Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $7.95
  • Save: $2.95 (37%)
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Panda Bear, Panda Bear, W... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Extremely worn copy, but still a functional read.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book Board book – July 11, 2006

4.6 out of 5 stars 174 customer reviews

See all 29 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Board book
"Please retry"
$5.00
$3.93 $0.01

$5.00 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book
  • +
  • Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? (Brown Bear and Friends)
  • +
  • Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See? Board Book (Brown Bear and Friends)
Total price: $16.10
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Fans of Bill Martin Jr. and Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? and Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? will be delighted to see another title in this lilting call and response series. Much like their earlier picture books, Panda Bear features a string of fine feathered (and furry and scaly) friends watching over each other. In this book, however, all the animals are endangered, from a swinging spider monkey to a strutting macaroni penguin (kids will get a kick out of that name!) to a splashing sea lion. Carle’s trademark tissue paper collages will be as familiar--and welcome--as the text ("Whooping Crane, Whooping Crane, what do you see?" "I see a black panther strolling by me."); young readers will quickly get the hang of the rhythm and join right in. The book concludes on a hopeful note, with a dreaming child seeing the ten f! eatured animals "all wild and free--/ that’s what I see!" Martin includes a note on endangered species that may spark concern and interest in older readers--our hope for these disappearing creatures. (Ages 3 to 8) --Emilie Coulter --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal

PreSchool-Grade 1-While some adults may sigh at the similarity of this title to Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? (1983) and Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? (1995, both Holt), children will be thrilled. A water buffalo, a green sea turtle, a black panther, and other animals answer that familiar call, "What do you see?" Readers view all these creatures and more, a treat considering that the 10 animals featured are all endangered species and therefore rare sights. The book closes wistfully with a dreaming child who sees the animals all "wild and free." Names like "macaroni penguin" contribute to some awkwardness in the text's rhythm, but the bright collage images and lilting language bring the animals to life on the page-soaring, swinging, or even strutting. Opening with a helpful note on the importance of animal protection, this title will make a perfect segue into conversations about endangered species.
Julie Roach, Malden Public Library, MA
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 2 - 5 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool - Kindergarten
  • Lexile Measure: 640L (What's this?)
  • Board book: 28 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR); Brdbk edition (July 11, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0805080783
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805080780
  • Product Dimensions: 4.8 x 0.6 x 7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (174 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #7,870 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on July 20, 2003
Format: Hardcover
I love children's books by Bill Martin and Eric Carle. I really love reading "Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?" and "Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?" to my preschoolers and when I heard there was a new book, I had to find a copy and buy it. I can't wait to read this book to my class along with the other two books. It is soooo adorable! The pictures are cute and easy for the children to remember.
Comment 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This book is similar to the original Brown Bear book, with illustrations of panda bear, bald eagle, water buffalo, spider monkey, green sea turtle, macaroni penguin, sea lion, red wolf, whooping crane, black panther, and moon-faced dreaming child.

The illustrations are beautiful--Carle's signature watercolor-collage style. While Brown Bear's illustrations show each animal against stark white backgrounds, Panda Bear's illustrations feature them against bold backgrounds. (My sensitive younger toddler found the red wolf and the black panther illustrations a little scary, so we skip those pages for now.)

Although this book doesn't lend itself to teaching basic colors and animal sounds the way that the original does, it is a good way to teach the concept of endangered species to younger children. Overall, a great companion to a classic!
Comment 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
It's a nice concept and most kids will love the words, different animals and the concept of going from one animal to another. Panda Bear was really written because Brown Bear established such a terrific template. In other words it's a sequel. Like most sequels it doesn't quite measure up.
Kids will still enjoy the colorful pictures, sounds of words and guessing what comes next in the story. Perhaps that's all they need. Sometimes the educational aspect is important and sometimes kids just need entertainment. This is entertaining for little ones and it's a simple enough story so that little ones can start pretending to read and feel more grown up.
Comment 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Board book Verified Purchase
I had high hopes for this, since the Brown Bear sliding book is currently my son's favorite! But the rhymes and the animals are out of whack - by the time I've said "macaroni penguin, macaroni penguin, what do you see?" my son has already crawled off to play with something else.
Plus, the ending, while sweet in its own way, is not interesting at all to my kiddo. He loved seeing the children at the end of the original book.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Board book Verified Purchase
To say my 9 month old loves this book would be an understatement! She gets so excited when she sees you pull it out. It's beautifully illustrated and we love the fact that it focuses on endangered animals. Love, love, love!!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Board book
My son and I LOVE this series (brown bear, Polar bear, Panda bear, baby bear). The slide and find version is a very smart idea, which baby can see the next animal described in each answer. We got both brown bear and Panda bear in slide and find; and Polar bear in sound book. I hope that the baby bear will come in this version, too.
Finally, the book is much bigger than I thought. It may be a little heavy for baby, but otherwise, baby will enjoy much bigger pictures than in the original version
I highly recommand the slide and find than the original one
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Board book Verified Purchase
Great board book in Eric Carle's collection. I bought this for a panda themed baby shower. It was a great book to add to the other panda -themed items I bought for the shower for my sister in law.

I can't wait to read this to my new niece!!!!

The book arrived quickly from the seller, and it was in perfect condition.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Board book Verified Purchase
My son's pre-school teacher read this to my son and he couldn't stop repeating the words all the way home.... panda bear, panda what do you see.. I end up buying 2 other Bill Martin/Eric Carle books the same day. This is a must have for little ones, it teaches them about animals and their senses!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? Board Book

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: chinese reader