Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Panic of Girls (Amazon Exclusive)
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(3 star). Show all reviews
VINE VOICEon February 15, 2012
Never a stranger to genre jumping, Blondie's third album since refiguring themselves ("No Exit," "The Curse of Blondie"), and "The Panic of Girls" goes for the hopscotch with gusto. Debbie Harry makes you start salivating when the electic pulse and Bo-Diddly drums kick off "D-Day" is classic Blondie style. She teases you bay singing 'Debbie, Devil, don't you dare, day of the Deb..." or at least that's what it sounds like. There's all the wonderful traits of the great Blondie singles: self depreciating, a wink and a smirk, Debbie's pure and unique voice and a kicking hook.

"What I Heard" continues with same force, then "Mother" (about an old fave nightclub from the band's Lower Manhattan formative years) makes it to third base. But then "Panic of Girls" starts to scatter. "The End The End" and "Sunday Smile" are the required "Tide is High" retreads, "Le Blue" is four and a half minutes of pseudo French cabaret kitsch, and "China Shoes" closes the album with a yawn. The only surprise is that they didn't attempt to clone a "Heart of Glass" single. Still, then band plays with the groove of a unit that's been working together long enough to sound casually perfect, and that makes the halfway songs like "Words In My Mouth" or the remix ready "Wipe of My Sweat" enjoyable.

"Panic of Girls" is about as good as "The Curse" and doesn't pander the way "No Exit" did (no trendy cameos here). It's also a better album than Harry's "Necessary Evil." Harry, Chris Stein and Clem Burke still make quite a racket for old fans, just remember that these are old pros making sturdy if unremarkable music for us oldsters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 22, 2011
Blondie stands, to me, to be one of the better and more consistent bands out there. "Consistent" might be a correct and yet incorrect description. Their band members have changed over the years - though they still have a core of four since 1978's 'Parallel Lines'. They have rarely put out a similar album twice - and except for their first two releases, they've never put out two that are alike in a row.

Their first album in seven years, 'Panic of Girls', is no exception.

I haven't bought a physical CD in years - mostly because I don't have anything readily to play them on, but really - where does one buy them in the first place? But don't look for 'Panic' on iTunes, the download was only available at amazon.com.

'Panic of Girls' is good, but it's not superb. I guess, that could accurately describe their last three disks - 'No Exit', 'the Curse of Blondie' and 'Panic'. All have strong tracks, but those are not necessarily outweighing the weaker ones - and unfortunately, there are weaker tracks.

Back in the day (yes, I said that phrase), the band didn't really have weak tracks. I don't think I'm waxing with nostalgia either, but maybe I have no perspective either.

Panic has too many Calypso/ska/reggae songs. Or as my friend Jon put it: "Look..you had a huge hit with the ska/Caribbean "The Tide is High" so STOP recording songs just like that...it was a fluke!" That made me smile when I read it. But he is correct. With "Girlie Girlie" "The End The End" and "Sunday Smile" it is too much for me. ...and apparently for Jon too. Not only is it too much, they're not even good.

Jon is also correct in his assessment that "Le Bleu" is awful. I'm going on record by adding "China Shoes". I like the music, but not the lyrics. The first few lines reminded me of a song in Glee they tried to "write" called "My Headband".

I am not surprised by Jon's take on these at all. We bonded over a lot of things decades ago, and Blondie was one of the first of those. We have mostly been on the same page with their music. Including the good.

That all said, I do like "Mother", "Wipe off My Sweat", "Love Doesn't Frighten Me". And I really like "What I Heard".

Debbie's vocals aren't extremely strong. It could be argued they never were, but the material used to really wrap around those, versus the other way around. With 'Panic', that marriage isn't always there. ....and she is now eligible for Medicare. That was painful to think, say and write, but a 66 year old's voice isn't going to be as strong as it was when she was 30.

Still, I like Blondie's energy and their desire to keep plugging away and not resting on their laurels. It's not an out of the ballpark disk, but it is solid and that's saying something.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2014
Blondie has been producing records for nearly 40 years now (!), and it has been 4 years since the public last heard from them (i.e. if you count Deborah Harry's solo effort, 2007's "Necessary Evil."). Unfortunately, this Amazon exclusive LP doesn't really measure up to Blondie's last two albums: 1999's "No Exit" and 2004's "The Curse Of Blondie."

There were only a handful of songs that I liked, such as "D-Day" ("this ain't no D-day/this ain't no dot.com..."); "Mother"; "Love Doesn't Frighten Me" and "Sunday Smile." However, Deborah Harry saves her most rebellious, punk moment for the second-to-last track: "Show it, blow it, Dirty Joe it/Desert 'Round it, Sheryl Crow it/Hell it, jell it, sell it, tell it/Mess it up and Jingle Bell it/Pop that weasel..."

Blondie just released their newest 2 CD/DVD set, "4.0 Ever." Hopefully it's much better than this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2011
Here is the third album of the second coming of Blondie. And like the other two and Deborah Harry's sublime 2009 solo album, `Necessary Evil', it is an exercise in eclecticism (code, in this case, for a little all over the place).

Genre-hopping, of course, is something Blondie have been doing since `Parallel Lines' in 1978, but the genres were never allowed to take over in quite the way they do here. Despite dabbling in reggae, country and jazz, the albums in the rest of their catalogue can still comfortably be categorized pop new wave rock. But, by disc's end, `Panic of Girls' begins to feel like a world music album. And, not only does it feel heavily weighted toward reggae, Rasta, Latin and French sounds and rhythms, it is very often slow in tempo, so rarely soars. After the 1, 2, 3 punch of the opening pop-rock tracks (`D-Day', `What I Heard' and `Mother'), there is only one more (`Love Doesn't Frighten Me At All') - two if you count the bubbly `Horizontal Twist' in the two bonus tracks of the fan pack.

Not that world music is a bad thing ... in moderation. Chris Stein's `Le Bleu' is hypnotically beautiful, sung in French and infused by the sound of piano accordions. The Rasta Latin beats of `Wipe off My Sweat' are quite euphoric and `Mirame', the second bonus track (a cover), is all cool audio-tuned pacey salsa. But then there are the two reggae covers of `Girlie Girlie' and `Sunday Smile' that tend to overpower the set (maybe I'm just not a big fan of reggae, but surely they would have been better left as enigmatic concert covers?!)

And possibly that is the problem on this album. Too many covers (three in all), too many songwriters and song-writing teams - too few of which are the original members of Blondie. Chris Stein only co-writes twice, and only once with Harry. Clem Burke wrote nothing and of course, very sadly for long time fans, there is nothing penned by Jimmy Destri (though the effusive `Mother' and `What I Heard' echo him nicely). Harry, on the other hand, has co-written most of the originals, which might account for it feeling more like one of her solo discs than a Blondie album.

Production by Jeff Saltzman (The Killers' `Hot Fuss') and Kato Khandwala is glossy, uplifting and modern, allowing for a sense of spontaneity that was lacking in the precision of `The Curse of Blondie'.

When you have careers as long and varied as the members of Blondie, it is understandable that you do what you want and bring all your disparate musical experiences to your work. That is your prerogative. But that doesn't necessarily translate as a cohesive album. For a long time fan of the band, this one is a little disappointing. I think I'm waiting for a real Blondie album with songs predominantly written by Harry, Stein, Burke AND Destri (oh, and maybe produced by Mike Chapman as well!).

NB: You really need to get the version with the bonus tracks - even if it is on import. They definitely improve it.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
Purchased as a gift for a person who is bonkers about Blondie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2011
The first bad omen was a buggy disk with a dozen blank spots. That said, we long-time Blondie fans know how they like to experiment. Who can forget the ecstatic Magic from their album The Curse of Blondie?---or the '30s swing era (even country/western) tunes on No Exit?

This muddled compilation ventures farther afield: there's Le Bleu, which sounds like World War 2 era French cabaret; another is in Spanish; and D-Day sounds like early romps where the boys have fun whooping it up.

Even one superior track would have saved it for me; but this will be the last Blondie I buy sight unseen, without hearing a friend's copy first. Sigh
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2012
The first three songs make the album. They are typical Blondie sound and awesome! The rest I could live without. If I wanted to listen to reggae music then there are much better bands out there. Blondie should just stick to what they know best. Not one of my Favorites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2012
This CD,Panic of Girls, is filled with good vocals, and a pop/rock sound. if you like earlier Blondie albums, you will like this one too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse