Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.49

Save $3.50 (21%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Perfume Collector: A Novel by [Kathleen Tessaro]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Perfume Collector: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 4,969 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.49

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Grace Monroe, a newlywed raised in the studious world of Oxford and bland English food, is completely uncomfortable with the glamorous parties and socializing her new life demands. When a mysterious French benefactor leaves Grace a surprising sum in her will, she jumps at the chance to leave her overbearing husband and London’s glittering social scene behind. What she finds in Paris, however, changes everything she knew about her past and has the power to change everything about her future. Tessaro combines Grace’s story with that of Eva d’Orsey, muse to one of Paris’ most famous perfumers and possessor of quite a few unusual talents herself. Sliding seamlessly between the 1950s and the 1920s, Tessaro depicts New York, Paris, London, and Monte Carlo with lush, descriptive imagery and admirable authenticity. Grace is a beguiling heroine, uneasy in her current situation yet hesitant to fully uncover the connections she and Eva share. Fans of Anita Shreve and Maeve Binchy will find The Perfume Collector a bewitching, compelling novel, full of dark desires, long-buried secrets, revisited memories, and new opportunities. --Stephanie Turza --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Review

“Fragrance, fashion, and a puzzling bequest lead a 1950s British socialite into a whirl of Parisian intrigue in Kathleen Tessaro’s The Perfume Collector.” -- Good Housekeeping

“A lovely tale of a young woman in London who receives a mysterious inheritance that brings her to Paris and eventually to an old perfume shop.” --
New York Daily News, The Summer’s Best Beach Reads

“A colorful, stimulating journey through time.” --
Kirkus Reviews

“A bewitching, compelling novel, full of dark desires, long-buried secrets, revisited memories, and new opportunities.” --
Booklist

“Dazzles the senses.” --
Publishers Weekly

“A compelling plot in a truly magical Parisian setting. . . . Charming read. Tessaro does a marvelous job of conveying the atmosphere of a fairytale trip to 1950s Paris. . . . Readers of the works of Emily Giffin and Laura Florand will enjoy. --
Library Journal

“Beautiful imagery and prose are the strong points of this seductive story that paints the most bewitching picture imaginable of perfume creation and the muses who inspire it. The themes are brilliant . . . and likely to leave readers feeling awestruck by the end of this classy and unforgettable novel.” --
Romantic Times

“This evocative novel spins you back a few decades to the ‘20s and ‘50s where a young bride suppresses her intellect to be the trophy wife her husband desires. She is devastated when he is unfaithful but could it be the making of her?” --
Glamour (UK)

“The Perfume Collector is a crackling, beautifully paced story that weaves the world of fragrance into the lives of two vibrant women in a way few have experienced. Inhale deeply―a new way of telling a story of the heart.” -- Kate Alcott, author of
The Dressmaker --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B009NESIEE
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Harper; Reprint edition (May 14, 2013)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ May 14, 2013
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 863 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 469 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,969 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Kathleen Tessaro is the author of Elegance, Innocence, The Flirt, and The Debutante. She lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, with her husband and son.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
4,969 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on January 4, 2014
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 2, 2017
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 11, 2022
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and effortless read
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 11, 2022
Just finished reading this book and loved it. Now want to read more from Kathleen Tessaro. I don’t read that often with two toddlers and a full time job, but I managed to read this one very quickly in less than a month. I just wanted to keep reading it to see what would come next. A story about a young woman who loses herself to find her true identity. Just a bit of unexpected romance, but more of an unsolved mystery. Thankful it was chosen by our book club for this month’s read.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image

Top reviews from other countries

Lynda Kelly
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Laborious At Times
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 1, 2016
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
KaloSky
3.0 out of 5 stars The Perfume Collector
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 24, 2014
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Aurora
4.0 out of 5 stars Summer afternoon reading.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 15, 2014
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Peliroja
3.0 out of 5 stars Three and a half stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on May 4, 2014
Susanna
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly disappointing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 10, 2019
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?