Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 103 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 121 reviews
on October 4, 2013
First of all, i just want to say i have put about 45 hours to payday 2, and still havent got bored of it.
The game isnt perfect, far from it, but it gives the best bank heisting feel that i have had in any games yet.
The biggest problem with payday is that they really published an unfinished game that has been patched 13 times already (and they arent small patches either) and the game still is quite choppy. About multiplayer, i really, REALLY suggest getting atleast one friend to buy this game with you, because people online are really hard to communicate with and most are obnoxious people that grief games.

TL;DR, this game is really fun bank heist game with some bugs, get friends to buy this with you and it will be atleast 40 hours of fun fun fun.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
This game is a fun romp through the eyes of four career criminals out for a score.

The entire objective of the game is to get rich. You can use these riches for better gear, weapons, or new and exotic masks for your heisters. Or you can just watch it pile up in the vault in the basement below your safehouse, which is always fun too.

The gameplay is simply four players performing various objectives, and there are a lot of different objectives, to wrest more money from whatever they are happening to hit. Sometimes the heists have multiple days, or follow a specific story. Some heists even change objectives, or even locations, depending on how you do certain days. There is a lot to do in this game, is what I'm saying.

The actual game is really fun, and a lot of the game can be played multiple ways. Most missions allow you to try to complete it stealth, or you can bring out the guns and attempt to strong arm your way through it. It really depends on how you or your crew wants to do it.

The game is still heavily being developed, and there should be at least another year of content produced for it. Not buying the mission dlc doesn't lock you out of content so long as you join someone's game who does have it. There are also weapon and fluff dlc packs, but you can generally ignore those. There's also some one time use bonuses that you can now buy, but again, you can ignore them.

The game is pretty violent. While fun, it does involve you shooting cops. Also civilians, possibly accidental. So it's not a very politically correct game. And not one I'd recommend to someone who can't discern fantasy from reality.

But it is a fun game, and if the premise doesn't bother you, then I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
It's a great game to jump into and you have a blast first jumping in... But you'll soon grow bored of doing the exact same missions over and over. The only thing that keeps this game's reliability up is playing it with friends, so if you get this game, I highly recommend you have friends who play it too, or it will soon grow to be dull once you've played every mission 10+ times .-.

Two other big issues I had with this game were also in the first game:
1. The Ally AI is horrible, they are practically useless trying to do anything stealth, it's better to go solo than to have computer ally's in this game. The only time they are useful is if you are in a firefight and to revive you...but if they weren't there to get themselves detected in the first place, then you wouldnt be HAVING the firefight.
2. The casing mode is horribly lacking, all you can do is walk around. I wish there was a way to tag out cameras, pick locks, knock out people, or something in it. It's basically just a "pre-game" walk-through of your mission of anywhere there isn't guards or cameras.

With those out of the way, it's quite a enjoyable game. I actually like the controls quite well despite others, and don't mind the small weapon selection since I focus on stealthing through missions as much as I can, I just wish they made it more fun options to BE stealthy with, instead of almost discouraging it. I really enjoyed the skill tree, I would say the skill tree and the unlockable attachments and end-mission lotto is quite well put together and enjoyable. Graphics are to par, but I don't really care all too much about that anyway.

All and all, it's a great game with a few quirks... the biggest of that being unless you have at least 2-3 friends to play this with, it gets old fast. I grabbed this when it was $10, but it's worth the full price if you have friends easily, and for $10 i'm more than happy with what I paid compared to the value of this game. Just need more friends who enjoyed the game and will still play it with me hah.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
Payday 1 would have gotten a 2-3 score for me. While it was fun, it had a TON of flaws. But this is not a Payday 1 review. My thoughts on Payday 2 are much better. All of the stuff I hated from part 1, they have fixed. Stealth is actually a viable option in most missions here. It takes great teamwork to do, but when you do it feels like such an acomplishment. The reason it didn't make 5 stars is that I feel they COULD have done things a little better. Don't let that lack of 1 star fool you though. This game is AMAZING, and while I do have some issues with the developers, they do manage to pump out new content frequently enough, and with the addition of "Infamy" levels, it has added alot of longevity to the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
If you're looking for a really fun multiplayer that requires communication and skill, I highly recommend this game. If you're looking to play it single player mostly, I can say that the AI is good to stay out of your way but doesn't take its own initiative to help you out in your plan. My boyfriend and I tend to do most of the work on our own even if we include the AI. They mostly act as bodyguards, in my opinion.

Basically, I feel multiplayer outshines single player, since you can communicate with real people and do the heist a whole lot better. I give it 4/5 stars because it could do better in having more content like the number of places to heist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2014
Game code works perfectly with steam. Game is as advertised.

WARNING: Do NOT buy if you don't have friends to play with, online players range from amazingly good, to extremely poor, with several different styles of pla, from stealth all the way to shoot anything that moves. Hackers are common, and the AI is completely useless (so the game is VERY difficult solo).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
For my part I have been greatly enjoying Payday 2, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an objective-based co-op shooter with leveling and character customization. That said, the game was released very unfinished, and still contains some serious flaws.

==The Good==
Payday 2 is more heavily class-based and incorporates far more RPG mechanics than the previous game. While picking a class in the first Payday meant nothing more than selecting which column your next bonus would come from, each of the four classes in Payday 2 serves a distinct and important role in a heist. The Mastermind class has skills for crew bonuses, intimidating, and even controlling enemies and civilians. The Enforcer has many combat bonuses and is ideal for hauling loot. The Technician has better drills, C4 for blowing open doors and safes, and sentry guns. The Ghost is a master of stealth. When you have three other friends to play regularly with and each has focused on a different tree, the game reaches its full potential. Each player has their own role, leaving you feeling like a well-oiled machine.

Heists are of varying length and complexity, which is a nice change of pace from the uniformly long and complex heists of the first Payday. New realism factors, such as loot bags that the player must pack and carry to the escape vehicle, add more depth to the game, and I enjoy their addition. The developers have toned down the zombie-horde feeling of the assaults in the first Payday - you face fewer, smarter, tougher cops, and the game feels a bit less silly as a result.

Gunplay is excellent, and with a good amount of customizability with each weapon, not to mention that there are far more weapons than the first game. You can add sights, new grips, barrel extensions, suppressors, and other accessories to each weapon, affecting its stats and feel. I find the weapon customization engrossing, although weapon mods are given as random loot upon completing levels and can take forever to find.

There is a huge amount of DLC to extend the gameplay and keep things interesting after you tire of the core content. You don't have to worry too much about how the DLC will hit your wallet - frequent sales on Steam keep the DLC fairly affordable, not to mention that Overkill releases a good amount of free "community" DLC that everyone can access.

Overall it's a really fun game, but not without its problems.

==The Bad==
(Updated February 2014)
Payday 2 started out in an obviously unfinished state, with a slew of major patches in the first few months after release. Early adopters were basically buying into a beta. Since then, the game has improved dramatically and it's much easier to recommend it. Still, there are some downsides.

One problem that has stuck with the game since launch is that enemies do not have hitboxes on their arms and legs. This is stupid and inexcusable in a modern FPS. Crashes and network issues have been significantly reduced since launch, but still crop up from time to time.

Perhaps the biggest flaw in the game is the poorly balanced heist rewards. Each completed heist rewards players with cash and XP. In theory these rewards should be roughly proportional to the time and effort involved in completing the heist. In practice, it feels like Overkill spent some time carefully balancing the payouts on half of the heists, and then used dice to balance the rest. Some of the most difficult and time-consuming heists have atrocious payouts. Other moderately difficult heists have jaw-dropping payouts. Players who want the best possible time-to-payoff ratios are going to be doing the same couple of heists over and over and over, because the other ones aren't worth doing by comparison.

Lastly, Overkill has recently been adding a large number of playable characters to the game. Part of the original mood of Payday was the close bond between the 4 crew-members. Dallas, Hoxton, Chains, and Wolf *were* the Payday gang. Now there are 8 different selectable characters, and it dilutes the character dynamics. A trivial issue to most people, but one that bothers me personally.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
The game is a great way to live the life of crime you have thought about, however some situations get redundant, and because you are constantly relying on other people games usually turn to a shoot out, there is little chance to get a covert theft. A few of the mission pay the best so you are constantly drawn to them and repeat them to level up. Difficulty doesnt seem to be accurate as some hard levels are simple while some easier levels are more difficult. Overall well developed game and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2017
This game had potential for me.. Then they decided to add paid DLC for weapons. What a bummer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
Okay let me start this is going to be a very short review of likes and don`t likes
LIKES:
Game is extremely fun(at first)
Nice graphics and low system requirements.
Good customizations

DISLIKES:
It gets tired after you finish all the stages and you will need to get all the dlcs

Should you buy??? The answer is yes even though i played about 80 hours over a period of 3 months i am looking forward to Payday 3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here