Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $10.00 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to The Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
A Peculiar Peril (The Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead Book 1) by [Jeff VanderMeer]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Peculiar Peril (The Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 95 ratings
Book 1 of 1: The Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 645 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
Age Level: 12 - 18 Grade Level: 7 - 9
  • Book 1 of 1 in The Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead
  • Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

BitsBox Coding Subscription Box for Kids BitsBox Coding Subscription Box for Kids

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

A People Magazine Best Books to Read This Summer 2020

“Taking the peculiar darkness of Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine series and the absurd humor and wit of Terry Pratchett, VanderMeer dreams up a wholly original tale, filled with complexity, imagination, and talking marmots. . . . A wild ride that requires a few leaps of faith from readers, but they’re in good hands with VanderMeer, who has a sequel in the works for those who emerge victorious from Aurora.” ―Booklist, starred review

"A heck of a lot of fun. . . New readers young and old will find VanderMeer’s foray into fresh territory a welcome port of entry to a wildly imaginative universe" ―The New York Times Book Review

“VanderMeer’s sprawling YA debut offers a riotous, slyly sophisticated take on the hero’s journey. Boldly drawn characters, sublimely ridiculous worldbuilding, and a witty, prismatic narrative further distinguish the unique tale.” ―Publishers Weekly

“A madcap marathon portal fantasy . . . An enthusiastic hodgepodge of antique fantasy elements . . . touches of cosmic horror, clever wordplay, genre deconstruction, and butt humor, all tied together with a just-go-with-it fever-dream logic.” ―Kirkus Reviews

"Even for an author known for creating some of the most memorable and important worlds in contemporary fiction, his newest journey into the alt-Earth known as Aurora is remarkable. . . A truly engrossing adventure." ―The Chicago Review of Books

“A wicked read that features teen heroes, occult villains, talking animals, and alt-universes, all in VanderMeer’s unique style.” ―Nerdist

“Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Patrick Rothfuss.” ―Paste Magazine

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Jeff VanderMeer’s New York Times - bestselling Southern Reach trilogy has been translated into over 35 languages. The first novel, Annihilation, won the Nebula Award and Shirley Jackson Award, and was made into a movie by Paramount in 2018. Recent works include Dead Astronauts, Borne (a finalist for the Arthur C. Clarke Award), and The Strange Bird. These novels, set in the Borne universe, are being developed for TV by AMC. Called “the weird Thoreau” by The New Yorker, VanderMeer frequently speaks about issues related to climate change and storytelling. He lives in Tallahassee, Florida, with his wife Ann, cat Neo, and a yard full of native plants. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • File Size : 10805 KB
  • Publication Date : July 7, 2020
  • Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR); Illustrated Edition (July 7, 2020)
  • Print Length : 645 pages
  • Word Wise : Not Enabled
  • Language: : English
  • ASIN : B082RRHRH5
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting : Enabled
  • Text-to-Speech : Not enabled
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 95 ratings