Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


Audio CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, March 28, 2000
"Please retry"
$49.98 $5.98
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

Composer and accordionist Richard Galliano owes a lot to Astor Piazzolla. Sure, he's tackled improv-jazz and French musette music, but--at the heart of performances--the tango is never that far away. On Passatori, Galliano pays homage to Piazzolla's classical repertoire (swinging orchestral works that sway from gentle ballads to dizzying tangos) by performing both compositions from the Argentinian master and originals that clearly show his influence. The opening movement to Galliano's three-part Opale Concerto hearkens to Piazzolla's Tango Ballet, but throws even more drama into the fold by its conclusion. On Galliano's "San Peyre," he slows things down for a reflective ballad that is both sensual and moving. Throughout, the Toscana orchestra and Galliano show an impressive versatility. Great stuff. --Jason Verlinde


Richard Galliano, a Frenchman of Italian ancestry, is an accordionist who became known in the mid-'70s as a composer and arranger for Claude Nougaro, one of France's most respected singers. Galliano has also worked with many jazz legends and has helped modernize the Parisian cafi music known as bal-musette. Passatori, Galliano's sixth album for Dreyfus Jazz, features a 14-piece string orchestra, which manages to swing while remaining passionate. The original compositions include a three-movement concerto, a habanera and a waltz. Galliano also offers a rendition of Astor Piazzolla's "Oblivion" and ends the album with Piazzolla's sensual "Concerto Pour Bandonion." -- From Rhythm Magazine

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Opale Concerto: Premier Mouvement. Allegro Furioso
  2. Opale Concerto: Deuxieme Mouvement. Moderato Malinconico - Nobile E Espressivo
  3. Opale Concerto: Troisieme Mouvement. Allegro Energico
  4. Oblivion
  5. San Peyre
  6. La Valse A Margaux
  7. Melodicelli
  8. Habanerando
  9. Concerto Pour Bandoneon: Premier Mouvement. Allegro Marcato
  10. Concerto Pour Bandoneon: Deuxieme Mouvement. Moderato
  11. Concerto Pour Bandoneon: Troisieme Mouvement. Presto

Product details

  • Audio CD (March 28, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Dreyfus
  • ASIN: B00004GOXF
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #373,567 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top customer reviews

on June 25, 2000
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2008
Format: Audio CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse