Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 101 reviews
on April 28, 2015
Al Gore challenges the human race to end the climate crisis. It seems like it would be difficult or even impossible, but throughout Our Choice, Gore lays out simple solutions. If you are interested in climate change and how to stop global warming, this is the book for you!
Solar, wind, geothermal, plant, and nuclear are the most feasible renewable energies to us right now. Geothermal is the most inexpensive, but nuclear provides us the most amount of energy. Solar and wind are the most convenient but require a continuous source; otherwise it is difficult to acquire the energy. Gore makes it seem easy to switch our source of energy, but it would be expensive and take awhile.
Using renewable energy will stop the emissions of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and stop global warming. Another benefit of renewable energy is that it is free and limitless! As long as the sun is shining, we can generate energy! Why are we not doing this then? There are many political walls in the way and Gore goes more in depth regarding this problem. Our country has been running on oil for far too long and politicians claim it would be too expensive and inconvenient to switch.
Gore gives us an ultimatum in Our Choice. We either decide to do something about the climate change, or we continue as we are, deplete our resources, and leave the future generations to deal with the problem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2017
HumaN health and hope for FUTURE well-being depends oN actions we take in the next few years. While there is hope technilogcal breakthroughs can help,, adequate soltions depend on choices to be made by individual people and families. Each of us shares a responsibility for pursuing the common good. Al Gore provides a wide ranging examination and update of our situation. He also describes a number of very promising paths we could take to minimize if not avert the climate crisis. Overall he describes a very hopeful future. But, what is missing is the will and determination to face the problems and to cooperate in developing solutions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 22, 2014
Our Choice examines the science, politics, causes and consequences of climate change. More importantly it gives solutions for fixing the dilemma we find ourselves in. Al Gore's book gives hope that we can and will reverse the course of global warming if we as a collective civilization recognize the danger before its too late. The problem is that humans are like the experiment where you put a frog in a beaker of water. If you heat the water up quickly, the frog will recognize the danger and jump out. If, on the other hand, you slowly, gradually heat the water up, the frog will remain in the water until it boils to death. Scientists are telling us, "The water is starting to boil let's turn the heat down." While politicians bought by the CO2 lobby are telling us, "Come on in the water's fine." Who you gonna believe?
While I'm not particularly a big Al Gore fan, this is a beautiful book with pictures and graphs that supplement the information given, and despite my misgivings about Gore, he is sincere and his science is valid and this book is worth the read. Even though the book is dated now, I'm glad I read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
This is a great book by the former Senator and Vice President. It offers many, many solutions to for energy policies in this country & the world. Al Gore's genius is highly under rated. He's been widely misquoted as claiming that he "Invented the Internet". He in fact wrote the High Speed Computing Act of 1991, which led to the modern Internet as we know it. Anyway, the book is very good and offers many alternative solutions to fossil fuels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
This is a wonderful book, packed full of insightful information on both the scientific as well as political levels. Great to visualize the factors involved with climate change, which will aid in memory, as well as useful for ready reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
Great. Covers such a wide range of climate related topics. Great graphics and photographs, outstanding book design. Good writing (not too technical)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
The paperback came out in 2009, and the app version came out in 2011. It's interesting to compare the two versions. Regardless of what you think of Gore or the topic of climate change caused by humans, the app in particular is interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2015
Great deal! Will always buy books this way from now on. Especially great for school assignments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2013
I am very into the Climate Project, and so this book made my day. It arrived in a timely fashion with no damage. I read it in a few hours, and was talking about it to my friends the next day, so it is not a difficult read, but the information is pertinent to the times, and easy to understand. The impact of this book is what each reader makes of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
Excellent recommendations to sustain humanity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse