Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. Get 10% back on select Bang & Olufsen products Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
Otis Rush - Live at Montreux 1986
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 23, 2006
This is really, as someone has already pointed out, a great live recording. Surely one of the best live electric blues album that I own. Recorded at the Montreux Blues and Jazz festival in 1986 this CD is packed wall to wall with extraordinary feeling and great playing from all the musicians present on the stage. It appears immediately evident from the first note of the first track that Otis Rush was in a great form that night, and his singing and guitar playing is simply superb through out the entire concert. If you add to the mix an inspired Eric Clapton (that when plays the blues is second to none) sharing the centre of the stage on 4 songs and "dulcis in fundo" even the great Luther Allison for the closing act, you may start to have an idea of the final result. As a plus, and not a minor one, the quality of the sound is excellent and all the instruments sound clear. Very difficult not to mention the killer version of the classic "Crosscut saw" and an even more intense "All your love (I miss loving)" with Otis and Eric jamming together. In conclusion a five stars plus record that I suggest you should add to your collection if you are a blues fan and you like your blues very much guitar driven.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 7, 2015
Great album and inspirational to my guitar playing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 26, 2008
Otis Rush, Eric Clapton, and Luther Allison all on the same album ? Are you kidding ? Not the best Otis Rush "live" album (that title goes to Live in San Francisco" from 1997, which is great), but very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2015
Good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 31, 2012
I must admit,I owned the Otis Rush - Live at Montreux DVD quite awhile before I decided to buy the CD. Once I was able to find it (on Amazon.com) I was a little disappointed that the CD omitted some tracks that were on the DVD. Nevertheless, Otis is still on fire and playing at the peak of his prowess on this live disc. His back-up band for this gig, Professor Edddie Lusk and crew, along with special guests Eric Clapton and Luther Allison make this recording worth listening to over and over again. Rush and all of the musicians are "in the pocket" on every track. If you have to buy an Otis Rush live CD (or DVD), make it this one. Chicago blues at it finest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 26, 2011
If you like listening to live blues from the comfort of your home and auto then this album is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 12, 2006
I bought this CD only after a reviewer reported below that "the sound is excellent." The sound is not excellent. It reminds me of Albert King's 1967 Fillmore West recordings. The sound is very bright. Fred Barnes's cat quick bass licks lack any low end. This CD sounds best played in my car where the recording's high frquency bias isn't as noticable.

That being said, it is a satisfying performance. Especially with Eric Clapton featured on three of the nine tracks and Clapton and Luther Allison on a fourth.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2006
This is one of the best live albums i've ever heard.I'd put it right up there with BB King's Live at the Regal and The Allman Brother's live at the Fillmore.

Otis is in rare form himself but then add Eric Clapton for five songs and Luther Allison for one and you've got magic.And the sound quality is great.Too bad the rest of Otis's live albums didn't sound like this.Buy this,you'll never hear guitar jams like this anywhere.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 24, 2007
Otis Rush is one of the best Bluesman of all times. He is a great singer, guitarist and composer, on the same level as the late Magic Sam and the current leaders of the Chicago Blues, Buddy Guy and the really magic Magic Slim, all of them creators of the sound known as West Side. I find this live record a jewel with only one defect, which is its sound. The bass guitar practically is nonexistent, particularly in some themes as for example the one that opens the LP, "Tops", or the one that closes the record, the brilliant Memphis Slim's "Every day I have the Blues". Nonetheless it is an extraordinary record, one of the best live records I have heard. Otis' way of playing and singing is absolutely superb and all the musicians do a great job, with powerful contributions by an inspired Eric Clapton, aka Slow Hand, in four themes, in the last of which coinciding with another top figure as Luther Allison, a great admirer of Otis Rush. The record contains several extraordinary original themes as well as versions. I want to highlight the intensity of the version of the classic Albert King's "Croscut Saw", and one of his great compositions, "All your love (I miss loving)". I'm also partial to "Double trouble", a great Blues with that Otis' feeling, and the blues which closes the record, Memphis Slim's "Every day I have the Blues", with Clapton, Allison and Rush showing their mastery, even though towards the end of the theme the sound loses some clarity. Highly recommended for all the blues and guitar lovers. I give it 5 stars in spite of this somewhat flawed sound and long live to Otis Rush.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2009
You're absolutely right, I couldn't come up with a headline that made any sense, so I went with the above.

This is the CD companion to Sony's similarly titled DVD featuring guitarist Otis Rush's 1986 appearence at the Montreux Jazz Festival.
Rush is backed by "Professor" Eddie Lusk's ensemble, including pianist/organist Lusk himself, who plays tasteful blues piano (and some hideous Toy 'R' Us-organ on a mediocre take on Albert King's "Let's Have a Natural Ball"). The rhythm section of bassist Fred Barnes and drummer Eddie Turner is rock-solid, and Eric Clapton shows up for the second half of the set, adding guitar and occationally vocals to the last four songs.

There are a couple of minor cuts here, including the uninspired opening instrumental "Tops", and the overall quality of "Otis Rush & Friends" doesn't quite match the greatness of live recordings such as "Live in Europe" and "Live and in Concert in San Francisco". But there are also some real highlights, such as a tough, hard-rocking "Mean Old World" which showcases both Lusk's piano and Rush's explosive lead guitar, and a dense, powerful take on guitarist Willie Cobbs' classic "You Don't Love Me" (covered by Junior Wells, the Allman Brothers Band and several other acts - and credited to "Willie Cobb" without the S).

This swaggering rendition of "All Your Love (I Miss Loving)", probably Rush's best-known original composition, is terrific as well, and Otis Rush plays some searing blues guitar on several songs, including another original, "Right Place, Wrong Time".
His guitar duets with that of Eric Clapton on a terrific seven-minute "Crosscut Saw"...on the DVD you'll notice Clapton looking intensely concentrated at the beginning of the song, focusing on Otis Rush and obviously deferring to the older man, and while Rush is a stronger vocalist than Clapton, Clapton does pretty well on Rush's "Double Trouble".
Fellow guitarist and singer Luther Allison strolls on stage to perform with Rush and Clapton on a semi-improvised take on what is supposed to be Memphis Slim's "Nobody Loves Me (Every Day I Have the Blues)" which brings the disc to an enthusiastic, if slightly disjointed, close.

A few tracks are disappointing, and the overall quality of this material doesn't quite reach the heights of Rush's best live recordings, but there is still a lot of great stuff here.
It's not an absolutely necessary purchase, but fans of Otis Rush in particular will find a lot to like here nonetheless.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse