Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$16.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 170 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 269 reviews
on October 24, 2013
This book illustrates the most natural way to teach geography to children. It is an older book and there is a reason it is still around. It's "flowing" story begins from one boy's curiosity about where the water in streams go. After hearing the explanation of how rivers from his area flow into the Great Lakes and eventually into the Atlantic Ocean, he crafts a small sea worthy, wooden canoe, places a miniature Native American passenger in it, and launches the canoe from a melting ice flow. The journey begins in one of the most northern streams in America. "Paddle to the Sea", the name of his canoe travels along the water's edge, where the tides and storms direct. While passing settlements and landscapes, both beautiful and serene, as well as wild and treacherous, the little canoe encounters many adventures. Children will sit on the edge of their seats as the vivid words capture their imaginations and they enjoy the lively exciting illustrations. "Paddle to the Sea" is an 'accessible' taste of the past, and a little flavor of what our country is like. The concepts in this book are 'accessible' to children as children learn best through pictures, whether it is through the words in the story that paint pictures, or the vivid illustrations. This book has both. "Paddle to the Sea"is a well told adventure that will capture the attention of any 8 year old child or older. Parents will enjoy sharing this book with their child as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
I have had this book since the first edition came out. Loved the story and enjoyed the experience recently when we passed through the town on Lake Superior where the story starts. I gave my old worn copy to my son who has 4 boys about the age when my grandmother gave it to me. I bought the new one to give to my other sons oldest boy. His three children (almost 4 now) will get to read it and learn about the Great Lakes and people. It is a great story for kids with lots about the lakes and living in that era as sub surface extras. I am 82 now and the story is still good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 12, 2005
I remember encountering Paddle to the Sea as a second grader in Oregon. It's one of those books that was shared during library day, and I still haven't forgotten it. It was significant to me as a child, and it's still significant today. It's the wonder and amazement of how a wooden carved canoe with its lone Indian paddler referred to as "Paddle" could journey from his origins, Nipigon Country, to the Sea towards the Grand Bank and France, could confront eye-popping experiences. Paddle sees the serene sounds of the cool Canadian waters, and the bewilderment of man's progress with a sawmill and its smoke-pipe buildings, which author, Holling Clancy Holling, ferociously describes as a monster eating away nature's domain -- tearing down trees and running an assembly line of log jams.

Despite that scene, Paddle to the Sea contains imagery and imagination, which makes the book memorable. The artwork is great, and Holling's very descriptive language and familiarity of geography makes this book a learning experience. I found chapter 24 to be quite interesting because of its short snippet of history -- the discovery of the Great Lakes region, Champlain "the Father of New France" and the Iroquois. Every chapter in the book, all twenty seven, covers each different region that Paddle flows through, and bears significance to how the free-flowing waters, be it Lake Superior or the crashing waters of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, cannot stop a wooden canoe and its Indian paddler from riding through.

Every child should read Paddle to the Sea, or have it read to them. And as for older children or adults that still want to revisit their curiosity of imagination, they will definitely find it unforgettable. You never forget about the books that touch you in some way.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
An amazing story that takes a child all through the great lakes! My 8 year old son LOVES this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
A wonderful heartfelt tale that kept my wife and child enthralled throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2015
We used this book as a geography study when my son was in 1st grade. He loved it. He couldn't wait to read a chapter each week. He learned a lot about the Great Lakes and still remembers a lot about them. He will be in 3rd grade soon. We homeschool and Amblesideonline.com recommended this book in Year 1. There is also a Paddle to the Sea movie available to watch on You Tube, for free, if you are interested. My son enjoyed that too, even though it was low budget.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
Amazing!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Beautiful illustrations but there's very little narrative to this story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2005
Filled with beautiful illustrations, a captivating story that will fill any child, boy or girl, with wonder, and create a great appreciation for the majesty of the Great Lakes and the lore of the north country. I'm a 70 year old woman who still remembers it well and was delighted to discover it still in print and available at amazon.com. I just send a copy to my son-in-law who lives on Lake Erie and he loved it! It's a treasure!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2014
I first read Paddle To The Sea when I was in the third grade (63 years ago). Paddle was published in 1941 as a story for children. The actions described are what would have been expected of people living in that innocent time between wars. The illustrations are as beautiful as I remembered.

If you want to visit, or revisit, that simpler time please take the time to read this story
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here