Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning SneakyPete SneakyPete SneakyPete  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.72+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 692 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 845 reviews
on May 15, 2009
Plenty to read about how the W brothers buried yet another fine film, but those two are a case study in having great films distributed incorrectly. Aside from them - what a great sci-fi film.

We have inter-planetary travel, love, loss, awesome looking dragon creatures with firefly (glowing) capabilities, all intertwined within the Norse time period of our history. Caviezel has just the right look to be the believable yet fearless fighter that hunts these creatures across the universe.

The effects looked adequate, and excelled during any of the ship sequences off planet. I have read most of the criticisms about pacing, time period gaffs and such, but overall I think they made a solid film. The DVD has over 32 minutes of deleted scenes that help answer some of the questions raised while watching the theatrical cut (which runs 115 minutes itself). The alternate opening would have helped with the end - but watching a space ship spiral towards Earth works better. The scenes with his Captain would have been nice to see in the main cut, as would most of the others but oh well. Some nice informative supplements for the special effects also.

Customers have been asking for this since last year, and playing it alone has generated quite a buzz. A worthwhile owner for fans of the film that would of course look beautiful on Blu.
22 comments| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
This could have been a huge blockbuster - I'm not sure why it wasn't advertised more. It is an action film and for what it is, it does it well. It's one of those movies where I want to clap at the end because it has this big dramatic feel to it. (Yeah, I'm a dork.) It also unexpectedly had a moral of some sort. Without giving the plot away, the monsters were given a very sympathetic backstory. Usually with these sorts of movies it's a clearcut good guy vs bad monster, but here I felt bad for the monster and at the same time understood why they needed to kill it. It made it kind of hard to cheer for one side, which is actually pretty thoughtful for what would otherwise be a straightforward mindless action flick.

Anyway, things I liked:
- good special effects that didn't overwhelm the story
- the story itself was interesting
- cool monsters

Things I didn't like:
- the lead actor is a bit wooden and it would've been better with someone more charismatic
- excessively gory (do we need to see blood spurting out of a guy's head after it's cut off?)

Things you might want to know:
- pretty cliched
- very violent
- no nudity
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2017
Excellent SciFi. great mix of story telling and technology. The only thing is that The characters were not as fleshed out as they should have been. The actors were excellent, the direction was good the cutting was seamless. If the budget had allowed for a little more polish and maybe more time to fully realize the characters it would be a 5 star classic. As is, it is a 4 star potential classic. It has some fantasy violence and a little gratuitous blood. But considering that it had no sex and with one exception no trashy language. a completely family movie except of the 6 and under crowd if watched as a family other wise 12 and under. Great time will be even better when they make Marijuana legal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2017
This is a masterful film with the same for a story line. It combines both the current knowledge of the Viking era with a fantasy addition of a far advanced incursion of this advanced life. This is a thoroughly entertaining film. This may be too intense for the below 12 years crowd.. NJMJr.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
I liked this movie. It had (James Caviezel) in it, the actor from CBS's Person of Interest. He plays a space traveler who crash lands on a planet. He had a lizzard type of thing on his ship, the animal starts killing everone on the island. because of the time period that he landed in, his weapons are limited to bow and arrows swords and axes. It's almost like a preditor durring that time period. they end up killin it. and he thinks about goin back home to his planet on a rescue ship but decides to stay and be the new king of this group of people. I thought the movie was gona suck but it was pretty good. It is really something that is worth renting well worth the 4 bucks! :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2016
Surprisingly solid film! Reminded me of The 13th Warrior, with a strong cast, characters with dimension, good dialogue, and quality action. The premise may strike you as odd, but it actually works pretty smoothly. Give it a chance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
The entire concept of this film is very unique. Jim Caveizel is
amazing as someone who must adjust to an entirely new
environment, and his acting is amazing as usual. I've been
a huge fan of his films and this one is really a must see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2017
Got as far as the viking princess not wanting to marry the viking lord and him not wanting her to be a swordswoman, and I turned it off. There was just no way I could face that level of cliche without a LOT more weed and some friends around to help me make fun of it.
Also, the crash-landed alien did not impress me - his crashed, sinking ship conveniently provided him with a "burn the language and culture of some obscure backwater planet into your brain"-o-matic, a gun...and nothing else. When he and his dead friend surface from the wreck, they are wearing super-spiffy space armor...that he immediately takes off because honestly, why would you want armor in a world of violent iron-age natives and unknown, possibly hostile beasts? Protection? Screw that! It's t-shirt-o'clock, yo!
Ridiculous tripe, and I won't put up with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
Vastly underrated movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2016
My God that was one stupid movie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.99

Need customer service? Click here