Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $4.01 (24%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal by [Melanie Warner]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 240 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Women's History Month
Celebrate women who led the way. Hear their stories
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Indispensable." (Newsday)

“So much fun that you might forget how depressing it all is… There are more Holy Cow! moments here than even someone who thinks he or she knows what’s going on in food production could predict.” (Mark Bittman The New York Times)

“In Pandora’s Lunchbox, Melanie Warner has produced an engaging account of how today’s ‘food processing industrial complex’ replaced real foods with the inventions of food science. Her history of how this happened and who benefits from these inventions should be enough to inspire everyone to get back into the kitchen and start cooking.” (Marion Nestle, Professor of Nutrition, Food Studies, and Public Health at New York University and coauthor of Why Calories Count: From Science to Politics )

"Pandora's Lunchbox is a brilliant and fascinating exploration of how our food gets processed, its powerful effects on our health, and what we can do about it. Highly recommended!" (Dean Ornish M.D., author of Eat More, Weigh Less, and The Spectrum: A Scientifically Proven Program to Feel Better, Live Longer, Lose Weight, and Gain Health )

"Melanie Warner is a journalist of keen skill, and in Pandora's Lunchbox she pries the lid off well-packaged secrets about how our so-called food is made. The resulting bounty of insights and revelations is almost overwhelming. This is a book of stunning, at times shocking truths, told in a crisp, compelling narrative. Of profound importance for everyone who eats." (David L. Katz, MD, MPH, FACPM, FACP, Director of Yale University Prevention Research Center and Director of Integrative Medicine Center at Griffin Hospital )

“Warner pulls back the curtain to reveal the industry secrets of how our most basic staples are being transformed into processed foodstuffs to boost profits. We get an (un)healthy dose of hexane-extraction, gun puffing and roast chicken type flavor, but like the best investigative journalists, she uses the personal stories of food scientists, innovators, and crusaders not to mention her own home experiments, to show why you’ll want to think twice before hitting the drive-thru or reaching for that ‘health bar.’” (Robert Kenner, director of Food, Inc. )

“In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma is a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.” (Publishers Weekly)

"A gripping exposé." (Wall Street Journal)

"Fascinating." (The A.V. Club)

About the Author

Melanie Warner is a freelance writer for various publications, including The New York Times and Fast Company. She has spent the past fifteen years writing about business, first as a writer at Fortune magazine, where among other things, she wrote about the dot com boom in Silicon Valley. She was also a staff reporter for The New York Times, covering the food industry. The author of The Magic Feather Effect and Pandora’s Lunchbox, she lives in Honolulu.

Product details

  • ASIN : B009K54F48
  • Publisher : Scribner; Reprint edition (February 26, 2013)
  • Publication date : February 26, 2013
  • Language : English
  • File size : 3311 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 290 pages
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 240 ratings

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
240 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase
59 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 6, 2016
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 9, 2016
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Private Zod
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 7, 2020
Verified Purchase
Conan O'Breisleain
5.0 out of 5 stars Find out how much you don't know
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase
D. Sharpe
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 26, 2015
Verified Purchase
Miss L Brunger
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 12, 2014
Verified Purchase
Mr David J Budge
5.0 out of 5 stars diet change
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase