Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 22 reviews
on March 26, 2017
Paloma is the fifth installment in the Retrieval Artists, a science fiction mystery series following former detective Miles Flint. The series starts with The Disappeared, but since each book is a stand alone mystery, you could theoretically read them independently.

Miles Flint used to be a detective working for the police force of Armstrong, a domed city on the moon. Then he bought a business from a woman named Paloma and became a retrieval artist, someone who goes looking for people who’ve gone into hiding due to alien laws at the behalf of relatives or others who don’t want them to be officially found. Since becoming a retrieval artist, Paloma has acted as a mentor and an adviser for Miles. At the start of the book, he receives an emergency message and arrives at her apartment to find a crime scene. Paloma has been murdered. Miles always looked up Paloma, but with her death he’s finding out that she’s not the woman he thought he was. Paloma had a dark side.

One of my favorite things about this series is when it includes aliens and alien cultures. For trade reasons, humans have entered an alliance with other human species that means when humans break a law in alien controlled space, they are liable to prosecution and punishment under alien laws. And given the vast differences between humans and alien species, what aliens consider a crime is not always fathomable to humans. To escape alien justice, people hire a Disappearance Agency who gives them a completely new identity somewhere else. Aliens and alien cultures don’t play a large role in this installment of the series, but the details of the situation are a part of the mystery. While I miss the inclusion of aliens, the exploration of Paloma’s past made up for the lack.

Since the very first book, the series has also included sections from the POV of Noelle DeRicci, who was Miles’s partner when he was on the police force. No longer a detective, DeRicci’s role in the series feels uncertain. She had less page time than ever before, even if she did still have a presence. The two other POV characters are a current detective and a reporter. I think I remember them from prior books, and it’ll be interesting to see if they remain in future ones. I do wonder if all of these sections were necessary. While I like Noelle DeRicci, did she really have a part to play in the plot? Same goes for the reporter. It’s possible that Rusch wanted to keep them fresh for future installments, but I don’t know what they were adding to this one.

With Paloma’s death, the only real friend Miles has left is Noelle, and that connection looks like it may be growing tenuous. Additionally, the revelations regarding Paloma may warn him off from trusting too many other people. I want to see where this goes, even if it takes me forever to track down the next installment in the series. My pacing for this series has been about a book a year, but I’ll see if I can speed it up.

I consider The Retrieval Artist to be a criminally under-known science fiction series, and if you have any interest in a mystery science fiction series, I encourage you to give it a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2012
I have long been a Kristine Kathryn Rusch fan! Her short stories in Asimov's, Ellery Queen and Alfred Hitchcock always left me wanting more. The Retrieval Artist Books do just that give you a punch and leave you with things to think about. Or at least I do ie: would I have left things the way they were or would I have tried something different?

Paloma is the 5th in the Retrieval Artist Novels and it starts off with a BANG! Miles Flint has been off moon hiding out since his last case (he says he was on vacation but the last case bothered him so he left to reconsider what he was going to do) as he comes back to the Moon's surface he is hit with a message from Paloma (she sold him her Retrieval business) pleading, NO begging him to come and help her.
He rushes to her condo and finds police tape everywhere.

I will not ruin what happens but as Miles begins to unravel Paloma and all that she taught him he is thrown into a web of lies and inconsistencies that he finds hard to reconcile.
Paloma put him into a situation by naming him her heir thus pitting him against her children, he didn't know she had any, the legal system and some alien assassins.
As Miles wades through all the inconsistencies that turn out to be Paloma what he finds truly shatters his image of her and all that he thought she stood for.

I think this story brings to light those things that so many of us do. Many times we put on rose colored glasses and see only what we want to see. When cracks begin to form and the glasses come off the illusions are lost and now you have to deal with what is left.

If you have been enjoying the series like I have you will find Paloma a great read full of twists and turns!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
Enjoyable set of stories, Rush is always a fund and quick read. A bit formalistic, and the character development is superficial, but ideas are interesting and the pace is good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2015
This series took me by surprise and I am actually purchasing these - kindle and audible - as none of the libraries around here have them. I HATE to spend money and would so rather I could get it free from the library so: FAIR WARNING - these are really addictive. Read them in order too. You will have to have them all. Oh my purse is groaning! and yeah I am posting this same review for each book I've bought so far as it applies to most.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
The revelations about Paloma- Flint's mentor in the Retrieval business- were stunning. Things get complicate. OK, MORE complicated.

This is one of the most intelligent series I'm following.

This book is NOT the place to start, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
Book was one of the best in the series. Updated April 24th.

I read on kindle format, which worked quite well.

Also, seller did reimburse me. so satisfied. Thx again.

*****

[original review]

Don't buy from this seller. Cheap but total price was $5 with shipping.

They decided to ship a book where the user of this former library book that was sold to me decided to fill in all the os with a felt tip pen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2009
Paloma (2006) is the fifth SF novel in the Retrieval Artist series, following Buried Deep. In the previous volume, DeRicci got another promotion. Flint discovered who murdered the woman on Mars and the Disty took care of the matter. Bowles got a public putdown from the Governor-General.

In this novel, Miles Flint is a Retrieval Artist on the Moon. He had been traveling for some months now, but he decides to return home.

Noelle DeRicci is now the Moon Security Chief for the United Domes. Her prompt restrictions on the fleeing Disty saved the Moon from riots and other forms of panic. She owes these efforts to a call from Flint.

Paloma is the woman who sold Flint her business. She had also taught him everything he knows about the Retrieval Artist profession. She had even loaned her spaceyacht to him in a previous case.

Bartholomew Nyquist is a detective in the Armstrong Police Department. He is a loner, never keeping a partner very long. He also doesn't like politics.

Ki Bowles is a news media journalist. She is employed by InterDome Media, but has lost many of her privileges since the DeRicci debacle. She needs to think about her career.

In this story, Noelle has an office overlooking the bombsite near the Armstrong Dome. It reminds her that she has to keep abreast of the threats facing the Moon. She considers Flint as a good friend, even if he is skirting the edge of the laws.

Flint returns to his office to discover it covered in moondust. The dust has come in through the cracks in the permaplast walls. Apparently, his filtration system failed during the past few months. While he is viewing his dust covered office, Flint receives an emergency message from Paloma.

When he arrives at Paloma's apartment, Flint finds the police have occupied the building. Apparently he had been noticed on the way, for Nyquist meets him outside at the police line. Flint asks to visit the crime scene and Nyquist allows him to enter. There is a slight argument over the protective covering -- which can be used either to keep debris away from the crime scene or to protect evidence inside the wrapping -- but Nyquist agrees to let him keep the suit.

Climbing to the ninth floor, Flint finds the lobby splattered with blood and other organic substances near the elevator. The blood leads back into the living room. Paloma's body is crumpled near the window.

Flint realizes that Paloma had been killed in the lobby and brought back to the window. He wonders what the spatters on the wall are and finds that the police techs are wondering the same thing. The systems in the building had called a hazmat alert because of the biological goo. This had caused the evacuation and the first calls to the police.

When Flint left the apartment, he carried the protective suit to the Emmeline, his yacht. There he finds Bowles lingering near his ship. He asks her what she is doing there and refuses to let her use any shots or audio of him. Bowles states that she wasn't looking for him and leaves when he insists.

Then Flint visits the Dove, Paloma's yacht. He learns that he is allowed entry to anyplace on the ship. In the control room, a holo appears and plays a last message from Paloma. He finds that she has left her estate to him.

The hologram also informs him that Paloma had been Lucianna Stuart, a founding partner in Wagner, Stuart and Xendor. WSX is the premier law firm on the Moon and has subsidiaries and associates throughout Alliance Space. It also tells him that another ship -- the Lost Seas -- is owned by her and contains more files.

This tale involves a group of alien assassins -- the Bix -- who have been searching for Lucianna Stuart. Aliens are baffled by legal name changes. So the Bix were not searching for someone named Paloma.

Yet they apparently have found her, maybe on a tip from her son. Now Nyquist is looking for Claudius Wagner, Paloma's husband and the father of Justinian and Ignatius Wagner.

This story is mostly about the humans, but the Bix initiate the whole tale. The next novel in this series is Recovery Man. Read and enjoy!

Highly recommended for Rusch fans and for anyone else who enjoys tales of private investigations, alien societies, and personal relationships.

-Arthur W. Jordin
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2015
The Retrieval Artist series is gripping. The characters have depth and continue to develop. An intriguing universe which has many moral twists..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
Warning this series really should be read in sequence to avoid losing some nice moments with spoiler information. I really can not decide which character is really the protagonist on the series. There are a lot of intersting ones!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
Great service and product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse