Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $11.96 (71%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Paris Lawyer by [Granotier, Sylvie]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Paris Lawyer Kindle Edition

3.2 out of 5 stars 98 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

Length: 280 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

"Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress"
Is the world really falling apart? Is the ideal of progress obsolete? Cognitive scientist and public intellectual Steven Pinker urges us to step back from the gory headlines and prophecies of doom, and instead, follow the data: In seventy-five jaw-dropping graphs, Pinker shows that life, health, prosperity, safety, peace, knowledge, and happiness are on the rise. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Catherine Monsigny has finally convinced her boss to let her argue a felony case before the Coer d’Assise—an enormous step in the staunchly determined young lawyer’s career. Her client is Myriam Villetreix, an African émigré accused of poisoning her wealthy French husband. Catherine throws herself into the case, challenged by Myriam’s reticence and her own lack of connections in the tight-knit rural Creuse region of France where the case will be tried. Inconveniently, the picturesque setting awakens Catherine’s disturbing childhood memories of witnessing her mother’s murder. She knows only that the attack happened in the country, and her father’s refusal to reveal information stokes her drive to resolve her questions. When Catherine senses she’s being stalked, all of the mysteries she’s been tracking converge, and she’s not sure if she’s being warned off Myriam’s case, her questions about her mother’s murder, or her obsessive relationship with a mysterious client. Granotier, a French actress and best-selling author, has a knack for creating drama and atmospheric suspense. Fans of Elizabeth George and Ruth Rendell will eat this one up. --Christine Tran

Review

"A beautifully written and elegantly structured novel of a woman's attempt to solve the central mystery of her life, and several other mysteries along the way. It captures the reader from the first page, and never lets go." - Edgar Award-winning author Thomas H. Cook "Full of surprises and twists that will keep you reading late into the night." -Cosmopolitan "This is a suspense novel with an absolutely perfect atmosphere. The writing is subtle, racy, controlled. It is written with great art!" -RTL.be "Everything in this book--the plot, the atmosphere, the characters, and the style--is perfectly mastered from beginning to end." -Echo "The author has a distinctive style and an unsurpassed talent for delving deep into her characters' minds. It is a disturbing read." -Madame Figaro "Reading this is like having a fever. The author takes the reader from dark humor to cold anxiety at a diabolic pace."-Notre temps "The Paris Lawyer has a compelling heroine. She is a young attorney, working on a fascinating, mysterious case, but she is also a woman haunted by a tragic event in her own past, the murder of her mother. Sylvie Granotier interweaves the past and present with a sure hand, and her characters have a psychological depth which is rare in crime fiction today. This is a complex tale, skillfully told, that will keep you in suspense to the very end." -Patricia MacDonald "A powerful, well-written thriller, but also a meditation on the nature of love and marriage, and whether we can ever escape the past and reinvent ourselves." -Crime Fiction Lover

Product details

  • File Size: 893 KB
  • Print Length: 280 pages
  • Publisher: Le French Book (July 2, 2012)
  • Publication Date: July 2, 2012
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008H3QNSU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #277,049 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Rated by customers interested in
World Literature
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Thriller Books
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
Literary Fiction
3.1 out of 5 stars
3.1 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

March 27, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 28, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
November 18, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
November 2, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
November 2, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 14, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 16, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 27, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Paris Lawyer
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Paris Lawyer