Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Organic Baby: Simple Steps for Healthy Living
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 30, 2007
I have read this book cover to cover and it was exactly what I was looking for, all in one book. Mainly, I have had pressure to create a registry for our new baby and I was very stressed because I knew most conventional products were not for our family. This author gives you great, practical advice from a mother who has been there. She gives you perspective on all practices, conventional and "organic". I especially found helpful the Healthy Options advice she gave when going all organic might not be in the budget for every situation.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2009
This book has a very nice layout and some great pictures of happy babies. Unfortunately, the actual content is very thin and offers little in the way of creative ideas. The author basically instructs readers on how to go to the store and buy the natural/organic version of whatever it is they're looking for. There are also some vague pros and cons of buying the organic version vs. the conventional version, but if you've gotten as far as reading the reviews of this book, you're probably already familiar with more than the level of detail found inside. The parenting advice is so basic (e.g., if you take your child outdoors, try to avoid poison ivy or oak) that I'm not sure why it's included at all. Overall, this book is neither a standalone resource nor an enlightening supplement to other books on raising your child naturally/organically.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2008
This book has some nice photos in it, but as far as the content goes, I thought it was a bit flakey. You'll read the same vague sentance over and over again throughout the different chapters referring to what you should stay away from. Seems like the author is afraid to give specific brand names in the book that are her favorite or that she has found to be the best. There is a reference guide in the back, which might be good for something. I would suggest buying Raising Baby Green instead, that book was very informative.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2008
I recommend anyone reading this book ignore the car seat advice given. It is extremely dangerous advice. The book says to buy a used or older car seat so that the gasses from the cover are gone or to purchase an organic cover and exchange. Purchasing a used seat (that you don't know the history of) is not recommended because you don't know if the seat has been crashed, misused, has missing parts, etc. all of which could result in safety issues. Also, car seats expire six years from the date of manufacture because plastic degrades so an old seat can be dangerous as well. Switching the cover with an organic one sounds like a great idea, but after market products like an organic cover are not crash tested (even if they say they are - there are no federal requirements for after market products which means a manufacturer could toss the cover into a wall and claim it is crash tested and passes) so you are essentially using your child as a crash test dummy.

If you are really worried about the gasses in the cover, purchase the car seat new and a bit before you need it. Then, either wash the cover according to the manufacturer's recommendations or let it sit and air out for a few months.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2007
I bought this book to begin my research in preparation for becoming pregnant. It was a helpful resource for information on an alternative to the conventional baby stuff out there. Products for a variety of budgets are suggested and the author does a wonderful job remaining "non-preachy" and unbiased. The items and products presented are mere suggestions and the book doesn't make you feel like you are a horrible parent if you can't afford to re-carpet your entire house in non-toxic carpeting.
A great read for anyone interested in making their home and environment as healthy as possible for their baby!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2008
This book is very basic, like a summary of all the tips. Which, if you are buying this book you are probably somewhat up on organic and this book will teach you nothing. I really wouldn't call it a book, it's more like "notes" on how-to be organic, but not "why" to be organic. Not enough info here for me!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
this book was very informative and i totally recommend it; however there is so much information already on the internet... it i good to use it for reference when you forget about important things. if you find it in a good price even better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2007
As much as some of us would want to live 100% organic, we all know it's impossible. This book understands this and offers easy solutions for how you can minimize the risk of exposing your baby to toxic conventional products that we have around us daily. Great easy read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2007
This is a great little reference guide with information on organic living from conception to parenting your young child. The photos are beautiful (but few), information indexed and tips honest. Comparisons and pro/con lists were unbiased and very helpful!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
I found this at the thrift store and was charmed by its pretty packaging but unfortunately this book should have stayed on the shelf. Besides one excerpt on the dangers of non-organic mattresses and shampoo ingredients, this book was basically a "DUH, yah I could have figured that out myself" book. The author sounds like a nosy stranger that walks up and gives strong advice like, "oh did you know that will kill your baby" but then walks off without saying why. A quick google search would come up with a better answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here