Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Panasonic VIERA TC-L24X5 24-Inch 1080p 60Hz Full HD LCD TV
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Chris Staples Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2012
I purchased this TV during the black Friday lightning rounds. I was among the many that didn't realize the limitations of the TV before buying. Because Amazon has both the 24 and 32 inch models on the same page it is easy to misread what you are actually getting. Amazon should separate the reviews and customer pictures for each model so that people don't anticipate something that they aren't actually getting. I should have done more research and read the specs from Panasonic's website as well...

That being said, it was a $159 set and I really like almost everything about it.

Pro's
24inch is 1080P
Game mode makes picture much better (Picture is sharp and bright)
Quite thin
Low power consumption

Con's
Only 1 HDMI input (thought that there were more because of the 32 in reviews)
Picture quality and viewing angles could be slightly better (But then again, this is a sub $200 TV)
NOT LED (Again the way that both the 32in (LED) and the 24in (LCD) are combined in the same page one would assume that both are LED, but unfortunately this is not the case.)

So my advice to anyone considering this TV, buy it as long as you are OK with 1 HDMI and are looking for a 1080P panel. LED is missing, but LCD is fine. Good luck finding something comparable for the price, it's not easy to do.
22 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
A fair performer and a fair to good value for the price.

As of June 2012 Panasonic doesn't even list this model, or any 24", on it's web site anymore even though it's a 2012 model. The move is to larger models (e.g, 32"). So if you want the smaller 24" size, you might want to shop around for price and buy now before these become as scarce as CRTs. This is a decent TV. Not a lot of settings but more than enough for most folks and the defaults will probably serve most folks well.

The tiny loudspeakers sound like the tiny loudspeakers that are put in all these thin, low real estate TVs. This won't sound like your home theater system unless you plug the audio output form the TV into your receiver. Otherwise, it's going to sound like all the other TVs and laptops with tiny, tinny, loudspeaker.

There is only one HDMI input so this might best be mated with a single BD/DVD/network-link player or game/movie-streaming device.

The good news, it doesn't buzz incessantly like my Samsung znd hasn't committed electrical suicide like my LG.

Btw, order your HDMI cable from amazon when you order the TV -- no point running over to, say, Best Buy, in the car at the last minute and paying $30, $40, $60 for an HDMI cable -- the Amazon cables that cost $1-$10 will work just fine.
1010 comments| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
Please note that the star ratings here are combined for the 32" model and the 24" model. If you separate them, you see that the 32" model is really quite a bit better. I added up about 50 of the most recent reviews and found these average star ratings:
32" model: 4.7
24" model: 3.5
Plus nearly all of all the 1 and 2 star reviews are for the 24" model.

What this means is that you can get a really fine 32" LED TV here for an amazing price!

The picture is GREAT! I bought the 32" model about 10 days ago, on sale at BestBuy. In the store, this Panasonic's picture quality easily beat out every other 32" LED TV on display, including the Samsung 4003 which was sitting right next to it and had a MUCH less good picture. It was also better than the Samsung UN32E5000. I've been just as pleased with the TV at home. The picture is clear, full, rich, but also nuanced--you see subtle shadings that the competition doesn't have.

The sound isn't great, but it's good. (It's the 24" model reviews that call the sound "tinny"). The max volume is a little less than I would have expected, but fine for my needs.

The TV is ultra slim and well built--backed with a metal plate rather than the plastic you see on most of the competition. I checked reliability ratings for different TV manufacturers and Panasonic still rates near the top. From the outside at least, this TV looks like it will last well.

So far, I love this TV!
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
I identified this TV at the local electronic store. Loved the image and it was the only one with a real thin profile. They were soldout. It gave me the opportunity to compare this Panasonic with the LG and the Samsung. While the latest were both brighter, the colors were not true. The Panasonic was standing out. Even my 11 y.o. son saw the difference.

Pricing is very decent as well.

Love it.
33 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2012
So after a few weeks of research i decided to purchase this set for mostly gaming etc. I play mostly fighting games (PS3 at 720p)which are very sensitive to input lag and so far i am very pleased. Once i have the vga cables i ordered i will be able to get a proper lag test complete.

All in all for a $350 dollar set it is a good buy. Colors look nice once adjusted and decent black lvls. The one down side so far is the audio which many have posted about in their reviews. Its not terrible ...but i would grade it a C at best. The 32' version has 3 hdmi, optical out, and a usb reader which will play mp3, mp4 etc.

For the price and what you get...no complaints so far. If i can, i will upload with input lag test later down the line.

Update: as promised i wanted to update some of the input lag info I did some test via VGA cables and was able to get roughly sub 16-30ms lag which is acceptable for almost an game including shooters and fighting games which suffer the most from this problem. I will attempt to ad the screen shot from my test as well in the photo section
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2012
Compared this TV to Samsung and Toshiba 32" LED TVs at BB. No comparison on color and picture quality. Panasonic stood out so far it was not a contest! Loved the 178 degree viewing angle which the others could not come close to. Bought on Amazon and had it in 2 days! Great TV and the remote has all the controls you need but does not overwhelm you! Don't look at the others, just buy the Panasonic. You can get a cheaper TV but you are wasting your money! You can not beat it on picture quality!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
The picture is outstanding. Viera has the same number of pixels across and up and down as the larger flatscreens. But due to the smaller size the resolution is far sharper for the eyes.

The sound is not very good. But frankly, all these flatscreens have crummy sound even if they are four times the size of this Viera. You will have to have self powered speakers that connect with RCA plugs if you want to tweak the sound of this Viera.

It is easy to tote around. It weighs like, I guess about 16 pounds if that.

It can take a USB flash drive or SDHC card in a USB adapter and do your photographs. The video seems to be somewhat of anomaly. It can not do AVI files which I find absurd. The video must be for home pictures. The music playback at this point in time is a mystery.

Got this for an associate. This TV has an outstanding picture. If you want to watch TV and little else this is a real bargain.

Fast delivery with Prime. Good Xmas present.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2012
I look at many 32" LED and LCD TVs but the Panasonic had the best picture and color of them all. The sound is OK but I plan to eventually get a soundbar at some point. The LED TVs are thinner than LCD so that means small speakers. This Panasonic Viera TC-L32X5 was also the narrowest 32" TV that I found. That was important to me as my entertainment / TV armoire cabinet is only 31.25" wide - many of the TVs I looked at would not fit. I'm very pleased with this TV and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a 32" LED/LCD TV.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2012
Just received this tv today and it has the best picture of all! You won't go wrong with all the connections, the low wattage at 33.8 & the coolness of the back. Awesome in 720 or 1080 i or p right out of the box.
I took my time in selection and after reviewing every 32 inch tv out there, I settled on this brand new 2012 Panasonic & you should consider this if in the market for a new tv.
Peace
77 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
I bought this TV during the black Friday lightning deals week to replace a 22" LG that I used both as PC monitor and TV

Pros:
Slim
Light
Nice glossy bezel
Great TV image quality in HD and even SD channels look good
Speakers are good, you just need to modify factory settings, as they are set to 50% volume

Cons:
One HDMI input only
Not full HD resolution using a VGA cable (highest resolution is 1366 by 768)
Hard to get the screen to show 1920 by 1080 correctly when connecting the PC via HDMI: first desktop was cropped, then it had black bars on top, bottom and sides.
Proper display was achieved by updating video card drivers and then using scaling option
(My previous monitor did not need any additional configuration to display its maximum resolution correctly)

Additional comments:
The pictures shown in description are misleading, they belong to a 32" TV, which does have 3 HDMI inputs
This is not a LED TV, it is LCD

Best thing to do is downloading its owner's manual before you buy it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here