Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Painting Butterflies & Blooms with Sherry C. Nelson
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2010
I have purchased quite a few of Sherry Nelson's other books and found them excellent. This book I found disappointing. The diagrams of the intricate parts of the butterfly body and wing might have been fine for a butterfly anatomy class - but not an art painting book. But I could have ignored that if, on each instruction page, they had put a straight line from the part of the butterfly wing or butterfly body the author was referring to and the text describing how to paint that area.

Unfortunately, they did not do that! Instead, the reader was expected to thumb back to the labeled butterfly diagram in the front of the book, just so you could understand each painting instruction. That was a total turn off for me. I was also disappointed on the size of the butterfly images inside the book. Had they been larger it would have been a lot easier to follow the instructions on how to paint that area. I have enormous respect for Sherry Nelson as an artist and a teacher. I think it is a shame the book was laid out in a way that was not what I would call 'user-friendly'
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2010
Painting Butterflies & Blooms offers a lovely step-by-step process packed with visual examples and basic directions for transferring designs and painting butterflies, flowers and moths of all colors and sizes. Each butterfly is painted showing foliage part of its native habitat and reference photos and design specs abound, making this a top presentation.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2015
Wow, this was a much bigger book than I thought it would be. Gives very concise detailed instructions on painting the butterflies & also shows a photo of the actual butterfly in the wild. Book is top quality with vivid colors & beautiful pictures. I loved it but Sherry Nelson never disappoints. I have many of her books & will happily add this to my decorative painting library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
Painting Butterflies & Blooms is a great book with both butterflies and flowers. Anyone who is looking for a book on painting the different variety or species of butterflies can not go wrong with this how to guide book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 29, 2016
Painting Butterflies & Booms by Sherry Nelson is a lovely book with clearly written directions. There are two drawbacks of this book. The first drawback is the drawings are too small. It would have been nice if the drawings were larger in size making it easier to see the drawing. The second drawback is the Kindle version of this book. The Kindle version includes all the drawings, available for tracing and transferring to your surface, except this is impossible to do, if you are using the Kindle version. It's too bad links were not provided for readers to use to access the patterns on an Internet site.

Some of the projects you'll find in Nelson's book include:

Pale Swallotail
California Marble
Western Pygmy Blue
Monarch
Red Peacock
Common Checkered Skipper
Walter's Silkmoth
Saucy Beauty Tiger Moth

There is an interactive table of contents making navigation easy.

Recommend with caveats given.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
While the paintings of butterflies are beautiful, I do not like tracing designs nor do I need a history lesson in all the parts of a butterfly in order to paint one. I painted one design in the book without tracing it, and it turned out ok.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2010
If you love butterflies and flowers, you will love this book. Sherry will show you how to paint,using easy to understand demos,explaining in detail how to achieve satisfying results. Identifying the different species up-close will bring the reader a better understanding of these lovely creatures. You will agree that her years of painting experience and study of nature has made her an expert because Sherry always goes beyond the obvious. This is a beautiful reference and instuctional manual.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
If you like butterflies and flowers you'll love this book. Easy to follow instructions. the back of the book contains several step by steps... the lay out is good. the only drawback is that you will need to enlarge the patterns. I use a simple projector, but you can always photo copy them larger with out one. would have been really nice to have a separate section with all the patterns. Over all it is well worth the price. I also use it as a reference for other paintings. one last comment is that she goes step by step and actually places the brush where you need to go. very worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2012
I love this book. I have painted some butterfly houses for a Maswter Gardener fundraiser based on species in this book and her step by step instructions made it so easy and fun and I am proud of them. NOT always the caswe with some of my artistic endeavors! LOL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
This is a very good and informative book for painting butterflies. The vendor shipped this book very fast. Would buy from them again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse