Customer Review

June 5, 2008
Before I ever picked up this book, I'll readily admit I was quite apprehensive and skeptical about its severe anti-Bush content. But after reading Vincent Bugliosi's "The Prosecution Of George W. Bush For Murder", any skepticism I had completely vanished.

As Mr. Bugliosi has said many times throughout his lengthy career as a lawyer and true-crime author, he doesn't go around accusing people of crimes or making allegations (of any kind) without having the goods (i.e., the evidence) to back up the charges he makes. To quote Bugliosi directly and verbatim on this point:

"If there's one thing I take pride in, it's that I never, ever make a charge without supporting it. You might not agree with me, but I invariably offer an enormous amount of support for my position." -- Vincent T. Bugliosi

In "The Prosecution Of George W. Bush For Murder", as is the case in all of his books (including the best and most comprehensive book ever written on the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, "Reclaiming History"), author Bugliosi pulls no punches, takes no prisoners, and lays it all out there on the table--bare--for everybody to look at. It's incredible work--once again--by the king of "CS&L" (which is my little shorthand for "Common Sense & Logic").

And as with virtually all of Vincent's books that I've had the pleasure of reading, I'm learning a lot about the law and learning a lot about my country's leaders that I did not know before VB spelled everything out in his very coherent, easy-to-read, and easy-to-understand style.

Bugliosi makes it quite clear, via an abundance of evidence (including quotes from Bush's own mouth that were uttered on live television to millions of American viewers), that President George W. Bush should be held accountable for the lives lost in the Iraq war....a war that Bush, himself, ignited for totally-bogus reasons.

It seems to me, however, that certain members of Congress (who voted to go to war in October 2002) should also take their fair share of blame as well with respect to the Iraq war*, in that the critical classified CIA report (the one that was ultimately revised and mangled by Bush's people for its "unclassified" version, with the references to Saddam Hussein NOT being an imminent threat to the security of the United States being completely deleted in the unclassified version--an inexcusable act of blatantly altering evidence if there ever was one, IMO) was right there and available for every senator and congressman to examine and scrutinize.

But evidently only a handful of Congress members bothered to even read the full NIE (National Intelligence Estimate) report that was issued by the CIA on October 1, 2002. They trusted what President Bush and his people were telling them.

But, as Mr. Bugliosi quite amply demonstrates in this book, "trusting" anything uttered by George Walker Bush regarding the subject of going to war in Iraq was a very, very grave error.

* = To Bugliosi's credit here, in this book's first endnote on page 251, Vince does hurl a (deserved) and sharply-pointed arrow at certain members of Congress when he writes: "Just a few of the many other parents of the Iraq war are the considerable number of spineless congressional Democrats who rolled over and played dead during Bush's rush to war, actually voting to authorize it."

One of the things that surprised me the most (as Mr. Bugliosi was "spoon-feeding" [as Vince is wont to say] the facts to me about George Bush's incredible laziness and ineptitude as Commander-in-Chief) is the information that Vince provides the reader beginning on page 176 of the book about how Bush did NOTHING AT ALL when confronted with the various warning signs that were popping up throughout the summer of 2001 regarding Osama Bin Laden and his band of terrorists shortly before 9/11.

The complete NON-action on the part of THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA when "the system was blinking red" and could not "get any worse", per comments made to the 9/11 Commission by CIA Director George Tenet (i.e., we're likely to be attacked by terrorists within our own shores any day now) is, as Bugliosi says in the book, enough to make your "blood boil" right there!

That inaction on the part of this laziest of all Presidents (George W. Bush) in those pre-9/11 days and months is, in my mind, practically criminal activity (or, to state it more accurately--"inactivity") all by itself.

And when coupled with what Bush did after 9/11, I almost felt as if I had entered an episode of Rod Serling's "Twilight Zone" or something -- i.e., I had to keep asking myself "How could these things possibly have occurred?" while watching Vince Bugliosi assemble all of these abominable facts relating to a person who is supposed to be one of the strongest and most-trusted individuals on the face of the planet--the President of the United States.

As VB says many times in the book, it's simply "unbelievable". But, incredibly, as Vince has shown with the raw evidence, it's true nonetheless.

As I said earlier, before reading the book I had very serious doubts about whether I was going to be able to agree with Bugliosi on this book's subject matter. And I even said that very thing in an Internet message I wrote in February 2008, three months before this book came out. I said at that time:

"I know that VB pretty much despises George W. Bush -- well, let me qualify that last statement, though, because I don't want to put words in anyone's mouth....Vince is on record (in [a] September 1, 2001, radio interview) as saying that he thinks Bush is an "embarrassment" as President. .... But I must admit, that the heavy title of that new book really took me by surprise ("The Prosecution Of George W. Bush For Murder") when I first noticed it. .... I'll probably buy the book, but based on its title ONLY, I'm not too sure that I'm going to fully agree with everything in it. (And I'm certainly no GW Bush cheerleader myself.) .... But, then again, I might end up eating those last words I just wrote. You never can tell--because VB is the King of "CS&L", IMO. So he might just be able to convince me that our current President is actually guilty of "murder" (somehow). But that might be taking things a bit too far, in my view. But, we'll see." -- David Von Pein; February 21, 2008

Hey, does anybody out there have some ketchup? Because I'm ready to start eating those words I said in February.

===========================

A FEW VINCENT BUGLIOSI (VB) QUOTES:

"No political figures in American history ever so shamelessly exploited a war for political advantage as much as [George W. Bush, Karl Rove, and Dick Cheney]. .... Bush is obviously not a man of stature. He's a spoiled, callous brat who became president only because of his father's good name. And Rove is a pasty, weak-faced, and mean-spirited political criminal. ....

"These two [Bush and Rove] are human embarrassments, and it's written all over their faces who they are. There's nothing of substance and character on the inside of either of these two "men" for their faces to reflect." -- VB; Page 44 of "The Prosecution Of George W. Bush For Murder" (Vanguard Press)(c.2008)

~~~~~~~~

"Because of what [George] Bush said in his State of the Union address [on January 28, 2003], America could only think that there was a strong possibility that [Saddam] Hussein was planning a nuclear attack on us, exactly what Bush and his people wanted them to believe to build up their claim of self-defense...in going to war.

"The information was phony and the Bush administration had been told it was phony, but Bush and his people decided to lie to the American public to drag them into a horrendous war. ....

"Has any American president, ever, engaged in such monumentally criminal and deadly activity? No. Indeed, I don't believe any other president would even have dreamed of doing such a thing.

"If all of the above, enough to enrage a saint, doesn't make your blood boil, it's only because you are a bloodless wonder, and belong as a feature exhibit at the Smithsonian." -- VB; Pages 129-130 of "The Prosecution Of George W. Bush For Murder" (Vanguard Press)(c.2008)

~~~~~~~~

"I must...make an observation about a phenomenon that is terribly vapid and irrational, one that is almost solely responsible for the great favor with which the American people viewed Bush, giving him the Oval Office a second time. Bush's approval rating at the time of 9/11 was around 50 percent. Since 9/11 happened on his watch it should have dropped to 10 percent overnight. That is, if we're talking logic and common sense. ....

"But a different reality took over that I've seen over and over again. You see, most everyday Americans don't seem to know, the media doesn't know, even the 'New York Times' editorial board doesn't know that CREDIT NECESSARILY IMPLIES A CHOICE.

"You don't give anyone any credit for something he had no choice but to do. But apparently not too many people have enough common sense to realize this. ....

"All Bush had to say was that he intended to go after those responsible for 9/11...and almost the entire nation swooned, and his approval rating soared to an astronomical 90 percent almost overnight. (In fact, in the Gallup poll's annual survey of Americans in 2001, 39 percent chose Bush as the man they admired most in the entire world, the highest ranking any man had ever received since Gallup started asking the question...in 1948.)

"But what else could he have said--that he was NOT going to go after these people? .... Or that he was going to seek justice for 9/11 by going after whale hunters in Alaska?

"Obviously, he said the ONLY thing he could say, the ONLY thing that you, I, or anyone else would have said. Yet virtually the entire American public, Republicans and Democrats alike, thought Bush was the greatest thing since sliced bread. ....

"It's hard to see how Bush could possibly have been more negligent and irresponsible in defending this nation against terrorism prior to 9/11. So when 9/11 happened, the nation should have been thoroughly disgusted with him. .... Instead...Bush miraculously [became] a hero of 9/11. So much of a hero, in fact...he showed footage of 9/11 as part of his television ads for reelection. UNBELIEVABLY, BUSH WAS ADVERTISING HIS BIGGEST FAILURE." [All emphasis Bugliosi's.] -- VB; Pages 196-197 and 204 of "The Prosecution Of George W. Bush For Murder" (Vanguard Press)(c.2008)

~~~~~~~~

"Karen [an angry caller who phoned in during a radio program to rake Bugliosi over the coals] doesn't care....she loves George Bush....she doesn't care whether he committed murder or not." -- VB; May 30, 2008; Via radio interview on KHOW (Denver, Colorado)

===========================

FINAL THOUGHT:

"The Prosecution Of George W. Bush For Murder" is a disturbing book indeed. There can be no doubt about that. But it's a book that needed to be written. And I want to thank Vincent Bugliosi for writing it. I applaud him loudly for the immense courage that it took to write the scathing words that appear within the 352 pages of this book.

David Von Pein
June 2008
review imagereview imagereview image
40 people found this helpful
22 comments Report abuse Permalink

Product Details

4.3 out of 5 stars
337
$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime