Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Fergie PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
on April 4, 2013
This book is more of a reference for those who have already learned PHP & MYSQL. I had no idea what was going on and was hoping it was a little more instructional. Stay away if you're just a beginner. This book is NOT for you.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
I bought this book while writing a web app. Although I had some previous experience, I didn't have much in PhP and the book did an excellent job of describing the basics. Similarly, with MySqL I had little experience and it really helped.
The book has you work through examples, and then has the programs written out later on so you can go look at what they did.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2010
This book is an excellent tutorial for someone who already knows how to program and wants to learn PHP and MySQL. It describes many of the callable functions available in the language, but it tells you to go to the PHO web site for a complete list of all the functions and features. The reason I bought a book is so that I can have the book open in front of me and not have to jump back and forth to the web site to look stuff up.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2015
Useless. The links provided are outdated and the software they swear you can download for free doesn't exist unless you want to buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2014
It is easy reading, as are most "Dummies" books. It really works well. It allows you to follow along and try creating php files on your local computer for later upload to your website.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
Janet is very good at taking you by the hand and showing you what you need to know about php and mysql, Even without any prior knowledge of mysql and php you will understand the book. The fact is that the book is just too good for starters! It deserves my 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2015
The product was as described and the shipping was fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2010
There are a few errors and it's plain that the database was designed by a programmer. I got it to work at [...] . I've since moved on to Learning PHP, MySQL, and JavaScript: A Step-By-Step Guide to Creating Dynamic Websites (Animal Guide). Peace.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
GREAT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2012
I'm about half way through the book and so far I have found the book very effective. It is filled with good examples of code. The book is well laid out and also spends plenty of time reviewing the basics before attempting to move on to more complicated program development. The user with some experience using statements in excel or other programs may find that a few sections of the book provide more detail than necessary but the book was developed for the beginner so that's okay. As the author states a basic knowledge of Html is assumed so if you have no Web Page scripting experience you should purchase a good Html/css book first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse