Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 60 reviews
on February 8, 2014
Just received our Funscope; had it set up before dark and enjoy it immensely. As amateur stargazers, we have a more complex & cumbersome telescope that we can't figure out and that we don't use. It'll go to the Goodwill tomorrow; this one is a keeper.
If you have kids, it would be great for them too.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
I bought this to be our grab and go telescope. It's a real mixed bag. I really wanted to like it, but ultimately it is a disappointment. On the plus side, I was able to find a couple Messier objects. Granted, they were bright ones, but still better than cheap department store telescopes. I like that it has a super wide field of view due to its short focal length. It makes finding deep space objects a whole lot easier. That's the good and the reason for an extra star. It all fell apart however when the telescope was turned to the planets and moon. The optics are so out of alignment that anything bright, like a planet, appears as just a smear of light. The moon works a little better, but due to the misalignment, the focus is sharp on one side and fades towards the other. This would be easy to fix if the telescope had an adjustable primary mirror, but it doesn't. The mirror is actually just glued to the back of the telescope so there's no was to fix it. Orion markets this telescope as being best for lunar and planetary observation, but the one I got is the absolute opposite. I wish I would have saved the box or turned it towards Jupiter or Venus sooner. It would have definitely gone back. At least it was cheap, so I'm not out too much money.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
The scope would receive 5 stars if spotter scope actually worked. Kudos to Amazon for replacing scope in 1 day. Boo on having to call again when 2nd spotter scope didn't work either. Orion is in process of sending working EZ II spotter scope, hopefully this will work. Funscope is great beginner or second scope to take on trips. Decent optical for viewing moon and planets.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
This was a gift for my 11 year old grandson on is birthday. He has a scientific mind and loves knowledge. He and his family have used the telescope and have identified star patterns. He loves the telescope. If anyone else requests one I will buy Orion 10033 FunScope again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
Perfect starter scope for kids and family. Pretty good optics. Included eye pieces are pretty good for back yard scoping but could be better for night sky. Will definitely get better eye pieces. Love that it can be set down on any flat surface without a tripod. Makes on demand sky watching easy. Great size. When not in use it sits on an end table and makes for nice decor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
This is a great intro telescope for kids. It will not show you the great details of a more expensive telescope, but is great for its intended audience. For kids, it is very user friendly and sturdy. It is very easy to set up and very easy to site in on the moon or planets.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
I bought this for a six-year old grandson, and he loves it. Easy to use, and I like it too. We did buy an Orion 6mm Expanse eyepiece which we can use when he graduates to a bigger instrument.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
Great for young kids to learn how to find objects in the sky!! It is very easy to use and has great views!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2017
Easy setup. Able to use in minutes. Good quality. Put the dime store telescopes to shame.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2016
My son, niece and sister love the telescope. It helped to have something fun to do on a warm summer night in the country!! Very clear and easy to use. Just put it on a table, on the car hood, a wall, whatever level surface and look up to see the moon and stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here