Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: PAPUA 3D - The secret island of the cannibals (Blu-ray 3D & 2D Version) REGION FREE
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 2, 2013
Hmm... where to start? 3D it is. About Papua it is NOT.
Putting aside the 3D technology, where some credit must be given, this production is nothing short of fraudulent.
Papua - the secret islands of the cannibals... forget that discussion. Diversification of wildlife, cultures, vegetation, etc... forget that discussion. What you will get is about 90% of underwater film, which is beautiful, but NOT what this DVD is marketed to be about. Moreover, the narration (no doubt the script) sounds like it came out of the 1960s or 1970s. At times, the statements are just contradictory to the visual evidence. As the narrator explains about the people being untouched by modern society, we see kids wearing western-style uniforms, churches made of concrete, etc. Often, the narrator is still explaining a fish or coral when the visual has moved on to something else (except for extended shots of the manta and cuttlefish). This points to the editing; sub standard, at best. Scenes are obviously repeated, cutting between fish is too rapid never allowing the viewer to take in the beauty of the species (except for manta and cuttlefish, although, even then, when the rare all black manta is identified the visual is spliced away to some other fish). I could continue, but shall not for brevity.
In summary, if you want to watch a relaxing non intelligent tourist-dive-boat or travel-shop-type production of a reef, then this is the DVD for you. If you want to watch something about Papua (be that West Papua, Papua or Papua New Guinea) this is NOT the DVD to buy.
Seriously, the makers of this production should be held accountable for their deception - unless I only have been given 1 part of 10 possible episodes about Papua.
(Oh, OK, a declaration: I grew up in PNG so maybe my expectations were more than a put-me-to-sleep 3D promo of a reef).
I hope their other productions are better as I have ordered a few... oh, dear.
55 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
3D quality is low. Zero wow factor. The are many times the same loop is played over again with a different voice over. More than half of the show is underwater simply with fish swimming around. A lot is still picture. This is not National Geo quality by any means.

I didn't finish it 100% and simply threw it in the trash. I couldn't even use it to show off my 3D. I cancelled my Yellowstone Park 3D purchase which hadn't shipped yet since it appeared to be coming form the same source.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
What an absolute waste of time, effort and money, mine and theirs. I was expecting a documentary of the people with some colourful costumes, tribal dancing and great scenery. This has no story, no logical flow, no decent imagery, centres around one tiny village off the coast of eastern Papua somewhere and rarely shows any people. It repeats countless boring minutes (seems like hours) of tropical underwater footage shot around one small area of pretty boring coral reef. This has to be the worst purchase I have ever made of anything, it's even worse than my first car, which blew up after 3 days.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
This DVD is simply not worth buying or watching at any price. The writing and narration is equally as poor as the video and editing quality. Lots of low quality shots, 3D gimmicks and even repeated scenes due to poor editing. Other than being in 3D this film is like watching a low end home movie.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
Below are my judgement of this 3D video:

Pros:
Nice under water footage with tons of wild sea fish and corals
Good 3D effects
Good background audio quality although the Bass is annoying some times
Great paradise location
The movie has a setting that you can turn off the annoying narrator
Less than $10 delivered with no tax. Not bad

Cons;
Not a quite 1080p footage
Very annoying and dull narrator with a foreign accent that puts you to sleep, so turn it off at the setting.
Some of the 3d images are pretty bad on the left eye as it seems like the camera lens was dirty or foggy when recorded
Some of the images are too saturated and poor visuals
Too long video so it is difficult to keep you awake
The under water images are usually repeated over and over, same fish, same corals, etc.
More than 3/4 of the footage is underwater and a little talk about Papua nor their people culture, etc.
only fish and corals, not eels, dolphins, whales, octopus, etc. some manta rays and one turtle.

I will put this video on sale at ebay, I hope to get $5.00 for it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
I believe the above reviewers may have seen a different dvd from that delivered to me. Papua itself is poorly represented several views of the mushroom islands and the same black cockatoo about 5 times, and what is this "dancing with the natives" referred to? There were no natives on this dvd...only some giggly school chidren (shown twice) and the majority of the film was of the coral reefs, not PAPUA! As to the gentleman who viewed it 3 times and could not find the duplicated fish shots,,,view it again because they are there,,in spades,,with only a change in the boring commentary..this is a real loser of a 3d as at times the screens do not jibe giving a cross eyed experience to the viewer,,,caveat emptor..there are better coral reef films out there..the only good thing is the price..cheap but still not worth the money.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2013
I enjoy educational film and this was as expected. If you like educational film taken in places not normally visited then this film is for you. 3D is particularly fantastic for these types of educational films. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2013
The disc I received does not appear to be damaged, but the quality is VERY poor. Throughout the program, the image is fine for ~5 seconds, then blurs badly for a few seconds. When the picture was clear, the effects were good, but the constant blurring (or just poor 3D imaging) was really annoying. The audio is poor, and gets louder and softer every few minutes. I don't think it's defective, just poorly produced.

The film is also surprisingly boring; it shows the same shots over and over, and a few times when they showed a really attractive fish, they didn't say one word about it!

Some of the other reviewers had similar experiences, while others claimed they loved it (could they have been watching a different film?). This was the most disappointing 3D film I've ever seen, but Kudos to Amazon.com for their great customer service.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
Solid all the way around. Great content and image quality as well as 3d effect. I also was happy that there was only a little of the envyro-political drivel that is rampant in many other films of this type.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
It is hard to rate this product since it is a film about a sea and sea creatures. Because, I do respect nature and animals, I rate with 3 stars but in terms of the film itself and narration, let me tell you that is not very professional. It is a Little bit boring, the 3d efects are good, may be not super high quality but it is ok. If you watch other films like imax you can see the difference in terms of production. I guess the director tried hard to present a decent film, but it is lack of a story, it nees may be more action, or some detailes that other films contained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse