Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Pat Metheny Group - Speaking of Now Live


4.7 out of 5 stars 60 customer reviews

Additional DVD options Edition Discs
New from Used from
"Please retry"
(Nov 18, 2003)
"Please retry"
$74.97 $7.51

Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Pat Metheny, is a prolific jazz guitarist, whose work ranges from avant-garde to commercial fusion. With Speak of Now - Live In Concert, the Pat Metheny Group launches a tight, intense, uplifting, and musically complex assortment of sounds that has never been put together before and can be enjoyed by all in one outstanding performance. The band features Metheny (guitar), Lyle Mays (keyboards), Steve Rodby (acoustic bass, cello), Richard Bona (vocals, percussion, guitar, bass), Cuong Vu (trumpet, vocals) and Antonio Sanchez (drums). PMG marks their 25th Anniversary with the release of "Speak Of Now" - Live In Concert.

Track Listing:
1. Last Train Home
2. Go Get It
3. As It Is
4. Proof
5. Insensatez (How Insensitive)
6. The Gathering Sky
7. You
8. A Place in the World
9. Scrap Metal
10. Another Life
11. On Her Way
12. Are You Going with Me?
13. The Roots of Coincidence
14. A Map of the World ~ In Her Family
15. Song for Bilbao


There's nary a flaw to be found in this lengthy (135 minutes) concert performance by guitarist Pat Metheny and his sextet, recorded in Tokyo in 2002. The musicianship is superb, the material (much of it drawn from the Metheny Group album of the same name) strong, the sound and visuals impeccable, the audience respectful... and therein lies the problem, such as it is. The whole effect is a bit sterile; there's little of the communication between listeners and players that can ignite jazz or rock shows in more intimate, less formal settings. Co-founders Metheny and keyboardist Lyle Mays, longtime bassist/co-producer Steve Rodby, and the three more recent members (multi-instrumentalists Richard Bona and Cuong Vu and drummer Antonio Sanchez) are all brilliant, versatile players. And it's nice to hear their interpretations of Jobim's "How Insensitive" and Metheny's lovely title tune from the film A Map of the World. But unless you get off on seeing a lot of close-ups of Metheny's facial contortions, listening to the PMG's recordings should suffice. --Sam Graham

Special features

  • Songs: Last Train Home, Go Get It, As It Is, Proof, Insensatez (How Insensitive), The Gathering Sky, You, A Place in the World, Scrap Metal, Another Life, On Her Way, Are You Going with Me?, The Roots of Coincidence, A Map of the World--In Her Family, Song for Bilbao

Product details

  • Actors: Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Steve Rodby
  • Format: Color, Dolby, DTS Surround Sound, Live, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: Region 1 (U.S. and Canada only. Read more about DVD formats.)
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated:
    Not Rated
  • Studio: Eagle Rock Ent
  • DVD Release Date: November 18, 2003
  • Run Time: 135 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 60 customer reviews
  • ASIN: B0000E2W0U
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #106,150 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on December 9, 2006
Format: DVD|Verified Purchase
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2005
Format: DVD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2006
Format: DVD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: not now music jazz, pat metheny