Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 7,727 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 11,773 reviews
on June 25, 2016
Goes into quite a bit of depth. There are times it seems a bit slow, but one can truly appreciate what John Adams went through.
He allows his son to leave to go to another country (when the boy was 14 years old -- what a different time then!), then doesn't see his son again until the fellow is in his 20s. He's also separated from his wife for YEARS. This really takes a considerable amount of sacrifice, courage and conviction.

We cannot appreciate some of the tougher aspects of their lives...John Adams gets sick for MONTHS, and there's no medicine but what his body can do for him. He pays a dear price for doing service to his country.

The series appears very realistic, well done with all the minor details...depicting how the French wore makeup to cover up their infrequent bathing. How the royal court lived - so opulently while the poor live very poorly.

For those who are history buffs, you should like it. FOR THOSE WHO WANT A QUICKIE PEEK BACK, and don't want the details, this series might provide too much information, and move too slowly for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
Absolutely wonderful storytelling. This series is a masterpiece. Chronicling the life of the man who is John Adams. Not just his political life but his family life as well. We follow him through his career as a lawyer, diplomat days and of course as Vice- President and President. This is how history should be presented. There is a lot of drama in this series but also enough humor to keep it realistic. I highly recommend this series to anyone who loves history and desires to know more of the accounts of our founding fathers. I would also recommend it to those who might not enjoy history, because i believe that the way this series is presented, will entertain as well as educate the viewer.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 4, 2016
Watching John Adams is my yearly ritual. This is one of the rare instances where , despite the usual "artistic liberties" taken that good History is still so very well done and portrayed on film. True, Paul Giamatti and Laura Linney gives a masterful performances as John and Abigal Adams, and the rest of the casting is spot on, but this is the second HBO films production (the first Being Band of Brothers) that seem to be done with actual respect and reverence to the topic and intent on illuminating the true essence and urgency of the turbulent times before, during and even after the American Revolution. The Harrowing images of war, Washington's pessimism, Adams' struggle to be heard and sway congress to Independence is strongly felt and a sense of frustration and urgency is felt just as the relief and joy is felt during the outcome. The viewer is truly drawn in for the full experience and not just mere observation.

Of course it helps that the Author, David Mccullough was on hand every step of the way from development to the actual filming and that the Director, Tom Hooper and his team of make-up artists, costumers, set designers and even his CGI team aimed to produce as brilliantly authentic production as possible. The care and craft of this production is so well and beautifully done that every award for this program is so very much deserved.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2016
John Adams was the most under rated President.Stodgy and smarter than many around him. His flaw was his dismissal of others as inferior.His ideas a constant counter balance to Jefferson. Both men loved the Republic they helped to foster..The portrayal of Benjamin Franklin in this piece is deplorable. A hit piece, really. The same ideas play out today. Every single election.Adams the Federalist,A big brother government, Jefferson, A republican, the consummate classical liberal in the libertarian sense. Shows the failings of the morality of 'the negro question' that poisoned our entire Republic. Told the truth of starving slaves building Washington, in disease conditions. As you watch you can quite smell the filth.Washington was a great leader. The ideas that found a beautiful counter balance like yen and yang? Squarely on the shoulders of Adams and Jefferson.Who was right? Both.It is the engine of our great Republic.They will be fought until it falls to something better.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
tries very hard to rise to epic story of other Play Tone productions, Band of Brothers, The Pacific, but at the end of the day, it is very boring with tedious family sidebars. Giamatti's huffing and puffing, squinting to the side do not add up to an explanation of the the John Adams character.
Fascinating history savages this in spite of the lethargy. Hamilton and Jefferson are equally not developed with the evolution of their characters but are interesting and I wanted more of them. One has to listen carefully for literally dialogue footnotes that give exposition. Keep hoping for a stronger dramatic arc and their was none.
borrow it from a library,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Gets off to a good start in the first couple of episodes but then, quite sadly falls off into the abyss of most american dramas of not sticking to a clean well crafted and concise story. Instead, the series goes off into all sorts of personal aspects and stays there for way too long. There are countless scenes that would have been far more powerful if only the director had the will to cut them down to their essence. Reminds me of the Mark Twain quote: I would have written a shorter letter if I had the time. Apparently the director was on a tight schedule for there was no time for some serious, thoughtful editing of what could easily have been a five star drama.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
The acting in this wonderful, aside from the fact that Giamatti has a tendency to whisper his lines. Even with today's technology in televisions I had to turn the volume up a lot louder than what I am use to, and a lot louder than family members in other rooms were use to. I spent my time watching raising and lowering the volume. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars. I was never under the illusion that our founding fathers were perfect. They were only men, however, Adams tenacity to want to always stick to the business at hand while admirable his inability to "bend" did grow a little tiresome. On the other hand Ben Franklin enjoyed the French life a little more than he should. He was there to do a job and when Adams showed up to keep him in line he blatantly lied about Adam's behavior to the Congress back home. I have to say this show was somewhat of an eye opener for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
I love the way this series shows the humanity of an American president. Although he is not as well known in history and he seems to be in the shadows of Washington and Jefferson it seems he had a great influence on American government. I like the way this series captivates his life on the farm more than it does as president of the United States. It makes him a real person and not some head preserved in a sculpture.I wish more presidents could be portrayed like this. at the same time this series does not ignore the fact he was president.

Perhaps this series could portray him more in the daily act of president and the issues he had to face while in office. While he seems to disapprove of the leadership of both President Washington and President Jefferson he still remains a loyal friend to both of them. I am anxious to see portrayals of both Washington and Jefferson in the same way and perhaps portray several other presidents in the same way. This is living history and makes dusty old history come alive. It is not the same history i was forced to endure in grade school.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
Beautifully done with great acting and superb cinematography. I enjoyed this for the "look and feel" it conveyed of an age I can hardly imagine, and for the overall portrait it painted of John and Abigail Adams.

I do find it ironic that the John Adams, beautifully played by Paul Giamatti in this mini-series, berates a painter for taking poetic license with the past, when this mini-series takes so much poetic license and invents situations from whole cloth, when there were historical events that were just as dramatic that could have taken the place of said fictional events.

It did get me interested in the real John Adams, and set me to reading about him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
I previously gave this video 5 stars based on just the first episode. I reduce my rating to a "curved" C (three stars) because I believe it is to much to ask for anyone associated with the motion picture business to present an accurate portrait of American History. Absent the curve, a D- would be a fairer grade. Disturbingly, the distortions made in this drama are unnecessary because a more accurate story would be as, if not more, entertaining. For an historian's prospective, see http://historynewsnetwork.org/article/56155. David McCullough's book on which the drama is loosely based is a good read and a better investment of time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse