Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 140 reviews
on February 21, 2016
Kiss fans usually seem to struggle with this album. I am not a Kiss fan. I have nothing against them, and enjoy several of their songs, but have never been a fan per se'. Perhaps that's what allows me to really appreciate this album without comparing it to other Kiss music. For whatever reason, I bought this on vinyl when originally released and it was a favorite of mine through my teenage years. My vinyl copy long gone I purchased the CD to revisit these songs from many years ago. I found that I still really enjoy the album. This solo album is unique in that it is often mellow, or balladic for a member of Kiss. Yet it was Criss who wrote ' Beth ' and you will hear that type of song on this album. It also has some jazz influenced songs, and some songs with a 50's rock feel, which create an album of music very different than what Kiss offered. If you are looking for more Kiss music I do not recommend this album. However, if you are looking for a good rock album with a variety of styles as mentioned, I think it's a solid offering. I also bought Criss' other solo albums and was disappointed with them, but for this one, I still really appreciate it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
GREAT PRODUCT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
GREAT CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
This was a wonderful nostalgic gift for my 45 year old son who grew up loving the band Kiss. I actually ordered all four of the band members for a really good surprise gift, he loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
Very bluesy and easy not the hard rock you'd expect. He still has that kick assss voice you hear on Black Diamond but that's about it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2015
Excellent start to finish. Peter carves out his very unique niche with this, his best album. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
Pretty awesome cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2016
arrived in great packaging...I'm glad to have it on cd couldn't play the album anymore, missed it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2009
If you like KISS' "BETH", Bob Seeger's boogie-rock style, and Motown's Doo-Wop ballads, then you'll probably love this album.

The best of the four 1978 KISS solo lps (a minority opinion in KISS fan circles), Criss' whiskey voice shines through as clear as his pre-KISS influences. Being the oldest band member (born in 1945), on each track Criss marries rock with the jazz, r&b, and big band flavors he grew up with.

This is exceptionally effective on the up tempo songs "I'M GONNA LOVE YOU", "ROCK ME, BABY", "HOOKED ON ROCK N' ROLL", and the single, a high energy remake of Bobby Lewis' "TOSSIN' AND TURNING". "HOOKED ON ROCK N' ROLL" is autobiographical, with lyrics like..............."The boy could play before he learned to crawl. Worked in a band who had no name at all. Ev'ry morning at the break of dawn, you could see him draggin' home his drums...I was vacinated with a Vicrola needle, and I'm Hooked On Rock N' Roll".......... The Victrola was the popular record player that loooked more like furniture than a record player. Criss' parents listened to Big Band records on one while he was growing up.

A lot of credit for the quality of this album is due to producers Sean Delany and Vini Poncia, who pull excellent performances out of the limited talents of Criss, and song co-writer Stan Penridge. Suspiciously, nothing, and I mean NOTHING, else Criss has "written" comes close to the quality of these songs, lending weight to the idea that Penridge was the real author behind these gems, with Criss only touching up here and there. (Penridge also co-wrote "BETH", along with Destroyer producer Bob Ezrin).

One final note, the cover is a stunning painting that looked better on a 12" X 12" lp than on a 3" X 3" CD cover. The remastered version re-installs the poster that came with the 1970s lp edition, via a foldout CD booklet.

Great High Energy Rock N' Roll, and heartfelt, well done ballads, about a 50/50 mix of each. NO HEAVY METAL AT ALL. You may want to check out Criss' 1982 album - Let Me Rock You and his 1980 lp Out of Control.
Let Me Rock You is very good, while Out Of Control is a mixed bag.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 11, 2011
Of all of the KISS solo albums released in September of 1978, none of them has divided KISS fans as much as Peter Criss' album. Peter Criss gives KISS fans a look into the sounds that inspired Criss and shows just how much of an artist he really is.

If you expect to hear typical KISS fare such as Black Diamond or Strutter, you're in for a surprise. In fact, this album would probably be a lot more comfortable placed on the music rack next to albums by artists as varied as Eddie Rabbitt and The Platters.

The first two songs, I'm Gonna Love You and You Matter To Me, show Criss at his blue-eyed soul best. Next is a straight cover of Tossin' And Turnin' which has a great boogie-woogie sound to it. Don't You Let Me Down slow things down a bit with it's jazz and blue-eyed soul influence. That's The Kind Of Sugar Papa Likes picks the pace back up and lyrically is the closest thing to a dirty KISS song (but this claim is a real stretch).

The rest of the album alternates between slow tracks like Easy Thing, KISS The Girl Goodbye, and I Can't Stop The Rain and faster, R&B-tinged rockers like Rock Me, Baby and Hooked On Rock N' Roll.

Hooked On Rock N' Roll is my favorite track on the album, followed closely by That's The Kind Of Sugar Papa Likes and I Can't Stop The Rain.

While this project was one of the poorest received albums by the KISS Army, it has found some footing within KISS' fan base among Criss' loyal fans. Time has seemed to soften the strangeness of this album when compared to the rest of the group's solo projects. Many KISS fans who used to hate this album have grown to love it for the fact that it isn't a standard KISS album. Personally, I enjoy it for what it is: a solid R&B, jazz, and blue-eyed soul album.

I recommend this album to KISS completionists and anyone who enjoys a good bluesy tune once in awhile.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse