Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 2 Pack Survival Kit Can Opener, Military, P-51 Model
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 15, 2013
Item is in fact a "P-51" can opener and made by US Shelby; however, the actual item is not what is pictured. The picture is of a real
P-51, made of quality steal with a sharp blade for easy opening. What I received was a thin, aluminum, over-sized knockoff. The metal is thin and bends easily. The blade? The edges of the opener itself were nearly as sharp. Difficult to open even an aluminum can. The price is cheap, but the quality is cheaper. Don't waste your money; buy a 10 penny nail and find a rock.
The current picture is what I received. Truth-in-marketing, but still crazy-inferior product.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2016
The can openers I received were the same as the ones in the picture, measuring two inches long, ridged with two indentations, and stamped with US Shelby Co. They are the larger P-51 model, and are in fact much easier to use than the smaller P-38's. These can openers do not replace the ease-of-use of a standard hand-crank can opener. They are surprisingly easy to use, but are best for backup, camping, backpacking, or prepping applications. If you're a prepper, buy as many of these as you need: they're close enough to the real deal, and at a good value too. The metal is not as rugged as it once was (you can see a little rust on one of them in my pictures), but mine were certainly not "bendable" and would hold up well in a survival situation. Best of all, the price is low enough that you can afford to get as many as you should, and stash them everywhere you can think. Everyone should own a few of these, no exceptions. Scenario: road is flooded, eroded, blocked, jammed or otherwise impassible for 1+ days. You have not just been to the grocery store. Or you have, and the power goes out, causing your refrigerated food to spoil. The only safe, palatable thing to eat is rolling around in the back of your pantry. Your everyday can opener, cheap piece of crap that it is, is broken, or lost, or stolen. What to do?

To use:

1. Pull the blade out. Place the point of the blade on top of the can, as far to the edge as possible. There is a sharp little slot next to the blade. While keeping the blade on top of the can, slide this slot down under the rim of the can, catching the lip-rim firmly inside the slot.

2. While keeping the slot caught under the rim, use the can opener as a lever, pushing away from yourself into the top of the can, slicing into it with the blade.

3. Pull the blade out of the can

4. Repeat steps 1-3, puncturing a second hole clockwise from the first.

5. Continue puncturing contiguous holes until you've worked the lid off.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
The product in the picture look like tough military grade metal - what came was shiny and thin - like a pop-top in finish and quality - highly disappointed....
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
This is cheap little piece of metal.....doent look anything like the picture ....DONT BUY THIS if ya plan on using it !!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2012
the pic shows wat i wanted....Real P-51, got knock offs instead. the order took a long time to come and had to be RE-SENT???? i did get two knock off p-51 in the mail in about 3 weeks.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
I received these today and they aren't stamped "U.S. shelby co." as shown in picture. They are *very* lightly stamped "US". I doubt these were made in the U.S. as the metal feels cheap and no American company would simply stamp their product with "US". I uploaded a picture of this which can be found in the customer images. Mine came from AJ Collectibles, which I would recommend avoiding. It seems the ones shipped from Survivalist USA might be of better quality with the US shelby co. stamping. Good luck.
review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
These P-51's work well. I don't know if they're really military grade openers but they do work well. They're a handy item to use on your keyring for camping or fishing outings. I just wish someone would remove the picture of the P-38 from the product description, It just confuses people as to which one of these openers they are ordering.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2016
Works as intended. If you don't know how to use them, you have first to watch a youtube video (which was my case). After two or three cans, you learn the thing, and it becomes really easy and fast. The small size makes the can opener easy to move around. I received two of them. On is in my kitchen and the other in my back bag. Much cheaper than a regular can opener for almost a quarter of the price (because it is two of them).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
i doubt this is military, at least i hope it is not. when i got these i wane d to make sure they worked, I tried to open a can of green beans. the opener BROKE and sliced my thumb. Now just to be clear, i have owned, and used G.I. can openers since the early 60s when i was in Boy Scouts. I would not allow one of these thing in my Jeep. tHE OTHER MADE IT TO THE TRASH
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
Useless junk you don't get the item pictured…… Don't waste your time or money because I already did it for you! Your Welcome
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here