Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$77.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 251 reviews
on August 22, 2017
A must see anime movie, Even if you are not an anime fan! Perfect Blue (1997) still holds well. It was ''creepy'' ''scary'' and ''thrilling'' I am still quite confused of the story and the meaning behind it. Which means I'll be watching it again to understand more! And wow 80$ for the DVD? That is quite a lot! Go for the VHS version (which is much cheaper) Make sure that the VHS is in a good condition. I'll give this anime film a 10 out of 10. This movie even inspired an American movie called the the black swan (2010)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2017
Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2009
As an avid anime watcher, I've seen all of the staples. Akira, Princess Mononoke, Sailor Moon, DBZ, Gundam....and as much as I absolutely adore all of these animes, Perfect Blue is what I consider to be the pinnacle of what a good anime should be. The art, even this many years later is stunning and mind-bending, the characters believable and well rounded, and the story line will just blow you away.

When I meet people or have friends who haven't seen anime, my other fellow nerds often say that I should ease them into the genre with something familiar. A good mech story, or a Miyazaki film...and as good as those are, they are just a little stereotypical for what you'd expect from an anime. Perfect Blue, on the other hand, to me, is more like a actual full length thriller that just happens to be animated. It's an excellent transition movie to get people into anime.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2000
Perfect Blue is a perfect psychological thriller which wonderfully places the spectator firmly into the mind of the protagonist, Mima Kirigoe. As a Japanese pop idol attempting to shed her idol image to become an actress, the identity crisis which quickly envelopes her is also vividly felt by the spectator. Furthernore, the triple separation - between dream, Mima's first role in the television thriller "Double Bind," and the real-world events of Mima's life surrounding her shift to an acting career - is so fuzzy that the spectator becomes just as confused as Mima, which is itself a superb and refreshing facet of the film.
Those who do now know Japanese are are not habituated to watching films with subtitles should see the dubbed version first, as the necessity of literally "reading" a film would detract from the overall experience due to the spectator's wavering attention between the subtitles and the almost non-stop on-screen action. Perfect Blue is, in my opinion, a perfect film (except that the characters - all Japanese - appear to be "white") - or as close to perfection as is possible in animation.
However, MINORS SHOULD NOT SEE THIS FILM due to some highly adult scenes. Even most adults will find these scenes to be extremely troubling.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2016
I'd like to rate this film higher, but it was off putting. I'd feel uncomfortable watching this with other people around, but I enjoyed it? I mean, it's so dark but the story telling and animation are on point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
Excellent but it needs more protection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2016
beautiful transfer and extras. shame there is no u.s. release, but having a multi-region player solves all the problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2007
Beautiful singer Mima use to be a pop star until she became an actress for a TV show, it may have became a dream come true for her but a insidious obsessed fan is stalking her. She seems to have fame and a great lifestyle thanks to her singing career, acting career and posing nude for porno magazines but she gets haunted by spirits from her past that seem to drive her to the brink of losing her mind.

An excellent Japanese animated horror thriller from Satoshi Kon (Director of "Millenium Actress") and supervisor Katsuhiro Otomo (creator of "Akira") comes a mindbending tale of the macabre. Nicely animated and geniunely disturbing at times especially the murder sequence, this is a trippy and scary anime feature with nudity and graphic violence thrown into it including some cute anime girls for the guys. However, this is definitely not kiddie animation here! it's pure animation for adult audiences and a must see for fans of animation and horror.

This DVD contains great picture and sound with both options on Dubbed version or Japanese with subtitles version with good extras like theatrical trailer, interview with the director and voice crew, musical photo gallery, bonus audio track, and behind the scenes performances.

Also Recommended: "Silent Hill", "Saw Quadrilogy", "Driller Killer", "American Psycho", "Psycho (1960)", "Psycho II", "Misery", "Psycho III", "Maniac (1980)", "Ichi The Killer", "Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer", "Akira", "Ghost in The Shell 1 & 2", "Ninja Scroll", "The Professional: Golgo 13", "Suspiria", "Deep Red", "Battle Royale", "Grindhouse: Death Proof", "The Hitcher (1986)", "Vertigo", "Hostel 1 & 2", "8MM", "Silence of the Lambs", "Manhunter", "Red Dragon", "Hannibal", "Hannibal Rising", "Texas Chainsaw Massacre Series plus 2003 remake and The Beginning", "When a Stranger Calls (1978)", "Basic Instinct", "Original Sin", "Vampire Hunter D", "Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust", "Heavy Metal", "American Pop", "Heavy Traffic", "Mother's Day", "Sleepaway Camp", "Tenebre", "A Blade in The Dark", "Macabre (1980)", "Twitch of the Death Nerve", "Scream 1 & 2", "Black Christmas (1974)", "The Sixth Sense", "The Others", "Ju-On: The Grudge", "Ringu", "The Ring (2002)", "Audition", "The Untold Story", "Hellraiser 1 & 2", "Candyman", "The Shining", "Nightmare (a.k.a. Nightmare in a Damaged Brain)", "The Burning", "Silent Night Deadly Night", " and "Pin..".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2010
I LOVE it when Japanese anime turns to horror! Really cool movie, I watch it every now and then when I'm in the mood for a Japanese horror film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Amazing film. That's all that I need to say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse