BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 30, 2013
In The Emerald City of OzL. Frank Baum sealed Oz off from the rest of the world, promising in the last chapter that "You will never hear anything more about Oz." He was frustrated at how his Oz books overshadowed all of his other works and wanted to concentrate on books like The Sea Fairies and Life and Adventures of Santa Claus . Unfortunately, none of his other books ever sold as well as the Oz books and financial pressures, coupled with popular demand, forced him to rethink this decision. The Patchwork Girl of Oz was Baum's first return trip to Oz after this decision, and in it he created one of his most memorable characters.

While Baum created some great male characters throughout his literary career, he loved to write strong female characters as role models for young girls. In this volume he breathes life into The Patchwork Girl, an independent and quick-thinking counterpart to the Scarecrow. She seems flighty and humorous at first, but deep down she is smart, clever and quite lovable. If Baum felt any resentment at being forced to pick up the mantle of Royal Historian of Oz again, you don't see it here. This book is full of excitement and adventure - equally as good as any in the series, before and after his intended retirement.

Mike LaMontagne, author of The Wizard of Oz: Dark Witch Rising trilogy Rainbow's Emissary (The Wizard of Oz: Dark Witch Rising) Witch Hunt (The Wizard of Oz: Dark Witch Rising) Paradise Lost (The Wizard of Oz: Dark Witch Rising) and The Carter Girls The Carter Girls and the Battle of Frontenac Island
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 30, 2010
L. Frank Baum left the readers of his Oz books at a curious point at the end of Book 6 of the series, since Queen Ozma had decided to render the wondrous land invisible, cutting off communication with the outside world. No more stories from Oz, the author explained. But his little readers wouldn't give up eagerly writing their letters, and Baum took pen in hand once again himself, explaining at the beginning of this next book, No. 7, how one reader suggested sending a "wireless telegraph" to Dorothy at Oz so they could get more stories. Wouldn't you know -- it worked.

For this adventure, Baum rolls out a whole new set of characters, as he often does, though he offers the reader a reunion with Dorothy and some of the other familiar faces by the end of the book. Ojo is a little Munchkin boy who is nicknamed "Unlucky," and indeed, some dreadful things happen in his life, particularly when his beloved Unc Nunkie is turned to marble because the work of the Crooked Magician had some unexpected effects. Ojo sets off on a journey to collect certain items in the land of Oz -- a six-leafed clover, water from a well that's never seen light, three hairs from a Woozy's tail, various stuff like that -- so that the Crooked Magician can concoct a formula to free Unc Nunkie, along with the equally marbelized magician's wife. Joining Ojo on the quest are a couple of the magician's creations, the Glass Cat (with a brain that you can see work, she conceitedly repeats to everyone she meets) and the Patchwork Girl. One of the funnest parts of the book is what happens when the Scarecrow meets this vividly constructed new Patchwork Girl, whose name is Scraps.

This Land of Oz scavenger hunt doesn't necessarily proceed as you might expect, and Baum delivers once again on the lighthearted action, this time thankfully freeing the reader from the sense of danger of some of the other stories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2010
It amazing how in the adult world we often forget what its like to be a child. How simple imagination can make the most mundane and dull task seem fun and fruitful.

This book, along with many others in the Oz series, captures that magical feeling rather well. Things that would otherwise seem silly and pointless become beautifully crafted parts of the story and remind you that no part is too small to be important.

It was about 3/4th through that I realized how deeply this book touched me. It brought a smile to my face nearly every time I picked it up. It set my imagination into work again, after years of feeling dusty and unused.

I suggest, for anyone young or old, to give at least one of the Oz books at try - this one, in particular, is a great place to start. It does a wonderful job of introducing you to the rich history and world of Oz.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2013
There are no pictures in this edition at all. Most, maybe all, of the original editions did have some pictures, which I would have liked to have seen. Also, as with the other free editions in this series, there are many typographical errors, mainly misspellings. There is also the occasional bit of text that's randomly bold for no apparent reason. I suspect that a printed copy of the book was scanned and run through OCR, with no follow-up accuracy check.

The story itself is pretty good. Although all of this series is clearly written for children, it's entertaining enough for adults to enjoy reading as well. But as an adult, I couldn't help but notice that many of the characters in all of these Oz stories, including the central characters, are often conceited, arrogant, and rude, yet at the same time, quite polite about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2017
A good book of further adventures in OZ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2010
My mom has a partial collection of old hardbound Wizard of Oz books. Long believing they were out of print, she has despaired of ever completing her collection. For her birthday I thought I would complete her collection. Alas! This was the first one that showed up: it's so beautiful that I wish I had just completed the collection for myself and got my mother some dandelions or something.

In my opinion, you're really missing something if you go for the paperback versions of these 14 Oz books. Those reprint illustrations, but not in the glorious color you're gonna see here. The illustrations by John R. Neill are rendered on thick, glossy pages.

This book has a slick dust jacket. If you remove it, there is still an illustration of the Patchwork Girl on the front cover, but nothing on the back. The book is the exact size as the hardbound Oz books have been since the 50's.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2016
Love how Baum continually created new world's and characters! Any of the Oz books are sure to make any reader eager to read the next in the series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2011
I started reading this series with my son back in October. He turned 4 in June and we'd just started reading chapter books in the fall and I was looking for great stories without the presence of annoying pop culture. The Oz books were recommended by a trusted friend and I was skeptical at first, especially at his age, but the first book is so much better than the movie, and each subsequent book has been better than the last. After checking a couple different versions out from the library we now make sure to always get the books with the original illustrations by John R. Neill (the Dover 1980s and 90s reprints are the best). I don't know what we'll do when we reach the end of the series!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2017
This book was very interesting. I thought it ended kind of abruptly. I liked how they had the group go from one land to the next and they gave detail of the land. You could almost picture it in your mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2003
While the last three books in L. Frank Baum's "Oz" series ("Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz", "The Road to Oz" and "The Emerald City of Oz") were all rather lackluster, this book was a return to form. The problem with the other installments was a lack of a new story -- they were all about people who went to Oz, met lots of strange and interesting people, and had a happy ending.
"The Patchwork Girl of Oz," however, had a very good story to bolster the old Oz formula. Ojo the Unlucky, a young Munchkin lad, along with the Glass Cat and Scraps, the Patchwork Girl, set out to find magical ingredients needed to restore his uncle and a magician's wife to life after they are accidentally petrified. So the story is, again, about someone wandering Oz and meeting strange and interesting people, but giving Ojo a quest gave the book a different angle, a sense of urgency -- this was a boy on a mission to save two lives.
The ending is somewhat abrupt, although quite in-character for Baum's creations, but overall it is one of the better Oz books, a real return to form after a few that just didn't click.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse