Buy Used
+ $4.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Trusted seller with thousands of satisfied customers. Save $$! Combined shipping available on Dream Books items!
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: newbury_comics
Add to Cart
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: skyvo-direct-usa
Add to Cart
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: megahitrecords
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Original Mono Recordings

Audio CD | Import, Box Set

4.5 out of 5 stars 25 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
MP3 Music, November 19, 2013
"Please retry"
Audio CD, Box set, Import, November 11, 2013
"Please retry"
$40.72 $61.50

Editorial Reviews

For nearly half a century, Miles Davis (1926-1991) was arguably the preeminent innovator in jazz - rarely staying in the same place twice, experimenting with the most cutting-edge styles and ideas he could imagine. This year, some of Miles' most enduring works for Columbia Records are collected the way they were originally heard: MILES DAVIS: THE ORIGINAL MONO RECORDINGS.

Here, Miles Davis' first nine 12-inch albums for Columbia will be collected in one package - all in impeccable mono mixes for the first time on CD. Seven of these albums - 'Round About Midnight, Miles Ahead (both 1957), Milestones (1958), Porgy And Bess, Kind Of Blue (both 1959), Sketches Of Spain (1960) and Someday My Prince Will Come (1961) - are familiar classics which saw Miles rise to prominence as an architect of the hard bop style of jazz before revolutionizing the genre with ventures into modal jazz. Of these, Milestones and Kind of Blue remain among the most universally recognized jazz recordings in the world.

MILES DAVIS: THE ORIGINAL MONO RECORDINGS also includes two exciting rare albums:

1958's Jazz Track features 10 compositions recorded for a French film, L'Ascenseuer Pour l'Echafaud, and three selections from an acclaimed session recorded shortly after the release of Milestones. (These sessions served as a prelude to Kind Of Blue, starring Davis, John Coltrane, Cannonball Adderley, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers and Jimmy Cobb. These are the only other studio sides by Davis sextet before recording what would become the best-selling jazz album of all time.)

Miles & Monk At Newport, released in 1964, features selections from two separate live performances at the Newport Jazz Festival: Davis' leading the same sextet from Jazz Track in 1958, and a 1963 set from pianist Thelonious Monk, just recently signed to Columbia Records from the Riverside label.

Each CD, newly remastered, will be housed in a mini-LP replica jacket, faithfully replicating the original LP sleeves. They will be packed in a casemade slipcase which will also hold a 40-page booklet with a brand-new essay. This is the true genius of Miles Davis as most people first heard it, the way it was intended to be heard: in mono.


'Round About Midnight
Miles Ahead
Jazz Track
Porgy And Bess
Kind Of Blue
Sketches Of Spain
Someday My Prince Will Come
Miles And Monk At Newport

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. 'Round Midnight
  2. Ah-Leu-Cha
  3. All of You
  4. Bye Bye Blackbird
  5. Tadd's Delight
  6. Dear Old Stockholm

Disc: 2

  1. Springsville
  2. The Maids of Cadiz
  3. The Duke
  4. My Ship
  5. Miles Ahead
  6. Blues for Pablo
  7. New Rhumba
  8. The Meaning of the Blues
  9. Lament
  10. I Don't Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone But You)

Disc: 3

  1. Dr. Jekyll
  2. Sid's Ahead
  3. Two Bass Hit
  4. Milestones
  5. Billy Boy
  6. Straight, No Chaser

Disc: 4

  1. Générique
  2. L'Assassinat De Carala
  3. Sur L'Autoroute
  4. Julien Dans L'Ascenseur
  5. Florence Sur Les Champs-Élysées
  6. Dîner Au Motel
  7. Évasion De Julien
  8. Visite Du Vigile
  9. Au Bar Du Petit Bac
  10. Chez Le Photographe Du Motel
  11. On Green Dolphin Street
  12. Fran-Dance
  13. Stella By Starlight

Disc: 5

  1. Buzzard Song
  2. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
  3. Gone
  4. Gone, Gone, Gone
  5. Summertime
  6. Oh Bess, Oh Where's My Bess
  7. Prayer (Oh Doctor Jesus)
  8. Fishermen, Strawberry and Devil Crab
  9. My Man's Gone Now
  10. It Ain't Necessarily So
  11. Here Come de Honey Man
  12. I Wants to Stay Here (aka I Loves You Porgy)
  13. There's a Boat That's Leaving Soon for New York

Disc: 6

  1. So What
  2. Freddie Freeloader
  3. Blue in Green
  4. All Blues
  5. Flamenco Sketches

Disc: 7

  1. Concierto de Aranjuez (Adagio)
  2. Will o' the Wisp
  3. The Pan Piper
  4. Saeta
  5. Solea

Disc: 8

  1. Some Day My Prince Will Come
  2. Old Folks
  3. Pfrancing
  4. Drad Dog
  5. Teo
  6. I Thought About You

Disc: 9

  1. Ah-Leu-Cha - Miles Davis Sextet
  2. Straight, No Chaser - Miles Davis Sextet
  3. Fran-Dance - Miles Davis Sextet
  4. Two Bass Hit - Miles Davis Sextet
  5. Nutty - The Thelonious Monk Quartet
  6. Blue Monk - The Thelonious Monk Quartet

Product details

  • Audio CD (November 11, 2013)
  • Original Release Date: November 11, 2013
  • Number of Discs: 9
  • Format: Box set, Import
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Sony Legacy
  • Run Time: 400 minutes
  • ASIN: B00ESEYE60
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #53,370 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Miles Davis Store

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 11, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1717 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
55 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Look for similar items by category

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: vinyl pop