Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on February 13, 2014
If you ever wondered where Little Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, and Sleeping Beauty came from, they came from this remarkable 17th century Frenchman. The stories themselves are fascinating, as they all have morals appended that are, of course, very tied to the cultural mores of the time. And no, they aren't exactly like the Disney versions! Harry Clarke is considered Ireland's greatest illustrator, and the reproductions of his color and black & white work in this book will show you why. The intricacy of the illustrations is just astonishing, and I am happy to say that this book shows them very well - sharp, deep, and with good color fidelity. It's true that some of the females are bare chested and Sleeping Beauty is covered only by a veil, but I find this no more suggestive than, say, Venus di Milo. It's great art, and very much in keeping with the time the tales were written - check out the sky high hair on the noblewomen! All told, a fascinating soiree into the origins of some of our most familiar fairy tales.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
The illustrations are magnificent! They alone are worth the price of the book. And, for those interested, they look great on a Kindle (I'm viewing them on a Kindle DX). The formatting for the Kindle is great.

And the stories are good also. Well, okay, actually they're a bit horrific, like an old-fashioned, pre-Disney fairy tale ought to be. My favorite version of Cinderella is in this book. The writing style is deliciously old-fashioned but still easy to read and enjoy.

If you are interested enough to be reading this review, then you definitely should get this book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
I love the fact that I have heard and seen adaptations of so many of these stories and I had no idea who the author was or that he had written so many tales. It has been interesting reading the translated originals as an adult. I am glad that I stumbled across this collection as a result of a Google doodle a few weeks ago.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2016
Excellent telling of classic fairy tales. A must read for any fairytale lover. I quite enjoyed this book!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2011
I have a large collection of children's books, including a number of collectible volumes of classic stories illustrated by the greatest artists of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. To find a little collection like this that includes illustrations by Gustave Doré is truly a treasure. It's also fascinating to see familiar stories close to their original form, without the prudish edits they've collected over the years. Whether you're a fan of the artist and the writer or want a great storybook for your children, enjoy!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
II have loved Perrault's stories since I was about four. They have an 'everlasting' quality. There are stories in this book I haven't read before. For many years I have enjoyed Gustave Dore's work and admired his faithful black and whites. His drawings always seem to carry a strong atmosphere in them. I bought the book because I couldn't wait to see how he would have done the illustrations. They are wonderful and bring the enchancted feeling of the text with them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
This is a good collection of entertaining fairy tales by an old master (though the rhyming morals at the end of each tale made me roll my eyes). The Kindle version worked perfectly on my phone--no skipped pages, no problems seeing the text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2011
Charles Perrault was a famous French literary writer, and at one point in his long and illustrious career, he wrote (possibly with his son) a series of fairy tales. They were eventually translated into English and were/are wildly popular.

Basically it's a book of a few well-known and high-quality fairy tales that have appeal and appropriateness for all ages. The language is a bit old fashioned, as is some of the spelling ('inchant' rather than 'enchant,' for example) but it's definitely worth reading.

Although, the word 'faggot' is used in the text to refer to sticks, which is historically what it meant, but if you're sensitive, that might be something to consider.

There's an active table of contents, no illustrations (but the captions are left in the text to tease), the page numbers are left in the text, and the first letter of every story is mysteriously dropped. Oh, and the very last line of the last story was in an illustration, so that's missing.

The stories included are:

Little Red Riding Hood (Sans woodcutter)
The Fairy
Blue Beard
The Sleeping Beauty in the Woods
The Master Cat; or, Puss in Boots
Cinderilla; or, the Little Glass Slipper
Little Thumb
The Ridiculous Wishes
Donkey-Skin
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2016
Pleasant reading. Some real classics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
The layout of this book and the images appear like a cheap photocopy. Not worth the price for a paperback.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse