Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 432 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 570 reviews
on June 1, 2017
Adam Corolla got me to see this. He said this movie was an underrated classic. He said Dustin Hoffman deserved the Oscar for supporting actor far more than Alan Arkin did for Little Miss Sunshine. I agree. Hoffman can say a line in a funny way. He's got an expressive voice. This dragged on a bit and the emotion was sorrowful. But Papillon was a true, daring fighter. If you haven't seen the real story of the Midnight Express escape, which is unlike the movie, and by water also, check it out on YouTube. The real guy tells his story, one of the best stories ever told. It is part of the "Locked up Abroad" TV series. The photo attached is an aerial shot of Hell's Gate on Devil's Island, maybe from where he escaped from...
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
As a die hard McQueen fan it's my pleasure to give one of his most epic movies 5 stars.
A true to life bad @$$ playing another true to life bad @$$ in a 150 minutes of classic film.

Movies from 30-40 years ago were more subtle than anything made in the last 20,
and this one is even more subtle than most,
so Papillion won't blow you away with crazy special effects, heart pumping chase scenes, or romance.

What you get is 2 & a half hours reliving Papillion's pain and perseverance, suffering and surviving.
I saw this movie as a kid, and always associated it with Mr McQueen's difficult life, and the struggles he overcame at an early age.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2012
Steve McQueen is planning another escape in PAPILLON. Based on Henri Charriere's amazing true story, PAPILLON is the story of one man's determination to do the impossible and escape from DEVIL'S ISLAND. Charriere is known as Pappilon (Butterfly in French) because of the large tattoo on his chest. Here is a raw and engrossing story of human despair and desperation. Anyone attempting an escape from Devil's Island earns 2 years in solitary confinement. The second escape earns 5 years in solitary. Papillon's spirit is damaged by not broken and his determination is beyond belief.
Dustin Hoffman also stars as Dega, a notorious forger who befriends Papillon. Dega's stash of cash bankrolls Papillon's escape attempts. The chemistry between Hoffman and McQueen is evident as their characters became fast friends. Sometimes true stories are harder to believe than fiction and yet PAPILLON is based on fact.
PAPILLON probably was McQueen's role of a lifetime. Yes, he starred in several great films but PAPILLON proves what a talented actor he was. McQueen gets to use facial expressions and body movements to tell the story of a man who will not be broken. The wide-eyed look of amazement as Papillon is released from solitary is one of McQueen's finest.
We have an epic of a film that lasts 2 1/2 hours. It's a brutal look at a horrible prison system that many did not survive. Papillon escapes and is betrayed and captured and yet he never gives up. The version I have has a feature of the real Henri Charrierre's return to the long closed Devil's Island. Yes, the man survived.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
For some unknown reason, I missed this film when it came out, and I enjoyed it...It is an odd coupling of stars but both did a great job with it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
There have been many great prison movies over the years that have been made. "Shawshank Redemption" and "Cool Hand Luke" are two that come to mind right off the top of my head. But without a doubt I feel the best of all the prison movies ever made is "Papillon". Based on the autobiography of Henri Charriere, aka Papillon (french for butterfly) for the butterfly tatoo he had on his chest, it stars Steve McQueen and Dustin Hoffman. McQueen had a brillient career with many fine movies to his credits but "Papillon" is I think the best of the best he ever made. This movie also rates among the best films that Dustin Hoffman ever made as well. In a nutshell the movie is about Charriere, a Frenchman, who is a safe cracker who is falsely arrested and convicted of murder. He is sent to serve his sentence at the penal colony in French Guiana. On the boat taking the prisoners to the penal colony Papillon meets Dega played by Hoffman who was convicted of counterfeiting French bonds. Dega is a marked man. The prisoners know he is carrying on him a large amount of cash and they would kill Dega at the first chance they had to get at the money. Papillon works out a deal with Dega to protect him til they get to French Guiana. Once there Dega will under write any attempt Papillon makes to break out of prison. In real life Henri Cherriere attempted 7 or 8 times to escape from the prison. His last attempt at escape was from Devil's Island. He was the first, and I believe the only person, to successfully escape from the island and would go on the live the rest of his life as a free man. The movie due to time constrants only show three of those escape attempts, including the final escape from Devil's Island. What makes this movie the best amoung prison movies is the real life grittiness of prison life. There are points where faint of heart may not be able to watch certain scenes of the movie. But it is the realisticness of prison life there at French Guiana that makes this such a great movie. The harsh starkness of punishment and living conditions the men have to endur leaves you wondering how anyone could survive. Prison life in "Shawshank Redemption" looks delightful in comparison. If I had to come up with a top 5 list of my favorite movies this would be in that list. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
Decent price for a old favorite I haven't seen in a long time. I think it is one if not the best movie showing Steves acting ability
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
Steve McQueen and Dustin Hoffman do an excellent acting job in this tale of life in France's prison system and, of course on the infamous Devil's Island. The book and film are fairly similar, so it you liked one, you should enjoy the other. Overall, this is an interesting film and well worthy of a viewing at least once, though, I've seen it more than once and will continue to do so in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Ok, Im a jaded Steve McQueen fan. Who cant love a guy that had a hooker for a Mom, and became a hollywood icon.
Anyway the film is based on a semi true story of a guy that goes to prison in a hellish place with a never ending desire to escape. Steve plays the tough, prison smart “Papillion”. Dustin Hoffman displays his extraordiinary talent as a mousey, bespectacled counterfeiter who is in need of protection from being robbed. He employs Papillion for protection and bankrolls his escape attempts. The two form a freinship on screen that is truly believable and rather touching.
Its a great all timer, and I dont purchase many, but the ones I do I feel are the epics stories of my time here on Mother Earth.
I bought his one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
Great classic movie, enjoyed it as much this time as I did in the '70's when it first came out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Fantastic movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse