Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Pennye Import, Original recording remastered, Extra tracks

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, Original recording remastered, May 3, 2011
"Please retry"
$31.24 $20.38

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

Digitally remastered and expanded edition of this 1984 debut album from the R&B vocalist including bonus tracks. The album features the production of Lonnie Simmons and contained two hits for Ford in the form of the up-tempo groove, 'Change Your Wicked Ways', which reached #25 on the R&B charts and #76 on the UK Singles chart, and 'Dangerous', which soared to #24 in the US Dance chart and a Top 50 spot on the UK charts. Other notable tracks include the seriously funky slow jam 'Don't You Know I Love You', which is backed by a deep synth bassline that you can t help but love and the softer and more soulful, 'Serious Love', written and produced by Pennye herself. Booklet contains extensive liner notes including a brand new interview with Pennye Ford. BBR.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Feel The Music
  2. Uh Oh, I Made A Mistake
  3. Change Your Wicked Ways
  4. Serious Love
  5. Don't You Know I Love You
  6. Ready For Love
  7. Dangerous
  8. Never Let You Go
  9. Spend My Time With You
  10. Change Your Wicked Ways (12" Version)
  11. Dangerous (12" Version)
  12. Uh Oh, I Made A Mistake (12' Version)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 3, 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import, Original recording remastered, Extra tracks
  • Label: BBR
  • ASIN: B004PHPZM2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #400,251 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Penny Ford Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Pennye Ford (former Soul Train dancer) was a major contribution to the Total Experience family, despite this being her only album, of which led to the poor sales in the US. She started out as a backing vocalist for The Gap Band and Yarbrough & Peoples before Lonnie Simmons signed her for her own record deal in 1984. She could really write and sing, but as usual, 1984 was not a good year for an up an coming R&B artist, especially when a record label wasn't showing much interest in promoting the artist. Poor sales don't justify how amazing this album was put together and I'm happy that it finally got a itunes release a few years ago (I bought the vynil before the itunes release). My favorites were the funky two stepper, "Don't You Know That I Love You," the beautiful, "Uh Oh I Made A Mistake," and the top 30 R&B smash, "Change Your Wicked Ways." I love the extended 12 inch version of the latter that included a nice electric guitar solo after the second verse and chorus. That version should've been in the music video (who could forget the bizarre video with a Prince-like looking Stoney Jackson portraying Pennye's cheating lover while she was the love interest of poor Todd Bridges). "Feel The Music" and "Spend My Time With You" sounds like outakes from Yarbrough & People's Be A Winner album, yet they were dance floor burners. The original version of "Dangerous" lacked any enthusiasm and thats why the more superior 12 inch extended version was released and it was even added on this re-issue. "Serious Love" was seriously well written and produced by Pennye herself. It had that "ready for the club" feel to it and it should've been the 4th single on that album.Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category