Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 927 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,059 reviews
on October 2, 2008
PEANUTS:DELUXE HOLIDAY COLLECTION is a new DVD set featuring the three main holiday Peanuts cartoons that are each a classic and cherished by millions of adults and kids alike.

The set is remastered and each special is in their own DVD case and comes housed in a cardboard box with art work.

What makes this set different from the 2000 release of this set is on "It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown." This set includes an episode called "It's Magic, Charlie Brown," which replaces the bonus episode called "You're Not Elected, Charlie Brown" on the 2000 release of ITGP,CB holiday set.

And this set includes all new featurettes on the making of each holiday classic. That alone is worth buying this set. And you also get a bonus music CD containing six song sampler from "A Charlie Brown Christmas" music soundtrack.

If that's not enough, each DVD also contains a ITunes code to download two-additional songs from each of the soundtracks. Very nice!

Here's what's in the set:

DVD #1
IT'S THE GREAT PUMPKIN, CHARLIE BROWN
*** bonus episode *** It's Magic, Charlie Brown.
*** new featurette *** We Need A Blockbuster, Charlie Brown--13:50-minutes-- with interviews with director Bill Melendez, executive producer Lee Mendelson, wife and son of Charles Schulz-Jeannie and Monte, historians and others.
*** code for i-Tunes* to two songs *** "Great Pumpkin Waltz" and "Oh, Good Grief" from the Charlie Brown's Holiday Hits.

DVD #2
A CHARLIE BROWN THANKSGIVING
*** bonus episode *** The Mayflower Voyagers.
*** new featurette *** Popcorn & Jellybeans: Making A Thanksgiving Classic--approx. 12:22-minutes--interviews with Melendez & Mendelson AND the voices of Charlie Brown, Peppermint Patty and Sally. They're adults now, obviously, but it's nice to finally see some of the kids who were behind the voices. BTW, Peppermint Patty was done by a boy! LOL! Great cast!
*** code for i-Tunes* for two songs *** "Camptown Races" and "Thanksgiving Theme" also from Charlie Brown's Holiday Hits.

DVD #3
A CHARLIE BROWN CHRISTMAS
*** bonus episode *** It's Christmastime Again, Charlie Brown
*** new featurette *** A Christmas Miracle: The Making of A Charlie Brown Christmas--approx. 15:50- minutes--discussion from Mendelson, Melendez et al, about the making of this Christmas classic and how it almost never came to be. And you'll find out why the bible passage was included in the script, because people told creator Charles Schulz that it would be blasphemous and degrading to use such sacred words in a cartoon! I guess he showed them, LOL! CBS thought that ACBC would bomb and that they would never re-run it again. How wrong they were!
*** bonus music cd *** A Charlie Brown Christmas Six Song Sampler--songs include: My Little Drum, Linus And Lucy, Hark, The Herald Angels Sing, Christmas Is Coming, Für Elise, and Greensleeves.
***i-tunes* code *** "Hark, The Hearald Angels Sing" and "Christmas Time Is Here" (vocal) from A Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack CD.

So, I guess aside from the featurettes and the different bonus episode on ITGP,CB, the remastering and 6-track music cd, this set is pretty much like the one from 2000. If you don't have that set, then I would recommend this set! Or if you're a big Peanuts fan like me, you'll probably get this set and sell the old one. The holidays wouldn't be the same without these Peanuts specials.

*EDIT *iTunes Codes:
The i-Tunes codes seem to work only for the songs on the "It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown" DVD insert. But if you email customer support at i-Tunes, they'll give you song credits to purchase the additional i-Tune songs from "A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving" and "A Charlie Brown Christmas" soundtracks.
2727 comments| 534 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
I have a very disappointed child, and very disappointed parents as well. The Christmas dvd was supposed to have two movies and it only had one. It's Christmastime Again, Charlie Brown was not on the dvd as advertised. Not cool.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
Even though there were some negative reviews on the product about not receiving the item as described I decided to purchase the product despite this. I receive all 3 discs and each one had a menu option and provided the features of the film and also the special features. The packaging is nicely done with a sleeve and also with all 3 discs in one case. This is helpful so that you will be able to keep the entire set together easily.

The picture and sound quality of this collection is wonderful and are a great addition to our animated collection. My son is able to enjoy the same shows that I watched and enjoyed as a child. This makes a wonderful gift for the holidays so that they can enjoy all of the holiday specials with each season.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
The three Peanuts holiday specials contained in this collection have been remastered and do look great. Unfortunately, each of the three discs begins with three or four promotional trailers for Peanuts and other holiday videos that require the viewer to fast forward through to even get to the main menu, which is utterly tacky and annoying. There are even trailers for the holiday special that you are about to watch, which ruins the anticipation of the episode. The third disc, the Christmas special, has no menu at all, and the advertised "making-of" extra feature is missing. I am disappointed with this product and would not recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2016
I ordered this back in October so I could watch them as each holiday came around. It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown was perfect for a classic Halloween movie. A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving is obviously great for Thanksgiving. I recently tried to watch A Charlie Brown Christmas only to find that it has scratches all over the back of the disc. It won't play at all. I should have inspected them upon arrival. I'm pretty disappointed and confused as to how a brand new DVD could have been damaged so badly. I don't want to go through the hassle of shipping it back so I'll keep it for the other two.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
If Charlie Brown is part of your memories, then this video is definitely worth owning.

However, do not buy this earlier Paramount version. Buy the newer Warner version: "Peanuts 1960's Collection." The Warner versions are remastered and have much better colors. Example: this Paramount version has purple snow.

It is a 5-Star show (which I give it in my review of the "Peanuts 1960's Collection"). In that review, I also provide a way to modify the ending so that the full, original, ending is heard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
Purchased in Fall 2013 and the ultimate collectors edition apparently no longer includes the iTunes song downloads some older reviews mention. There was no paper insert, cd, or codes included on the DVDs and the package doesn't make reference to the music.

Other than that, the collection is very good. I like having the collection on blu-ray and DVD. The three window clings are fairly large and thick, so they should last more than one season. The "snow globe" is a flat piece of clear plastic that's just thick enough to stand upright with an insert in it that shows the different Peanuts scenes depending on which angle you're looking at. I don't think the snow globe will become a part of our Christmas decorations.

If you don't want the extras, there are two other versions out there- one with just the blu-ray AND DVD and another with just the blu-ray OR DVD. Personally, i wouldn't pay more to get this version's non-movie extras unless you're a really big Peanuts fan. However, at the time i purchased, the ultimate collector's edition happened to be the least expensive version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2016
Nice collection of all of the first 3 Peanuts original CBS specials. Even though these specials air on an annual basis on network TV (a little odd that currently ABC broadcasts all of these old CBS Peanuts cartoons), sometimes my family's schedule does not match the broadcast times. And with the DVD, you can take them with you on family holiday season trips without missing what has become an annual tradition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
Got these in the mail today and was excited to show my daughter "It's Christmastime Again, Charlie Brown" but the Christmas disk didn't have the second feature, or even a menu. Going to try to see if I can exchange it.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
This has the classic Peanuts shows that we remember so well. Getting to share them now with with grandchildren (starting with the three year old on up) has been very enjoyable. One of the only Christmas cartoons to focus on the birth of Jesus at the end, the extra commentary at the end fills in some blanks and lets the adults know what a struggle the Christmas show had getting made and aired the way it got shown. Not sure if Blu-ray enhances the picture quality that much, but purchasing this product is more for the nostalgia factor for adults and to share it with a new generation of fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse