Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Final Fantasy XIV Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on November 3, 2013
3M indoor insulation window plastic is better to handle and a better product than Frost brand. I think this is because it is heavier. The tape is 100% better than Frost. I ordered an extra roll of tape and 2 packages. I didn't want to run out of either while putting up the insulation. If left over you can always use it next year.
No matter the company, cutting a bolt of plastic to fit windows is still awkward. Make sure to leave the 1" around the window. It won't tighten as well if not cut wide enough. (Empirical knowledge)
Overall 3M is a much better product than Frost and way less expensive than putting in new windows.
If you have never done this before, and live in an upcoming Winter climate, start now. It is time consuming and there is a learning curve.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2015
Works great. Used another brand from Home Depot last year and it was terrible, didn't stick at all. This stuff is much easier to work with. I mean, all window kits of this nature are a real pain to apply, don't get me wrong... This one just seems to be much less painful to deal with than others. We are in a very old rental house built around 1910 so this stuff is a lifesaver In the winter, and actually stays up as much as possible year-round. Just be sure you clean up the window sills prior to taping it on, maybe even wipe with alcohol.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
This stuff is excellent. The people who say the tape doesn't stick, work, etc are NOT cleaning the application area properly.
Clean the area the tape is to be applied to with rubbing alcohol on a paper towel and let dry completely. If the paper towel comes up really dirty, clean the dirty area again. I did this and have had NO problem at all. It is very easy to reposition the plastic for a tight fight and using a blow dryer takes out all the wrinkles, just as stated.

It really keeps the rooms quite a bit warmer in the cold winters here: 10 degrees F outside
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
I bought a few packages of the window insulators to winterize my condo a little better. It's very old with glass single-pane horizontal sliding windows, so heating is terrible. The panes where the metal frame is flush worked great and have been "stretchy" for about 2 weeks, but the windows on the side didn't hold up. I tried using duct tape as a reinforcement, but to no avail. I'd recommend these if you have traditional wood frames or windows where the frames are on a single plane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2014
All good. We get -5C in Canberra; use it. And seal sliding windows. Only problem is grandchildren. Maybe small electric current to keep prying fingers off.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
Living in Tucson, AZ in a slump block home with lovely single pane steel casement windows. This doesn't solve the problem completely, but it cuts the convection express of cold air that kept the floors freezing! My toes are ever so grateful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
Every year I use this film to enclose my screened in backporch, turning into a greehouse for the winter. The temperature, heated by the sun only, is in the 80's everyday; the tropical plants thrive in there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2013
Easy to apply, yet strong and durable to last throughout the Northeast winters. Best of all, it helps save on our heating bills! Have tried other brands that were cheaper, but always came back to 3M.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
Worked really well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
After the blowdryer removes the wrinkles, you can barely see it. I may leave it up all year round to keep the heat out in the summer. When I raise the blinds, I can look directly outside with no obstruction. Love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here