Industrial Deals Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. Get 10% back on select Bang & Olufsen products Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on April 29, 2014
I bought the power charger for my Magellan 1700 GPS. It works well and allows me to update the GPS. The battery in the GPS does not charge enough anymore to let me do the free map updates that came with the GPS. Using the AC power adapter allows the GPS to remain on long enough to allow a map update. Anyone who has a Magellan 1700 GPS needs to have the AC power adapter to keep the unit up to date. I wish Magellan would have included one with the GPS.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2011
I know it sounds strange to call a power supply like this a must have, but it is. You can get a power supply anywhere, but this one is a huge amperage rating for one. As for needing an AC supply, Most of us don't have a internet line in our car for upgrades. And I don't believe or want to trust the batteries in the Magellan to hold for the upgrade. To be honest, I do believe it should be included in the package, but the price is very good as it stands.

I bought mine mostly for road travel in my RV and as often as we go. it is nice to have this in the house so maybe over the winter I can put it on charge every few weeks to keep the batteries cycled or I also use it for mapping help when planning a trip without killing the batteries.

Over all, worth buying very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 24, 2011
This product works well with the 1700 GPS unit. My one complaint is with the unit and not the charger. Battery capacity is VERY poor. The unit MUST be attatched to a power source for operation for more than a few minutes. I returned one model 1700 unit under warrantry believing that it was defective and the replacement was no better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 26, 2017
as advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 6, 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2012
ordered this item, because need to have power to operate away fr vehicle. Maestro 531 is excellent gps, wish to operate it as long as possible. item permits easy input of info into GPS without power fr vehicle. quality matching item. Rapid ship fr amazon.com.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2017
Works as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 22, 2013
Since the Maestro does not keep a charge very well, and neither my wife's nor my car can charge without the engine being on, this product is indispensable in being able to charge the unit in order to upload the updates.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 6, 2012
It takes a genius ...like me to solve a big problem with this product...Magellan A/C charger adapter for the Magellan Roadmate 1700LM GPS unit. I ordered a Magellan Roadmate #1700LM GPS from amazon.com and this P/N AN0204SWXXX A/C charger at a cost of $14.99, plus $5.74 shipping. The charger arrived today, and at first glance I knew it was the wrong unit. The Magellan 1700LM has a "round" port home for the power supply and A/C charger, this AN0204SWXXX has a sorta "rectangular" plug like those that are used on digital cameras, etc. So, there you go, someone don't know what the right side of the brain that works with the left side.

I called Magellan Company customer support and after waiting some twenty minutes I did get a real person to deal with. After my explaining my problem, the CSR get check out the matter and came back to say the A/C charger P/N AN0204SWXXX will not work... It seems all the A/C charger adapters that Amazon.com sells are WRONG. So, you out there in GPS land, when you buy a Magellan Roadmate 1700LM GPS, please don't buy their #AN0204SWXXX charger. Amazon was nice enough to email me a "return label" to get the unit back in their warehouse to send it to you.

But, like I said I'm near being a genius. Here's why. I really don't need a Magellan A/C charger, as I solved the problem of needing one. If you have a "portable" battery charger...12 volts it must me, like the ones most stores sells to have around to start your car/truck. Go to a auto supply store and buy you a cigarette light plug/adapter. It doesn't have to be fancy, just one that you can take two 18 guage wires//black and red and connect to the cigarette plug//postive and ground connectors. Now you can take your Magellan 1700LM power supply accessory plug and plug it into the portable 12 volt cigarette plug and connect it to the portable battery charge..there you have it, a 12 volt power supply without having to run your car/truck engine. I must give this unit a "one star' for good measure..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse