Kindle Price: $10.74

Save $5.25 (33%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Perfume Collector: A Novel by [Tessaro, Kathleen]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Perfume Collector: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,677 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle Book
$10.74

Length: 469 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Best Books of the Year
See the Best Books of 2017
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for the best books of the year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Grace Monroe, a newlywed raised in the studious world of Oxford and bland English food, is completely uncomfortable with the glamorous parties and socializing her new life demands. When a mysterious French benefactor leaves Grace a surprising sum in her will, she jumps at the chance to leave her overbearing husband and London’s glittering social scene behind. What she finds in Paris, however, changes everything she knew about her past and has the power to change everything about her future. Tessaro combines Grace’s story with that of Eva d’Orsey, muse to one of Paris’ most famous perfumers and possessor of quite a few unusual talents herself. Sliding seamlessly between the 1950s and the 1920s, Tessaro depicts New York, Paris, London, and Monte Carlo with lush, descriptive imagery and admirable authenticity. Grace is a beguiling heroine, uneasy in her current situation yet hesitant to fully uncover the connections she and Eva share. Fans of Anita Shreve and Maeve Binchy will find The Perfume Collector a bewitching, compelling novel, full of dark desires, long-buried secrets, revisited memories, and new opportunities. --Stephanie Turza

Review

The Perfume Collector is a crackling, beautifully paced story that weaves the world of fragrance into the lives of two vibrant women in a way few have experienced. Inhale deeply--a new way of telling a story of the heart.” (Kate Alcott, author of The Dressmaker)

“Fragrance, fashion, and a puzzling bequest lead a 1950s British socialite into a whirl of Parisian intrigue in Kathleen Tessaro’s The Perfume Collector.” (Good Housekeeping)

“A colorful, stimulating journey through time.” (Kirkus)

“A bewitching, compelling novel, full of dark desires, long-buried secrets, revisited memories, and new opportunities.” (Booklist)

“Dazzles the senses.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Beautiful imagery and prose are the strong points of this seductive story that paints the most bewitching picture imaginable of perfume creation and the muses who inspire it. The themes are brilliant . . . and likely to leave readers feeling awestruck by the end of this classy and unforgettable novel.” (Romantic Times)

“A mesmerising novel of passion and scent.” (Woman and Home (UK))

“This evocative novel spins you back a few decades to the 20s and 50s where a young bride suppresses her intellect to be the trophy wife her husband desires. She is devasted when he is unfaithful but could it be the making of her?” (Glamour (UK))

“Through vivid descriptions, lively mishaps and devastating details, Tessaro serves up a witty, original, fast-moving debut.” (USA Today on Elegance)

“Witty…proves that confidence never goes out of fashion.” (Glamour on Elegance)

Product details

  • File Size: 863 KB
  • Print Length: 469 pages
  • Publisher: Harper; Reprint edition (May 14, 2013)
  • Publication Date: May 14, 2013
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009NESIEE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #25,431 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Religion & Spirituality Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 17, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
3 helpful votes
4 helpful votes
|
on August 12, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on July 25, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on September 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on August 25, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on July 26, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on September 12, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on August 29, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Perfume Collector: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Perfume Collector: A Novel