Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 29 reviews
on January 4, 2008
This is easy to read, well laid out and is packed with useful tips on how to help kids be their best selves. It's a real 'how to' guide, with lots of examples of actual situations & what to say to help your child overcome specific difficulties & be more successful. I like it so much I've ordered another copy to share with friends (gently & tactfully, of course!) Every parent should read this book - it's not about pushing your kids to achieve & driving them to prove what a great parent you are - this book is about nurturing their strengths & helping them believe in themselves & be more confident in who they are, just so they can be happy & enjoy life more.

Definitely worth the money & time spent reading it & putting it into practice. Does what it says on the cover!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2011
This book has some sound common sense parenting strategies that hark back to the days of 'traditional values'. Michele Borba has written and edited some clear and lucidly presented texts during her emeritus career, that are easily readable, for parents but also have academic rigour that give her work credence.
The aims of each chapter are clearly established, the problem and ideas through which to deal with the problem are easy to locate and ideas for resources abundant. If a parent is looking to work with the school to deal with child rearing issues, this book provides ways forward that any teacher would welcome a parent bringing to their attention.

I only regret this book came to my attention when both children and grandchildren are too old for its wisdom to help sort out the odd behavioural crisis that arose from time to time throughout their life's journey!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2000
This is one of the best parenting books I've ever read! It's chock-full of advice on how to develop in our children the 8 skills most critical to success (according to parents, educators, and other experts): positive self-esteem, cultivating strengths, communicating, problem-solving, getting along, goal-setting, perseverance, and caring. The sub-title, "How to raise kids with solid character, strong minds, and caring hearts" is irresistible. Although I already own dozens of parenting books, I'm glad I still bought this. The author is obviously an educator; she has organized the book in a way that makes the activities simple and effective. Each chapter begins with two examples: one child has the skill, the other doesn't. what follows next is a checklist to determine a child's current level with the skill. Then Ms. Borba breaks down the task of developing the skill into 3-5 simple steps. Each step is explained thoroughly and clearly, with examples from real life. Success Tips intersperse the chapters. These give quick tips related to the skill, that parents can easily carry out. Finally, each chapter ends with Points to Remember that summarize the main points of the chapter. The strategies in this book are all simple and doable, but it doesn't occur to most of us to do them. For example, what to say when your child experiences failure, how to hold family meetings, and even how to respond to bullies. Ms. Borba advises parents and other readers to devote one month to concentrate on each skill. Even without following this strictly, the book will enable parents to recognize everyday experiences as learning opportunities for these skills. If you follow even half of what this book teaches, you will be the parent you wish you had! Our children and families will be all the happier for this book, and countries will certainly have fewer social problems if only more children (and adults) had these 8 critical skills. A must-read for all parents, teachers, caregivers -- anybody who relates to kids!
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2000
This is one of the best parenting books I've ever read! It's chock-full of advice on how to develop in our children the 8 skills most critical to success (according to parents, educators, and other experts): positive self-esteem, cultivating strengths, communicating, problem-solving, getting along, goal-setting, perseverance, and caring. The sub-title, "How to raise kids with solid character, strong minds, and caring hearts" is irresistible. Although I already own dozens of parenting books, I'm glad I still bought this. The author is obviously an educator; she has organized the book in a way that makes the activities simple and effective. Each chapter begins with two examples: one child has the skill, the other doesn't. what follows next is a checklist to determine a child's current level with the skill. Then Ms. Borba breaks down the task of developing the skill into 3-5 simple steps. Each step is explained thoroughly and clearly, with examples from real life. Success Tips intersperse the chapters. These give quick tips related to the skill, that parents can easily carry out. Finally, each chapter ends with Points to Remember that summarize the main points of the chapter. The strategies in this book are all simple and doable, but it doesn't occur to most of us to do them. For example, what to say when your child experiences failure, how to hold family meetings, and even how to respond to bullies. Ms. Borba advises parents and other readers to devote one month to concentrate on each skill. Even without following this strictly, the book will enable parents to recognize everyday experiences as learning opportunities for these skills. If you follow even half of what this book teaches, you will be the parent you wish you had! Our children and families will be all the happier for this book, and countries will certainly have fewer social problems if only more children (and adults) had these 8 critical skills. A must-read for all parents, teachers, caregivers -- anybody who relates to kids!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2014
I have a 7 year old and have benefited from reading this book. Lots of good info to dog ear!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
Interesting solutions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
I read some of it and it is a book and as expected it is old and some pages are yellow but all good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2012
I bought this book in hopes to provide some insight in raising a self-confident daughter. With all the problems and pressures facing young girls today, I thought the more I know the better prepared I will be. The good thing about this book is it made me feel like a stellar parent. It was really common sense! Things like don't label your child such as "clumsy" or don't compare your child to their siblings. If you are intentional in raising your child already then this book is a bust and does not provide any insight. If you are worried about your parenting style, or grew up in a bad household and fear making the same mistakes, then this book may prove more helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2010
Con: Contents are presented in a "textbook-y" way, making it seem less personal, abstract, and redundant.
Pro: Lists additional books, websites, movies, and other helpful resources related to the chapter material.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2011
I haven't finish it yet. It seems to be easy to understand and practice. But I am not sure if it effect every type of child.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse