Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 115 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 220 reviews
on July 6, 2016
Really quite a remarkable remake of Hitchcock's "Dial M for Murder". The main plot remains the same (husband wants rich, unfaithful wife to be killed for her money), but all characters have been rewritten (and are acted) to excellent effect and many elements and subplots reinvented very cleverly. I loved David Suchet as the policeman investigating, with his apparently Muslim background, and Gwyneth Paltrow, wife-to-be-murdered, with her job as a UN translator, who speaks everyone's language. Viggo Mortensen as the wife's lover was certainly more attractive and persuasive to me than was Robert Cummings in "Dial M..." I dislike the term currently in vogue, "reboot" for the remake of a classic film. Such films do not restart one's computer. This is one of the best remakes of a classic film I've seen in many decades. If you've ever seen "Dial M..." and liked it, this is a must see for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
WONDERFUL AND HORRIBLE AT THE SAME TIME. EXTREMELY GRAPHIC VIOLENCE BUT A REAL NAIL BITER AND INTRIGUING. MICHAEL DOUGLAS PLAYS A HUGELY SINISTER PART AND GWENETH PALTROW IS EXCELLENT IN HER ROLE AS THE UNSUSPECTING WIFE. GET IT FOR YOUR LIBRARY. AWESOME MOVIE!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2015
I saw this movie years ago when it was first released in theaters. At that time, I really enjoyed it. I just watched it again on this DVD and for some reason, it wasn't as good as back then. Yes, it is enjoyable, but the zest was gone.
Overall, it's okay. You'll have to be the judge whether you like it or not.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
I LOVED Dial M for Murder and was pleasantly surprised at this remake. It's not exactly the same and this makes for a different type of suspense. The modern day setting made it interesting, especially the super luxurious apartment and the fact the husband was almost a 'Trump' like person. I also liked the golden type lighting-- it added to the look of luxury, in my opinion. Great acting. Interesting casting, but I felt it worked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
This came on tv one night and I couldn't stay up late, so I saw a few minutes and was hooked and bought it on here. Love the suspense throughout the movie and the acting was terrific. I have seen Douglas before, but the others were newer to me, which made it easier to look at with a fresh perspective instead of type casting. Really enjoyed it; definitely worth buying at this price. (lock your doors before you watch it!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Hubby prefers movies at home, so this was a great one to watch on a cold rainy night!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2017
bought it for a friend I hope he liked it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
GWYNETH PALTORW'S THE BEST ACTRESS EVER!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
This will really grab your feelings...better bring all the food/drinks you need and sit down to watch from start to finish...it is better not to pause this your first time of viewing...it builds and builds...and then "WHAM BAM~~THANK YOU MAM"......hope you enjoy it...TERRIFIC!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2004
A Perfect Murder is a re-make of the Hitchcock film, "Dial M for Murder." Steven Taylor, played by Michael Douglas, pays David, an artist played by Viggo Montenson, to kill his wife Emily, played by Gwyneth Paltrow. Emily and David are having a affair. The plan seems perfect, but is it? The murder is thwarted and the rules change. There is much suspense, and the plot contains several twists that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Douglas, Paltrow, and Mortenson do excellent jobs with their roles. The DVD contains commentary by the director and Michael Douglas. It also has an alternate ending that I don't think works as well as the one in the theatrical release. "A Perfect Murder" is a very good movie.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse