.

Overall it's a very different kind of experience than a novel reader typically gets. It's worth a read for a change of pace, but I can't say it's a life-altering read.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 8, 2017
It's probably great, but I didn't notice it was in German, a language I don't know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon October 7, 2008
This Dover Thrift Edition of The Life and Times of Tristram Shandy, Gentlemen, is a handsome package in terms of size, cover, and ease of reading. It's one drawback is a paucity of the sorts of introductions, timelines, explanatory notes and addenda you find in Oxford Classic or Penguin Classic versions. In fact, there's only one brief introductory note, then you're on your own. But it's a fine way to read the novel itself, and a great value even at full cover price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 27, 2013
This is perhaps the oddest book ever written with the author jumping in & out of the story. Lines like "Both of our characters have fallen asleep, which is good because it gives me time to discuss my uncle's fascination with fortifications."

Thomas Jefferson's favorite book. Very quirky, very funny.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 7, 2017
Why haven't I read this before?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2015
(This review pertains to the "Seven Treasures" edition. Apparently a print-on-demand volume. Unfortunately Amazon often mixes up editions in the review section.

At any rate, compare this with any complete edition and you'll see that this text is not complete. Neither does it contain the eccentric illustrations.

Moreover the "publisher":
• Doesn't bother to retain the author's original italics
• Misspells "gentleman" (as "gentelman") when he affixes the title of the book to the head of each chapter
• Spreads the text across abnormally wide margins, making it difficult to read, but easy for him to print. (It's more like a small telephone book.)
• Supplies no reference for the edition on which this is based, supplies no introduction, has none of the book's illustrations, and gives no credit for the anachronistic, Edwardian fellow on the cover (150 years out of place). In essence, there is no editor.

This (Seven Treasures Publications) is just a print-on-demand job, based on an "edition" known only to them. It's surely not the complete text. And any "publisher" who spells "gentleman" as "gentelman" needs to go back and finish Tenth Grade.
33 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2017
couldn't get into it . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2013
This is not the humour of snappy one-liners we get (and enjoy, no mistake about that) in good sitcoms or stand-up routines, but a leisurely, subtle and witty piece of writing that has withstood the test of time. If you have a taste for the classics, this belongs on your reading list.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2017
It's a classic for a reason
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse