Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Ritter PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 945 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,265 reviews
on March 20, 2013
I first saw 'Peter Pan' in the 1960's, during one of its period re-releases by Disney; and remembered it a a pretty good "...kid's film..."

I recently re-visited this movie, under the prodding of my 11 year-old daughter; and, I am grateful to her for pushing me into it. 'Peter Pan' features beautiful animation, well-choreographed scenes of fight and flight, inspired voice-acting and memorable songs. All of this supports a surprisingly funny and insightful tale of the dangers of either never growing up...or, growing up too much.

Katherine Beaumont ('Alice In Wonderland') is beguiling as teenage Wendy Darling; whose childhood infatuation with tales of Peter Pan develop into a relatable (if very 1950's) teen crush. Bobby Driscoll, who was a well-known Disney child star, turns in a completely winning performance as Peter Pan. He captures all the bravado, hubris, good humor, pettiness, generosity and pure sense-of-fun that run chock-a-block through all teenage boys. The characterization of Tinkerbell (insanely jealous of Wendy and possessive of Peter) creates a very believable teen-age triangle; and, some welcome pungency to offset Disney's penchant for treacle. However, the prize goes to Hans Conried in the twin roles of Mr. Darling (Wendy's veddy, veddy British father), and Peter's nemesis: Captain James Hook. As Hook, Conried creates a truly great villain: charming, scheming, ferocious, vengeful, cunning and (where the hungry crocodile is concerned) hysterically nervous.

Comments about the 'Indian' scenes are justified...but, not to the extent that Politically Correct critics condemn. The song: "What makes the red man, red" is classic (i.e. insensitive and stereotypical) Hollywood 'injun' stuff. That said, Candy Candido's floor-scraping vocals as 'Big Chief' are a pure hoot; and, should be taken in that spirit.

Bottom line: 'Peter Pan' is one of Disney's most completely realized and satisfying movies. Its fun, insightful, exciting, speaks equally well to kids, teens and adults and does so without the sugary wallowing that came to epitomize subsequent Disney animation. Watch it, and smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2015
As a movie, it is just how I remembered it. Definitely a classic. Plays well and is good quality The drawbacks to this particular version are the odd looking cover (considering its a Disney movie), no rewards points are offered, and you have to change the language from Korean to English each time you watch it.

If Disney takes the movie out of the vault I will most likely purchase the US version to replace this one, but for now this plays well and kids have enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2012
Peter Pan is one hour and sixteen minutes and was released in theaters on February 5, 1953. Peter Pan tells the story of a young boy who refuses to grow up, but at times act likes an adult. The story begins at the home of George and Mary Darling whose three children (Wendy, John, and Michael). After sending the children to bed, George and Mary Darling leave their home to attend a formal party. Peter Pan arrives at the children's nursery to find his shadow. When he does, Wendy offers to sew it on for him. Peter Pan offers to take the children to Never Land and teaches them how to fly as well with faith, hope and some pixie dust from Tinker Bell. By the way to get to Never Land takes the second star to the right and straight on till morning. As soon as they reach Never Land they are fired at by Captain Hook. Captain Hook wants revenge at Peter for cutting off his left hand and feeding it to the crocodile. Peter Pan saves the children. Later in the day Peter Pan rescues Tiger Lily from Captain Hook who wanted her to reveal the location of Peter Pan. Captain Hook eventually does find Peter Pan's hideout and plants a bomb to destroy him. Tinker Bell comes to the rescue and saves Peter Pan. Peter Pan flies over to Captain Hook ship and the two of them have their final fight. In the end Peter Pan takes the children back home.

I know I left a lot of the story out but I wanted to add some other information to my review. First this is the first Peter Pan that a male actor played the lead; in previous plays and movies Peter Pan was played by a female. It was Margaret Kerry and not Marilyn Monroe who was the model for Tinker Bell. In keeping with the stage version tradition, Hans Conried voice both George Darling and Captain Hook. Peter Pan was the last movie the Disney's famed "Nine Old Men" worked on together. Also this was the last movie to be distributed by RKO Radio Pictures. In this film version Tinker Bell actually has a body; in the stage version she was represented by a beam of light. Finally this was Disney's 14th animated feature. Peter Pan is an excellent movie and gets an AAAAA+++++. One foot note to add, watch the audio commentary hosted by Roy Disney and learn more of the making of Peter Pan.

DVD EXTRAS

Play Movie
Chapter Selection
Set Up
Sneak Peeks
I. Beauty and the Beast
II. Cinderella II: Dreams Come True
III. The Hunchback of Notre Dame II
IV. The Man Adventures of Winnie the Pooh
V. Tarzan and Jane
VI. 101 Dalmations II
VII. Magic Happens
Bonus Features
I. The Making of Peter Pan
II. The Peter Pan Story - Original 1952 Theatrical Promotional Featurette
III. Audio Commentary hosted by Roy Disney
IV. An Exclusive look at Walt Disney's Return to Neverland
V. Peter Pan Still Frame Gallery
VI. Following the Leader Song-Along Song
VII. Peter Pan's Playful Prank Storybook
VIII. Pirate Treasure Hunt Game
IX. DVD ROM

VHS EXTRAS

Previews
I. Mulan
II. The Little Mermaid
III. Flubber
IV. The Brave Little Toaster Goes to Mars
V. Melody Time
Bonus Feature
* You Can Fly! The Making of Peter Pan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
Peter Pan: a long-awaited addition to Disney's Blu-ray canon that somehow makes my collection feel more whole, more complete. It isn't just a personal favorite either. It's one of Walt Disney's most beloved animated classics, one of the studio's greatest treasures and arguably the best Disney animated feature released in the 1950s. It has survived controversy -- Tiger Lily and the Indians are still considered racially offensive in various circles -- and weathered criticism about the liberties Uncle Walt and his screenwriters took with J.M. Barrie's 1904 play and 1911 children's novel. And yet no censorship has been perpetrated and very little criticism has prevailed. It's a high-flying, swashbuckling adventure in the true spirit of the original and, in many ways, was the first production, on stage or off, to lend a thrillingly palpable sense of magic, grandeur and storybook fantasy to Barrie's text. Even today, some sixty years after its theatrical release, Peter Pan remains a magnificent animated film, as truly timeless as any Disney classic that came before it or come since.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 27, 2001
The Disney people were awfully talented, but they sure weren't leading the political correctness parade! There are definitely some egregious sexist plot devices and racially insulting utterings here that make this film seem dated, but it is difficult not to enjoy the great plot, wonderful songs and excellent direction. Captain Hook is a colorful villain, Tinkerbell rocks, and some of the scenes just take your breath away -- flying over London on the way to Neverland and our first sight of the island, for example.
The dvd edition is disappointing. You can listen to the film in English or French, and that is about it -- no subtitles, no storyboards, no voiceover, no extras at all. For the price, you might want to buy the VHS edition instead. I believe there is a new dvd edition with extras and that may be more worthwhile. This would be a less expensive alternative if you just want a copy for kids' viewing, perhaps. If watching with children, you should also be prepared to discuss why we don't use the terms 'redskins' and 'injuns' anymore.
Recommended with reservations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2016
I didn't realize I was buying a foreign copy until it was too late. You must switch the audio to English before playing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
Both the video and the sound on this BluRay are state-of-the art. The colors are really true, and are a little bit darker than they were in the previous DVD release (as can be seen when you watch the extra features which were produced for the earlier DVD release and feature color that has been "corrected" into a brighter, more-pastel-ish look). The outlines of the animated characters are also sharper in this BD release than in previous issues.

The extra features in this set are substantial and very interesting. I won't discuss them here, but I will say that you're really missing out if you've purchased this combo set and don't avail yourself of watching the extras.

A great release from Disney.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
I purchased the Blu Ray copy and have no complaints ! The picture is clear , not amazing but it was created almost 70 years ago so it's not going to be Pixar clear. Im in the US and had no compatible problems from purchasing the movie from the U.K. Speedy delivery as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2017
I am very pleased. It arrived in great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2015
Perfect classic and amazing quality! From the case to the cartoon the remastered quality is excellent and I sure took me back to being a kid OH and uh, my son loves it too lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse