Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $27.00
  • Save: $11.45 (42%)
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
Usually ships within 1 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Paving Paradise: Florida'... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Some corner dings. The dust jacket shows normal wear or has some tears. The dust jacket has stickers or sticker residue on it. The pages show normal wear and tear. Item ships secure with Fulfillment By Amazon, Prime customers get 2nd day at no charge!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Paving Paradise: Florida's Vanishing Wetlands and the Failure of No Net Loss (Florida History and Culture) Hardcover – March 1, 2009

4.6 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$15.55
$15.55 $7.99

Wiley Summer Savings Event.
Wiley Summer Savings Event.
Save up to 40% during Wiley's Summer Savings Event. Learn more.
$15.55 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. Usually ships within 1 to 4 weeks. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Paving Paradise: Florida's Vanishing Wetlands and the Failure of No Net Loss (Florida History and Culture)
  • +
  • The Swamp: The Everglades, Florida, and the Politics of Paradise
Total price: $27.71
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

"This is an exhaustive, timely, and devastating account of the destruction of Florida's wetlands and the disgraceful collusion of government at all levels. It's an important book that should be read by every voter, every taxpayer, every parent, every Floridian who cares about saving what's left of this precious place." - Carl Hiaasen "Pittman and Waite pulled the lid off federal and state wetlands regulation in Florida and peered deep into the cauldron of 'mitigation,' 'no net loss,' 'banking,' and the rest of the regulatory stew. This is an eye-opening, must-read book." - J. B. Ruhl"

Book Description

What is happening to Florida's "protected" wetlands?

 

"This is an exhaustive, timely, and devastating account of the destruction of Florida's wetlands, and the disgraceful collusion of government at all levels. It's an important book that should be read by every voter, every taxpayer, every parent, every Floridian who cares about saving what's left of this precious place."--Carl Hiaasen

 

"Pittman and Waite pulled the lid off federal and state wetlands regulation in Florida and peered deep into the cauldron of 'mitigation,' 'no net loss,' 'banking,' and the rest of the regulatory stew. For anyone interested in wetlands generally, and in Florida environmental issues in particular, this is an eye-opening, must-read book."--J. B. Ruhl

 

Since 1990, every president has pledged to protect wetlands, and Florida possesses more than any state except Alaska. And yet, since that time Florida has lost more than 84,000 acres of wetlands that help replenish the water supply and protect against flooding.

 

How and why the state’s wetlands are continuing to disappear is the subject of Paving Paradise. Journalists Craig Pittman and Matthew Waite spent nearly four years investigating the political expedience, corruption, and negligence on the part of federal and state agencies that led to a failure to enforce regulations on developers. They traveled throughout the state, interviewed hundreds of people, dug through thousands of documents, and analyzed satellite imagery to identify former wetlands that were now houses, stores, and parking lots.

 

The result was an award-winning series, "Vanishing Wetlands," of more than twenty stories in the St. Petersburg Times, exposing the unseen environmental consequences of rampant sprawl. Expanding their work into book form in the tradition of Michael Grunwald's The Swamp, Pittman and Waite explain how wetland protection has become a taxpayer-funded program that creates the illusion of environmental protection while doing little to stem the tide of destruction.

 

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Series: Florida History and Culture
  • Hardcover: 376 pages
  • Publisher: University Press of Florida; First Edition edition (March 1, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0813032865
  • ISBN-13: 978-0813032863
  • Product Dimensions: 6.5 x 1.2 x 9.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #267,674 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By J. Ezell on February 15, 2009
Format: Hardcover
IMO, Paving Paradise should be required reading for all DEP and ACOE employees, all water management district employees, all regional planning council members, all legislators, cabinet members, all elected officials in the state, the Governor and his staff, all developers and real estate brokers and agents. St. Joe and Lennar come to mind immediately. Craig Pittman is my favorite Florida writer, and his work shines in this book. I highly recommend it to anyone who cares about the Sunshine State.
Paving Paradise: Florida's Vanishing Wetlands and the Failure of No Net Loss (Florida History and Culture)
Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Craig Pittman and Matthew Waite explain why bulldozed and buried wetlands underlie the foundations of thousands of mines, highways, golf courses and shopping malls all over Florida, despite clear federal and state policy calling for no net loss of wetlands. This probing, well-crafted narrative will keep you turning every page of Paving Paradise. The prize-winning pair of St. Petersburg Times will help you understand the "topsy-turvy world where a minus can equal a plus, dry land masquerades as wet, and supposedly scientific test results don't count if they yield an undesirable answer." It might sound depressing, but the truth can help us move forward, or at least have that choice!
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
From three-decades as government employee -- county, state and federal -- I felt like a streetwalker reading about $5,000-an-hour "escorts" who portray they are providing a valuable public service. This says it all (from page 167): "One of the areas hardest hit was the western side of the Everglades, where the Corps cranked out permits allowing the destruction of some 4,000 acres of swamps and marshes, even as it drew up plans to spend billions of dollars repairing the damage done by man to the eastern side of the River of Grass."
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Pittman and Waite's book, "Paving Paradise", is a major contribution -- not just to Florida-- but to anyone absorbed in trying understand what went wrong with the national economy. Through a fine microscope, the writers lay bare the fraud and mismanagement of risk, related to wetlands destruction, that was a necessary piece of the decision tree leading up to Wall Street fees, bonuses, and compensation in the billions. In other words, this is not just a book about wetlands: it is the story of a society whose values went straight off the rails, all under the lazy eye of regulators and politicians who lacked the will to protect citizens and taxpayers. Read this book!
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By andy92 on November 8, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I would have given this book five stars if it weren't for the fact that I had to read it for school. That being said, the book touches into some very disturbing political bickering about the development of Florida's land and diminishing wetlands. It's an eye opener when it comes to learning about the government's purpose destruction of the american land.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By kbhr on November 8, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Must read for anyone who lives in Florida and cares about preserving its wetlands.
A most profoundly disturbing and detailed insight into what is happening with development in the State
and the Government's total lack of regard for preservation---preservation in Florida is non-existent.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Craig Pittman and Matt Waite obviously appreciate the irony in the lies they have been told while they were documenting the truth about the decades of reckless bulldozing of Florida's precious wetlands. That sense of humor makes it possible to read their exhaustive account of the corrupt ways developers repeatedly circumvented laws and regulations to destroy irreplaceable natural resources in order to make a lot of fast bucks. Floridians need to read this book to understand what has happened and is still happening to the wild places and the water supply in the state. Non-Floridians should read it to find out how to keep this from happening elsewhere. "Paving Paradise" is a compelling non-fiction cautionary tale.
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is an easy -almost- fun read if it didn't cover the sad topic of the destruction of Florida's wetlands. It is not too technical but covers the history of wetland regulations and the more recent government programs to slow loss and restore wetlands in the U.S. My favorite aspect of the book is that the author includes tons of quotes from key politicans and regulators that highlight the battle for continued development (in wetlands) and the view that their is value in saving Florida's remaining wetlands.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews