Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 111 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 347 reviews
on January 25, 2014
How many writers can explain the work of Richard Wright in terms most ten-year-olds can understand? I only know of one. I never even *attempted* Wright until my Junior year in High School despite consistently, without ever a single exception in twelve years of mandatory standardized evaluations, placing at *least* three years above my grade level (unless maybe you count the last few years, when the scales no longer went high enough), and I found him one heck of a challenge, and that didn't even include Native Son (which Mr. Handler aka Snicket decodes with such smooth apparent ease you'd think it were Richard Scarry instead).

On to the book itself... in this volume Our Heroes the young Beaudelaires give us that particular pleasure that comes from re-encountering nearly *all* of the vile villains, rotten rapscallions, and heartless hooligans they've escaped through clever collaboration and endless effort (despite their lousy luck) since their parents perished in that colossal conflagration (a phrase which here means something like "pernicious plot perpetrated by avaricious, arsonous actors") nearly eleven editions ago. Among the hindering hallways of the Hotél Denouement the reader can learn the Dewey Decimal system, the onerous obligations (and occasional opportunities) of a common conciérge, what "Justice is Blind" does NOT mean, and how to persist despite regular reminders that one's best brain-work still might very well be completely "WRONGGGG!". We are also reminded that not all siblings with the same age and birth-date are twins, not all reflections are illusions, that a sauna has more merits than one, that a picnic can be just the thing when enemies are everywhere and menacing misfortunes mount, and that athletic tap-dancing cow-poke pirates are not necessarily as formidable as they first seem. And, in perhaps the least-liked lesson of all, we learn that when fighting fires, sometimes the most effective tool is another fire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
This book was amazing. As all the other books Lemony Snicket persuades you to read on. If you have read this far don`t stop to conclude what happens to the Baudelaire Orphans.

This book has the reappearance of Justice Strauss,Charles,Sir,Nero,Mr.Remora,Mrs.Bass,Jerome Squalor,Mrs.Morrow,Mr.Lesko,Hugo,Collette,Kevin, and Hal.

It also features new characters like Kit Snicket,Dewey Denouement, Frank Denouement, Ernest Denouement and Geraldine Julienne.

The Baudelaire Orphans begin right where they left off. They are amazed at the appearance of Jacques Snicket` s sister. Still wondering where Quigley is. Kit tells them he is going up in the air to find Duncan and Isadora. On Thursday when the VFD meeting is he will arrive with Duncan, Isadora, and Hector.

The Baudelaire Orphans are assigned to be concierge`s an each find unpleasantness in their trips. Violet finds Esme Squalor and Carmelita Spats. Klaus finds Sir and Charles. Sunny finds Nero with Mr.Remora and Mrs.Bass.

This book leaves me wondering about Uncle Monty and Aunt Josephine. Even though they are dead I think they are members of VFD. Because in this story it seems like everyone else of the Baudelaire guardianship has something to do with it. Why not them?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
My kid loves these books. As a parent I have tried to instill the love of reading into my son and it has gotten easier overtime and we are reaping the benefits of the improved reading. Sometimes it was difficult to match the content level with his advanced reading level in addition to his interest in the content itself, however these books have seemed to be a perfect storm of sorts. He is 9 but reading at a 12th grade level and it wasn't until this series that we really saw a passion for reading show, he always liked it and did it daily but never sought it out as feverishly as he did with this series, he is sharing the story with us in addition to laughing and enjoying himself. I highly recommend them and we now own them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
Books came in Mint condition, crisp pages, not a single impression on the cover, or fold in any page.
Very impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
great reading for my 11 yo 6th grader. she loves this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Fast paced series,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2012
I love this series of books. Read them to my kids when they were young and where the books are now, no one knows. So I'm now piece by piece rebuilding a full set to read to my grand son. If you love reading to your kids and books with a strange and unusual sense of humor, with twisted plot lines, get the whole set to read to your kids! This is one series that's fun for both young and old.

Book was in excellent condition and it arrived very quickly. Not sure if the fact there's an Amazon warehouse a couple of blocks away is the reason, but since I moved to this state every thing from Amazon arrives in about 1/2 the estimated time. When I lived in Idaho it was often double the estimated time. This makes me happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2014
These books got my 11yr old niece to LOVE reading. A friend at school recommended these books to her and shortly after I started purchasing the entire series. They can be a bit dark for some children, but a better alternative to romantic dramas that seem to populate the scholastic reading lists. The vocabulary is WONDERFUL, the story lines (she loves mysteries) keep her attention and her test scores have improved tremendously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 28, 2005
In this, the next to last book in Lemony Snicket's "Series of Unfortunate Events" books, Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire are taken by Kit Snicket to the Hotel Denouement where they are to work as concierges and spy on the guests to find out who is a volunteer for the mysterious VFD and who is a villain. While there, they run into many friends and enemies they have encountered in the previous 11 books in the series. They are all there in anticipation of a meeting of all VFD volunteers which is to take place in the next few days. But, as always, things do not go smoothly for the Baudelaire orphans and they end up accidentally murdering someone, purposely setting the hotel on fire, and in the crutches of the evil Count Olaf.

Lemony Snicket fills this book with his trademark sense of humor, there are always 13 chapters, plenty of alliterative names, explanations of meanings of words, warnings that the reader shouldn't finish the book, and absurd situations (the roof top tanning scene is hilarious). The young Baudelaires are still far more intelligent than the adults are who never seem to recognize the children in their various disguises. Snicket gives a sly nod to critics who hated Olaf's laugh in "The Grim Grotto". While it's inevitable that the children grow up during the course of the books, the fact that Sunny speaks coherent sentences is a bit disappointing and takes away the fun of trying to decipher what she is saying.

I appreciate the humor of having 13 books in the series, but I can't help wonder if that was ultimately too ambitious for Snicket. "The Penultimate Peril" feels like filler at times, with two many questions left unanswered. Why is the sugar bowl so important? Where are the Quagmire triplets? What do the initials "VFD" stand for? Are the Baudelaire's truly orphans or is one of their parents still alive? Where the Baudelaire parents involved in wrongdoing? Can Snicket answer all these questions in the last book?

Finally, parents should be aware that there is a rather violent death toward the end of the book that is accidentally caused by the Baudelaire children. While this may open up an interesting discussion of what makes a person good or evil and can a person be both, the death may frighten young children.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2015
If you're a fan you'll love it. Laugh out loud for the intelligent reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse