BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon drwho drwho drwho  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 30, 2015
All it talks about are the pilots. That's good, but ultimately boring. What's missing is a thorough description of the P-38 plane itself, how it was developed, and why, and how it made such a huge difference in the air war in the Pacific in WWII. Also missing are detailed descriptions of significant dogfights and the development of dogfighting tactics, where in fact the plane excelled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
P-38 What can I say again a book I put off getting now I have it and love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
I think I returned it as I already have it in my library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 1999
Comparing to other titles of this colection, this book could be much better. It lacks coehesion and sequence, contraty to the books written by John Deal and the best of this collection, "HUrricane Aces", by TOny Holmes (who, by the way, is the editor os this series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2015
I liked it but it dosn't really matter, it was a gift for my grandson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2014
The kind of details I was looking for about the P-38 and its pilots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2011
Always overshadowed by the war in Europe, read the exploits of many forgotten heroes and aircraft crews in the Pacific theater. The P-51 wasn't Americas only top line fighter! Read about the Lockheed P-38 and its pilots in the war against Japan. A great book for history buffs and modelers!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2009
I like introduce my friend, a korean Military Aviation Researcher
in Seoul,Korea. He sent me a Review on this book as following:
During WWII,I had the chance to look at a Japanese concised handbook,
"Identification methods of Enemy,US and British Military Aircrafts"
On first page,there was a funny featured elegant twin [...], with
a fuselage pod mounted on the wing between the booms-P-38 Lightening !
It gave me deep impressions with excitement and became absentminded.
After,VJ-day,on15,Aug,1945,near the Christmas seasons, I accidenarlly
looked at the sky,a silvery white,P-38 was drawing a signs with flighting
vapors,X mas,at high altitude over the beaughtiful,blue sky,Seoul,Korea !
Bu late 1943, P-38 already proved high altitude sweeping fighter,
escorting B-17and B-24 Heavy bomber on Europian theater,medium altitude
"Dogfight" fighter,ground strafing and bombiing on Mediterian theater,
reconnaissence, and even night fighter.
In Pacific and CBI theater,first P-38 victories was two Kawanishi
flying boats kills in Aleutian Island.P-38's tactics over most strong
well knoown Japanese Navy fighter"Zero", promised long range,high speed
and enough power to climb or dive away from Zero.avoid turning in combat
from amazing maneuvrability.Japanese preferred "Dog fighting"below
the altitude,lower than 20,000ft,P-38's best choice was from higher altitude, high speed diving attack with heavier armament,1 20 mm cannon
and 4-12.7mm machine guns.straffing then fly away- "Hit and Run"technique.
Most memorable operation of P-38 was "The Yamamoto Mission"
On 14,April,1943, Nsvy intelligence intercepted Japanese Navy Admiral's
Radio tranmission of Admiral Yamamoto.US planned interception attack
with only possible long ranged available fighters of South Pacific was
P-38Gs at Henderson air field,Guadalcanal. they added special long-range external fuel tanks. On 18,April,1943,under the direction of Maj.Mitchell,
16 p-38Gs flight team flew as low altitude as possible.at 9:30AM,2 "Betty"
bombers escoted by 6 Zero was spotted.4 attacking group of P-38 attacked them,shot downed 2 "Betty" bombers and 2 Zeros.During this fighting,
Mag.Mitchel and remainig P-38G coverd higher altitude.
there are 106 Air Aces of WWII in the Pacific and CBI.
Among aces of P-38 in the pacific and CBI,Top Ace was Capt.Richard Bong
40 kills, 2nd Ace was Maj.Thomas McGuire 38 kills.
During WWII,US overall Aces are as folloting:
1) Capt. Richard Bong; total 40 Kills
2) Maj. Thomas McGuire: total 38 kills.
3) Capt. David McCampbell(USN) 34 kills.
4) CoL. Francis S.Gabreski(USAF)31 Kills.
Maj. McGuire died during dogfightng,WWII.
Capt.Bong died on Test piloting F-80 Shooting Star after WWII.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 1999
John Stanaway has authored a number of outstanding aviation books, both large and small, hard and soft cover, for various reading levels and age groups. Here is a book (100 pages or less) suited for young people who want to know the key facts about the best WWII fighter and the most important people involved with the P-38. This is also a good quick reference book for those arm-chair generals who have forgotten a fact about the Lightning and its pilots. The larger books are great and offer mountains of details and wonderful hours of reading. However, here is a book with "just the facts" in paragraph form. Its twin is the "P-38 Lightning Aces of the ETO/MTO" - get them both!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2008
The P-38 was a classic fighter from WWII. It was not an easy plane to manage. But the men who piloted it were amazing. This is an excellent book for those interested in WWII airfare and/or the pilots.

The Tommy McGuire and Dick Bong aspect of it is amazing, and this book gives them their own (very honorably earned) chapter, which is what every publication should give. They were fascinating men with nerves of steel.

Definitely recommend adding this book to your library.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse