Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $4.01 (24%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Other Passenger by [Louise Candlish]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Other Passenger Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 20,227 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Only $5.95 a month for the first 4 months on Audible. Limited-time only.

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

“This book stands apart for its expert pacing and plotting, and for its exploration of the complexity of financial disparities in relationships, friendships between generations, and the London housing crisis . . . Sure to please readers looking for thrillers in the vein of Lisa Jewell and Aimee Molloy; a single-sitting page-turner with character and thematic depth.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“This ingenious psychological thriller from British author Candlish (
Those People) has more bends and turns than the Thames River . . . Dalliances form, alliances abound, and deception is rampant. Candlish’s clever commuter horror offers enough stupefying chills to reward old fans and invite new ones.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Candlish never lets the tension slacken as deep discussions of income disparity, aging, love and loss keep readers’ loyalties shifting between characters. There’s the potential for at least one character, perhaps more, to appear in another novel. It would be thrilling to see them again. The villains in
The Other Passenger are never held at arm’s length. We care, even as their ordinary lives turn monstrous.” —BookPage (starred review)

"Candlish’s story is a stiletto take on desire and ambition and the power of possession, and one of the most entertaining and seductive thrillers coming this summer.” —
Minneapolis Sar Tribune

“Candlish brings a Hitchcockian sense of the uncanny to her latest thriller, which features two friendly neighbors, co-commuters on the local ferry. When one of them goes missing, the other finds himself under accusation. Their friendship is real, but our protagonist is forced to question everything he thought he knew about her relationships and the community around him.” —
Crimereads

"Psychological suspense at its most elegant and sinister." —
A.J. Finn

"Just brilliant; gripping from the first page with an incredible first-person narrative and a sense of place that pulls you through the pages fast enough to make your head spin. Louise Candlish just gets better and better. I love her." —
Lisa Jewell

"I'm a HUGE fan of Louise Candlish's writing, but she really knocks it out of the park with this one, with its Hitchcockian atmosphere of mounting dread and almost unbearable suspense, building to its astonishing conclusion. A must-read." —
Lucy Foley

"Louise Candlish is the queen of the sucker-punch twist." —
Ruth Ware

"A gripping read with a brilliant first-person narrative. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. It’s so good!" —
B.A. Paris

About the Author

Louise Candlish is the internationally bestselling author of fifteen novels, including The Other Passenger, The Heights, and Our House, which won the Crime & Thriller Book of the Year at the 2019 British Book Awards. It is now a major four-part TV drama starring Martin Compston, Tuppence Middleton, and Rupert Penry-Jones, available to stream on CBC Gem. Louise lives in London with her husband and daughter. Connect with her on Twitter @Louise_Candlish, Facebook @LouiseCandlishAuthor, and Instagram @LouiseCandlish.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08LDVHZSQ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atria Books (July 20, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ July 20, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2357 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 396 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 20,227 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Hello and welcome! I am the bestselling author of 15 novels - a fact I can't quite believe myself - and my books are published all over the world. I've just announced my 2023 release: THE ONLY SUSPECT. Watch this space for more on that!

OUR HOUSE is the one you may be most familiar with as it's on our screens as a major four-part ITV drama starring Martin Compston, Tuppence Middleton and Rupert Penry-Jones. This is the novel that turned my career around - right when I was about to give up. It won the 2019 British Book Awards Book of the Year - Crime & Thriller and was shortlisted for the Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award, the Capital Crime Amazon Publishing Best Crime Novel of the Year Award​, and the Audible Sounds of Crime Award. It was also longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and the Specsavers National Book Awards.

I couldn't have asked for more, really, and feel so proud that readers are continuing to discover it and recommend it far and wide.

THE HEIGHTS is my newest book - it's a twisty revenge thriller whose narrator, Ellen, has a strange fear of heights known as 'high place phenomenon'. You could say she's my most Hitchcock-inspired character yet... I can't wait for you to read it and and tell me if you're Team Ellen or not ;-) The book is in development for a TV series, so fingers crossed...

Also out now is THE OTHER PASSENGER (I call it 'commuter noir'), one of the biggest sellers of the Covid-19 lockdown (a dubious honour) and my first ever Richard & Judy Book Club pick. It was longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award 2021, which makes me very happy.

A bit about me: I live in a South London neighbourhood not unlike the one in my books, with my husband, teenage daughter, and a fox-red Labrador called Bertie who is the apple of my eye. Books, TV and long walks are my passions - oh, and drinking wine in the sun with family and friends. My favourite authors include Tom Wolfe, Patricia Highsmith and Agatha Christie.

Get up-to-date offers by clicking on the yellow 'Follow' button under my pic. For more book news (and doting pictures of Bertie, regularly updated!), catch me on Twitter @louise_candlish, on Instagram @louisecandlish or facebook.com/LouiseCandlishAuthor. I'd love to hear from you.

Author photos ©Johnny Ring; ©Joe Lord/Archant

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
20,227 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on March 20, 2021
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 19, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 24, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 5, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 7, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 25, 2021
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 11, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 15, 2022

Top reviews from other countries

BOOK MARK!
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word,awesome
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on July 6, 2020
73 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Bluebell Hill
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on July 4, 2020
47 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Nick
5.0 out of 5 stars LC has delivered yet another gripping book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 25, 2020
39 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Madge
1.0 out of 5 stars had to skip to the end
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on September 12, 2020
32 people found this helpful
Report abuse
SOPHIA
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on August 8, 2020
33 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?