Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Nothing More GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 41 reviews
on December 12, 2014
Deep and thought provoking, it gives insight into how long this has been going on and the basis for many of the problems we face today. The America as founded really shifted around the turn of the 20th Century, and by WWI we were well on our way to becoming what we are now...these were our formative years. Makes you wish you could go back in time and swing a 2x4 against the head of some of those shakers and movers. The colossal arrogance of the liberals.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
World War I has become something of a forgotten war for Americans, overshadowed by WWII. Whatever legacy that remains of the Great War are images of trench warfare, mustard gas, primitive bi-plane dogfights, and the earliest use of tanks. The divides at home, both those deep-seated ones brought out by the war or newer ones created by it, have been all but forgotten. Kennedy brings out these lost legacies of the war. The massive resistance to the war - and even larger efforts to rein in on "slackers" and to spy on potential dissidents - is discussed at length, as are the complex relationships early advocates of civil rights, women's suffragists, and big labor had with the war. Definitely worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2001
David Kennedy continues to demonstrate a rare ability to convey the impact of major historical events on a young and often isolationist United States. This book is not similar to "Freedom From Fear", his seminal work on the Great Depression thru the conclusion of WWII. That work, while simply magnificent, was a complete history and sought to bring out all major points of importance to the U.S. of a very significant period of time. "Over Here" is more selective in what the author is trying to convey; that is to say that Kennedy expends virtually all his energy focusing on more of the consequents in terms of societal implications rather than of their respective antecedents, ie the actual Great War on a very politically complicated and framented European continent. All serious students of 20th Century American history should consider this required reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
A top ten book about the Great War. I've read them all the top tier books (within reason). But be aware of the limited scope of this book. It is about how the war was used by all parties in domestic politics and culture. Don't expect much information about Europe in this book. It was a finalist for Pulitzer Prize and the author went on to win the prize for his similar book about the following World War. So expect a high quality of writing and you will get what you expect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2016
All I can say is that David Kennedy is a great writer and an even better historian. I have a great deal of knowledge about World War I and the era which preceded and followed it. However, Mr. Kennedy provided me with new insights and contexts. A wonderful book that should be read by anyone with an interest in understanding the current political and economic environment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
Excellent overview of the American entry into WWI and the deceitful and probably illegal behavior of Woodrow Wilson. Not the US's finest political moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2016
Good read and not too academic. A good read about the First World War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
Perhaps ok, but it has an excessive focus on labor issues that detracts from more interesting parts of the narrative.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
Great detail, and an Afterword that convincingly argues that our post-WWII foreign policy remains Wilsonian is a great conclusion to the work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
This is an excellent political history of the United States during the First World War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse