Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20,026
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16,992 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20,026 reviews
on March 27, 2017
Words cannot express how much I loved this book. From the first page I knew that this was going to be a page-turner. Molly's story on its own made me keep on reading. However , the story of Niamh (Dorothy/Vivian) was 10 times more heartbreaking and uplifting than I anticipated. Parts of this book made me cry like a little girl, I felt all the sorrow and the loneliness of our main protagonist. I also felt joy and hope when she finally got what she longed for her entire life.

There is a lesson in this book not lost on me. Regardless of how many twists and turns your life takes, the people and the circumstances, you will end exactly where you were meant to be. It is the choices you make and how you choose to take what life gives you that makes the difference.

It's an amazing story, one that unfortunately has a base in reality. Orphan children thrown into a system that did not care for their well-being, forced to endure abuse and neglect. We have come a long way, but there is still a long way to go.

This book has inspired me to look for ways to help children like Niamh and Molly. It really kills me to think of the thousands of children enduring similar situations today.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
This is a great book about a part of US history (clearly NOT our proudest hour) that I knew nothing about. Abandoned orphan children in the Eastern United States were taken on trains to remote towns in the midwest for over 75 years from about 1876 to the 1920's and 1930. and were indeed (almost) "auctioned off" to families who would take them in (or farmers looking for a cheap farmhand, or small factory owners looking for cheap labor.) The book featured a modern day "abandoned child" who is about to turn 18 and go "out of the system" and a woman in her nineties that live in a huge and lovely home. Both are fictional characters who represent very real situations that they have lived through. I will not spoil the story, but it is full of surprises as the two women, young and old, clean out the attic in the huge and lovely home. They find more in common than they knew. The author skillfully ties together the similarities in their stories, and the reader is horrified upon occasion, frequently surprised, and rarely disappointed. I found it an enticing read; there is a point where it is hard to pub down. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and also found it thought provoking. And I have discovered that I know some granddaughters of "Orphan Train" riders, which has been fascinating to learn.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
etween 1854 and 1929 orphaned and homeless children cast out from the teeming tenements to the harsh streets of New York City were collected and boarded on special railroad trains headed for the farmlands of the American West. The hope of the organizers was finding families to offer these nine to 13 year olds a home and new beginning.

NOTICE OF ARRIVING TRAIN !

HOMES WANTED FOR CHILDREN. A COMPANY OF ORPHAN CHILDREN OF DIFFERENT AGES WILL ARRIVE AT OAKLAND, IOWA, FRIDAY, DECEMBER 9, 1904. THE DISTRIBUTION WILL TAKE PLACE AT 10:30 AM AND 1:30 PM.

Over a period of sixty years a quarter million indigent immigrant children were sent West. From station to station in small towns west of Chicago they were paraded by poorly equipped social workers before prospective foster parents, many of whose motives were less than noble. Few if any background checks of the perspective families were completed. Children were selected at each stop and those that were not chosen moved on to the next whistle-stop somewhere down the line. There was little or no follow-up and many of these children became little more than un-paid household labor and farm help, often in dysfunctional families. Many were not given the opportunity to attend school.

'' THE CHILD YOU SELECT IS YOURS FOR FREE, ON A 90 DAY TRIAL, AT WHICH POINT IF YOU SO CHOOSE, YOU MAY SEND HIM BACK."

Christina Baker Kline in her riveting New York Times best selling novel Orphan Train (2013) weaves a story of how the toxic ingredients of the Orphan Trains, conceived to rescue children from the depravity of New York's streets, often cast them into even worse circumstances. Orphan Train is the story of one train rider, a 9 year-old girl, who finally in her 90s comes to reveal her secret story to yet another rider from a turbulent world of another era.

"NOBODY WANTS ME. I HAVE TO GET BACK ON THE TRAIN." "ALL RIGHT CHILDREN THE JOURNEY CONTINUES, THE GOOD PEOPLE OF ALBANS, MINNESOTA ARE WAITING."

The story is powerful and Orphan Train is a rewarding read, both historically and emotionally. Christina Baker, in remarkable fashion, creates a protagonist who vividly portrays this little known chapter in American history.

Earlier this year I referred you to Jacob Riis's How The Other Half Lives @ gordonsgoodreads.com. Riss was among the first Muckrakers , uncovering social injustice in America. It is in his How The Other Half Lives that I first learned the history of the Orphan Trains.

Orphan Train is a novel so well researched that it could be categorized a historical novel. Kline was able to interview four actual train riders when they were in their late 90s. Other works of fiction by Christina Baker Kline are Sweet Water, Desire Lines, The way Life Should Be and Bird in Hand.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2016
This gripping page turner based on American history captivates and grips from beginning to end. It left me wrung out, emotionally exhausted yet smiling hopefully at the end. There is enough loss, human rottenness, resignation and stark reality in this book to wipe the smile from any Pollyanna. Yet there are amazing moments when life lightens and sodden emotional clouds part to breathless clarity palpable with hope when a character encounters a healthy connection with someone. In the book, as in life, it takes but few good connections to convince a battered soul into hanging on and keeping on despite the odds. These gritty girls/women survive, find each other through time and we become a tad more enlightened as to USA history and human nature. Orphan Train, A Novel is a really good read. I particularly recommend it for history buffs, genealogists, adoptees, their parents and fostered children of every age.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2017
This story is based on our American history. An Penobseot Indian, Molly Ayes, known as Molly in the story is an orphan in the orphanage and foster home system. Molly has to work several community service hours before her record is clear in the system. A 91 year old woman, Vivian is willing to help Molly providing Molly is willing to work. They come to an agreement Vivian needs her attic cleaned out and when they finish Mollys records will be clean.

The two start going through boxes and trunks in the attic. As the two women work together they become friends. They both are amazed at the number of boxes and trunks that are in the attic. The boxes and trunks are full of mysteries, stories, secrets and treasures as they unpack, clean out and repack all the treasures are revealed

I enjoyed the story that crosses into two centuries. Although these are fictional characters they represent people that lived in the past. A well written book about our history of our past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
The Orphan Trains operated from the 1850's until 1929 to shuttle abandoned children from New York City to midwestern cities where the children were put on display so that they could be chosen by a couple that was willing to take in the child. There were no background checks, nor any questions asked as to the suitability of the couple that wanted to take in the child. The couple was allowed to return the child after a 90 day trial period if the placement didn't work out. Many of the children were essentially used as slave labor on farms and in factories, though some did find loving and stable homes. Kline's novel shines a light on that historical practice, by telling the story of Niamh, a 9-year old Irish immigrant girl orphaned when a fire destroyed her family's home and took the lives of her parents and siblings.

The story unfolds from the perspective of Vivian, a former orphan, now 91-years old, living alone in a mansion in Maine surrounded by her years of accumulated possessions and 17-year old Molly, a foster child who is shunted from one foster home to another when she doesn't fit in. Molly has been charged with a petty theft and is allowed to do 50 hours of community service instead of time in the juvenile detention facility. Her boyfriend, whose mother works for Vivian, recommends her as an assistant to the old woman to help her sort through the decades of stuff in her attic. During the process, Vivian's story unfolds and Molly learns that they have travelled similar paths, though 80 years apart. The novel alternates between the years of 1929 and early 1930's and 2011.

I was thoroughly engrossed by the story, right up until the end and there were some interesting plot developments for both characters. Both had lived through misery, degradation and squalor, and had survived it and become stronger. The relationship that developed between Vivian and Molly was admirable, though the development of Molly's character in the novel seemed a bit lacking. Some of the dialogue was rather unrealistic for a 17 year old. Additionally, the peripheral characters where very one-dimensional and stereotyped, such as the Grote's from whose home Vivian escaped, and the couple that is currently fostering Molly who are characterized as in it only for the money. The lack of complex characterization lead me to believe that this was more of a YA novel than one intended for a more mature audience.

I was quite annoyed that the Kindle file included a significant excerpt of the author's next novel, Sweet Water. The Orphan Train story ended when the file was at only 89%, leading me to believe that there was much more to follow in this interesting saga; but I turned the page and it was over! Fully 10% of the file was consumed with an excerpt of another novel. I felt a bit cheated that the Orphan Train ended so abruptly.

4.5 Stars !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
I am an 8th grade girl who read this book as an independent reading assignment. I loved the book and the messages it leaves.
The book begins with Molly, an orphan girl in 2011 living in a foster home. Her foster mother is upset with her but they soon overcome it. Next, we meet Vivian, a nine-year-old Irish girl in the 1930's who goes by Niamh and must board the orphan train. In the present day, Molly and Vivian meet in the present day, when she is 91. Molly needs community service hours because she's been caught stealing a book from the library. Vivian's attic is full of stuff and Molly's job is to help clean it out. This sets the stage for the interweaving of two tales: Vivian's difficult past as an orphan and Molly's present as a foster child. We then see their stories unfold throughout the book.
Orphan Train is a wonderful novel filled with comparisons of Molly and Vivian. Vivian's story is the subject of the book, the Orphan Train. She had emigrated from Ireland with her family as a young girl. At age nine her family was killed in a tenement fire. She, along with hundreds of other orphans was put on a train headed to Minnesota where, it was hoped they would find people to adopt them. Both are moved many times from home to home and Vivian, though her troubles are more extreme, relates to Molly and they form a friendship that crosses generations.
Vivian was first taken home by a family who only wanted free labor. They would lock the refrigerator, make her sleep in the hallway, and wouldn't let her use the indoor restroom. It went from bad to worse. The next family was extremely poor, with many kids, whom Vivian was expected to take care of. None of the parents worked and the dad would hunt squirrels for the family to eat. All of the children shared a room and the mother was very rude to her. Thanks to her kind teacher at school, who took pity on Vivian, she was rescued and her life began to improve dramatically. Vivian found a happy home and a family that adopted her and gave her the name Vivian, after their daughter who had died. She ends up having a good life.
Molly's life is hard but not as hard as Vivian's. Even though her foster parents don't love her and make her eat meat when she is a vegetarian, she isn't treated like slave labor. Learning of Vivian's harsh childhood gives her perspective on her own life and hope for a better future. Throughout the book, the two women bond and learn from each other.
This is a great historical fiction novel. The only thing I disliked about this book is that it is based on real events in America's history. I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone looking for a heart-warming tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2016
Really great read. It had plenty of intensity and great historical perspective. I liked the way the two stories interwove. I thought Vivian was a little sad--not allowing herself to love--but it was remedied nicely at the end. Very touching.

There is a little graphic action in the middle (SPOILER ALERT: attempted rape scene) which was hard to read. It wasn't especially graphic or sexual, but the mood and actions are pretty terrible and it is painful, as a mother, to read that. But pretty central to the story as well. Just awful to imagine...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2014
The book we read was The Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline, and while it is fiction, it is based on real events.
An estimated 30,000 children were homeless in New York City in the 1850s. The children ranged in age from about six to 18 and shared a common grim existence. Homeless or neglected, they lived in New York City's streets and slums with little or no hope of a successful future. In 1850, approximately 25% of those residents were Irish.

Charles Loring Brace, the founder of The Children's Aid Society, believed that there was a way to change the futures of these children. By removing youngsters from the poverty and debauchery of the city streets and placing them in morally upright farm families, he thought they would have a chance of escaping a lifetime of suffering.
He proposed that these children be sent by train to live and work on farms out west. They would be placed in homes for free but they would serve as an extra pair of hands to help with chores around the farm. They wouldn't be indentured, but treated as family members, to be raised and educated to be productive members of society. In fact, older children placed by The Children's Aid Society were to be paid for their labors.
Some of the children went on to lead simple, very normal lives, raising their families and working towards the American dream. Many others weren’t so lucky, and were treated no better than slaves.

As a 9-year-old Irish immigrant, red-headed and freckled, Niamh Power lost everything to a fire. Her father and two brothers died immediately, her mother was taken away on a stretcher, and she was told that her infant sister Maisie didn’t make it. Kindly neighbors brought Niamh (pronounced Neev) to the Children’s Aid Society, and she was alone in the world.

Along the way she met Dutchy, who would be the love of her life. Her name was changed several times because ‘Niamh’ was too foreign. Eventually she became Vivian Daly. She suffered at the hands of her foster parents – overworked, underfed, ignored, and raped, and then ignored again. She moved to Maine as an adult, with memories stashed away in trunks and boxes in the attic. And when Molly Ayer met her, she was an old widow with no grip on life.
Molly is a child of the foster system, too, and as a Penobscot Indian, she has been treated as an outsider, cared for, but not cared about. Community service – cleaning out Vivian Daly’s attic – is the only thing keeping her out of juvie. This is her last chance.

This story has everything covered: coming of age, redemption, resolution, and rediscovery. As a group, we loved it. We discussed a few things that bothered us: How could people treat children that badly? How could Vivian give up her child to the foster care system since she had such a dreadful experience? We wished the character of Molly would have been developed a little more; we wanted to know more about her. We would definitely recommend this to others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2016
Molly became an orphan following the death of her father and her mother's decent into a world of drugs and alcohol. Her world is a mess as a result of being passed from foster home to foster home and a teenage mistake that results in her being assigned 50 hours of community service. Vivian is 91 years old and is an Irish immigrant who became orphaned during the great depression. The lives of both women are changed forever when they come together as a result the community service project assigned to Molly.

It would truly be a shame if I gave this book anything less than a five-stare rating. Books having strong, believable characters are fairly common but it is rare when you read a book that has true depth. As Molly and Vivian reflect on their past, we experience a heart-warming story that depicts the desperation and suffering people faced during the great depression. Will our journey through time with Molly and Vivian end in disaster or will it show the reader once again that clouds do sometimes have a silver lining? Only the reader will know.

An excellent read .. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.22

Need customer service? Click here