Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
5 star
86%
4 star
14%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$59.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14 reviews
on January 13, 2007
I'm an amateur painter and a regular subscriber to American Art Review where I've seen frequent references to Fern Coppedge's paintings. I just fell in love with her colourful work and looked on Google for a single book about her work but alas, there doesn't seem to be such a book. So, I Googled up a booklist and hit on this title, though I love the work of Edgar Payne and Birger Sandzen too. Colour is my own credo and this massive hardback gives plenty. I'd heard of Redfield, Folinsbee and Lathrop but not of Kenneth Nunamaker or Clarence Johnson. The book is bursting with snowscenes like Nunamaker's "Winter Fog" a minimalist view of a sluggish river in slate greys, olive greens and navy blues. Amongst the numerous colour plates, the oils in some of the Redpaths and Coppedges seem to ooze off the page and are visually edible. The potted biographies and wee articles on the many artists are by different experts and I shall be dipping into this beezer of a book time and again. The American impressionists started up slightly after the European school but I think their work is more realistic, darker, and maybe more realistic with reference to mankind in the works I've seen. I'm also a keen viewer of the Canadian Group of Seven, that's me - an old reactionary!

If you like this you'll like: J. Driscoll and A. Skolnick: The Artist and the American Landscape published by First Glance Books, Cobb, Cal. 1998 and

The McMichael Canadian Art Collection published by McGraw-Hill Ryerson Ltd., Ontario paperback 1989.

I do hope you can put this in your review pages as I so enjoy having this book: I'm in remission from bone cancer and, while I'm able to drive again, am unable to travel abroad and see these paintings at first hand.

Fiona Ross
33 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 14, 2005
This book has what every art lover wants most in an art book; lots of large, well reproduced color images. This book is replete with them. There is also something for every taste. If you love American impressionism buy this book.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2015
A well written survey of lesser known artists whose beautiful and deeply expressive work adds immensely to the canon of American art. Bill B is an artist and professor of art history and studio art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2008
This book has many, good-sized, excellent color reproductions of work with an interesting history of the New Hope artists. There are also succinct biographies of each of the major artists of this regional school plus a list with images of many of the lesser known people.
The last chapter of the book discusses the framemakers in the New Hope region who were part of the arts and crafts movement which is an interesting piece of art history in itself.
Mention is made of the "Pennsylvania 10", a group of the prominent women artists in this area, and a chapter could have been created to feature them, but they are worth a book unto themselves.
For anyone interested in American art, American Impressionism, and that period during the first half of the twentieth century as art moved from representational concepts to abstract and non-objective concepts, this book is worth having.
For artists who are working in this representational manner, they will find a wealth of ideas from these painters in terms of technique, design, and concepts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
A review of Pennsylvania Impressionism by the James Michener Museum in Doylestown, PA. Grouped by artists, with the 'best' receiving the largest coverage. The image quality is good. The best volume I know on the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
Wonderful book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
This book was way beyond expectations and is highly recommended to any artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2008
This is a very thorough complilation of works by many well known or slightly known painters of mostly Eastern PA. There is ample reading and explanations of their influences, theories, and philosophies on art. It was interesting reading about how interconnected so many of them were. And ,oh yes, the pictures were very nice too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Book is quite good with excellent narrative to go with the images. A thorough and skilled coverage of the Pennsylvania artists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
Anyone interested in American art should own this book. It is gorgeous, especially the works by Garber. This is a must for every art library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here